Posted
22 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Call me naive but I cant see  it being a "real' pressure game unless the opponents are of quality. Im not suggesting we take the game for granted but I really can't see Essendon putting too much pressure on too many teams especially early in the season.

The pressure will all be external. Everyone will expect us to win, but there will be a strong showing from the Essendon faithful and the players will do their best to prove to their fans at home that they won't be pushovers. Make no mistake, if we're not mentally switched on for this game we will lose it.

Posted

which Essendon faithful are you referring to GTG  ?  just asking ... Theyre a motley crew currently  ( please no 80's memes...lol ) 

Posted

GTG..I expect a fair dinkum game ...I dont expect it to be a walk over but these ol bombers  are going to be rusty and far from prime. Even if they were prime theyd  be pushing it.

I expect a fit younger Melbourne to remind these old farts exactly why they should have stayed home on the couch !!

Posted
Just now, beelzebub said:

which Essendon faithful are you referring to GTG  ?  just asking ... Theyre a motley crew currently  ( please no 80's memes...lol ) 

All I'm saying is that it will be a good test for us to see if we can be mentally switched on even when we go into a match as (heavy) favourites. We failed on multiple occasions last year, and winning this match well is necessary for me to feel that my optimism about where we're going is well-founded. If we lose, or win like we did against Brisbane last year, it will take some convincing for me to believe that we're on the right track. 

All of that being said, I do expect us to win this game by a handy margin.

Posted

Who do you think you're kidding Mr Tanner

If you think your lot’s not done

We are the boys who will stop your ‘little’ game

We are the boys  who’ll run over you  again

So who do you think you’re kidding Mr Tanner

If you think Essendon’s not done

Posted
23 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Sorry 'BB', couldn't help it....

Posted
12 minutes ago, rjay said:

Sorry 'BB', couldn't help it...

I know....I know,,,,,,^_^

Posted
19 hours ago, biggestred said:

They'll beat us unless we 100% show up big-time. If we are only 99.5 on the day we will get done.

I anticipate that MFC will put a beat down on Essendon. We will blow out a lot of clubs this year. I expect we'll make the 8. Essendon will be bottom two.

Posted
11 hours ago, KingDingAling said:

I anticipate that MFC will put a beat down on Essendon. We will blow out a lot of clubs this year. I expect we'll make the 8. Essendon will be bottom two.

Drop beat down and go with hammer time.

Posted

I reckon I have a better chance of winning the Norm Smith than Essendon has of playing finals in the next 5 years

Posted
22 hours ago, Uncle Fester said:

I reckon I have a better chance of winning the Norm Smith than Essendon has of playing finals in the next 5 years

The AFL will make sure they're back into finals sooner rather than later.

There'll be no further punishments, despite them only being punished by the AFL for 'governance breaches', plus priority picks and favourable draws.

I have no faith that the club will reap what they have sewn. They'll be in finals within 5 years.

Posted

I didn't hear it all but on SEN last night David King was saying that he thinks Melbourne will win less games than last year, can't see any improvement in the list.

We are easy targets and he knows he will get a reaction but I hope we make the finals if nothing else to see him proven wrong.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Choke said:

The AFL will make sure they're back into finals sooner rather than later.

There'll be no further punishments, despite them only being punished by the AFL for 'governance breaches', plus priority picks and favourable draws.

I have no faith that the club will reap what they have sewn. They'll be in finals within 5 years.

I was being generous when I said 5. They have hurt themselves in ways we can't even begin to understand. We've all played team sports (i assume) and know how fragile and fleeting team bonding can be. It's not a tap you can turn off and on. Essendon might have a couple of moments where they look like they they have it together but like us and Carlton over the last years (or Richmond since whenever), they will fall back to the default of players looking after themselves, coaches that only care about the win this week, and an admin that no-one in the club really trusts regardless of the party line.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I didn't hear it all but on SEN last night David King was saying that he thinks Melbourne will win less games than last year, can't see any improvement in the list.

We are easy targets and he knows he will get a reaction but I hope we make the finals if nothing else to see him proven wrong.

Is this the same David King that said St Kilda wouldn't win a game last season!!!

I think this is a good sign for us.

Onward & upwards....

Posted
17 hours ago, beelzebub said:

GTG..I expect a fair dinkum game ...I dont expect it to be a walk over but these ol bombers  are going to be rusty and far from prime. Even if they were prime theyd  be pushing it.

I expect a fit younger Melbourne to remind these old farts exactly why they should have stayed home on the couch !!

Even our runner (Cross) will be fitter than most of them!  

Posted

OD how many MFC wins have you predicted in 2016?

Posted
13 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Surely it is fair to say that a player who is under 25 is likely to have his best footy ahead of him. With that in mind, our promising players in this group not inc. the newbies are Watts, Trengove, Gawn, Vandenberg, TMac, Bugg, Tyson, Frost, Kent, Kennedy, Viney, Hogan, Salem, JKH, Harmes, Petracca, Brayshaw, Stretch, King and ANB. Is King really arguing that this group is going to perform WORSE than they did last year?