Demons marathon on Foxtel

1 hour ago, P-man said:

The game against Freo in 97 was actually a joy to watch. Hopgood a surprising standout as nutty mentions but also..

Viney senior attacking the ground ball like his life depended on it in a BOG display

Robbo ("from the Tassie Mariners..") playing in his third game and aweing the commentators with his clean hands and goal sense

Junior impressing in just his fourth game leading Drew Morphett to observe, "this boy can really play"

Ooze's exquisite skills

Shaun Smith doing what he does - a hanger in the goal square, 3 kicks for 3 goals

Wiz kicking six, the sixth being a goal on the run from the boundary which was the best of the lot, leading Morphett to mourn that "he'd have kicked ten if he hadn't spent 30 minutes on the bench!"

Jimmy Stynes getting in the ear of a young Jeff White after he misses a goal, White of course is playing for the opposition but not for long 

Was a great stroll down memory lane.

Agreed, P-Man.  Some classic stuff there!  I may be wrong, but think that was the final round of the year, and would, I believe, be Jeff White's last game for the Dockers before coming across to us...

18 hours ago, Baghdad Bob said:

Of course we have to address it.  I'm with you, it just seemed pretty self evident.  I also think we need to address our skills, our game plan, our fitness, our recovery, our training loads, our development, our competitiveness, our resilience, our list management, our leadership, our medical management and our rotation policy just to name a few. But I think that's self evident also.

You could argue that on just about every topic relating to the club's performance and add further that it's not the coaches and the football department who have to do their bit but the board and all the staff who have to keep the club stable and the money rolling in so we have good coaches, recruiters etc.

Much of what your pointing out really goes without saying.

On 7/2/2016 at 4:12 PM, Demon Head said:

Much of what your pointing out really goes without saying.

That's exactly what I said.

Imagine what would happen to Demonland if all those things that "go without saying" went unsaid.

9 hours ago, JV7 said:

Does anyone know where I can find last years round 4 Richmond  game online somewhere ? Wouldn't mind watching the birth of Christ again 

I've got a copy of the whole game (including pre-match) in 720p here. 

It's 7gb though, might take a while to upload anywhere. 

3 hours ago, Baghdad Bob said:

That's exactly what I said.

Imagine what would happen to Demonland if all those things that "go without saying" went unsaid.

There'd be nothing left to say!

On 7 February 2016 at 3:00 PM, P-man said:

The game against Freo in 97 was actually a joy to watch. Hopgood a surprising standout as nutty mentions but also..

Viney senior attacking the ground ball like his life depended on it in a BOG display

Robbo ("from the Tassie Mariners..") playing in his third game and aweing the commentators with his clean hands and goal sense

Junior impressing in just his fourth game leading Drew Morphett to observe, "this boy can really play"

Ooze's exquisite skills

Shaun Smith doing what he does - a hanger in the goal square, 3 kicks for 3 goals

Wiz kicking six, the sixth being a goal on the run from the boundary which was the best of the lot, leading Morphett to mourn that "he'd have kicked ten if he hadn't spent 30 minutes on the bench!"

Jimmy Stynes getting in the ear of a young Jeff White after he misses a goal, White of course is playing for the opposition but not for long 

Was a great stroll down memory lane.

Also Alastair Clarkson and Darren Jolly playing for us.

Both McDonald brothers playing along with both Febey brothers.

On 7 February 2016 at 10:40 PM, Rohan said:

The Darwin game with Watts (had some some skills), Scully (never seen), Junior (great player), Trengove (just picks up the ball and the handball king!), Dunn (glad he stayed), Bates (no clean possession, but good position).

I can't wait to get Trengove back, he;s coming and I am for one looking forward to it.

It was good to see Ant and James and the Febeys.

38 minutes ago, Rohan said:

Darren Jolly started playing in 2001

Clarko has barely changed since 97. He looked 40 then and he looks 40 now.

It would've been nice if they played a few more games that went back further than the last few years. Ones that are actually memorable. Pretty token effort but was still fun to watch.

9 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Darren Jolly started playing in 2001

Apologies DD36, must have been seeing things!

I loved watching Viney Snr play, Junior is a chip off the block that's for sure.

On 7/2/2016 at 2:53 PM, dazzledavey36 said:

Exactly my point. The Geelong game was a glimpse into the future with the potential we have led by the likes of Brayshaw Gawn Viney Stretch ANB and Tyson. All these guys made solid contribution in the Geelong game and watching it the 2nd time i was blown away how Stretch Brayshaw ANB played like 100 game veterans instead of first year players. They did not once look out of their depth unlike poor Jimmy Toumpas who really did just looked way out of his depth.

Lets not forget we didn't have Hogan Petracca Vandenberg Kent Frost Garland Salem and even Trengove. 

I thought WJ comment was odd as we all should be well aware that young developing side will all have consistency problems along the way. While its easy to say we got thrashed by the doggies we also defeated Richmond and Western Bulldogs beforehand who both played finals footy. Just shows we are not far off also.

I also think we underestimate how big of a toll injuries to key players like Viney Kent Tyson Trengove Vandenberg Salem and to lesser extent Petracca who all missed big chunks of footy during the year which affected enormously to some our performance. When all 7 players are fit and firing i have no doubt we could have won alot more games.

Why should we accept the Geelong game as "a glimpse into the future" and not the game we played next when we were rag dolled by the Eagles or the one after that when we lost to Essendon one week after St. Kilda beat them by 110 points?

Our line up wasn't much different apart from the fact we had Jesse Hogan which should have made them better pointers to the future.

1 hour ago, Oliver Sholem said:

Why should we accept the Geelong game as "a glimpse into the future" and not the game we played next when we were rag dolled by the Eagles or the one after that when we lost to Essendon one week after St. Kilda beat them by 110 points?

Our line up wasn't much different apart from the fact we had Jesse Hogan which should have made them better pointers to the future.

Well if you want to keep dwelling on those losses and negativity then knock yourself out.

We haven't won a game like that against Geelong since the Daniher years. It was a big step for our club and those losses shouldn't be defined as a step backwards. Like all developing side you are going to have those losses.

Like i said before. While those losses were not ideal we still knocked off Richmond and WB who played finals footy. We are heading in the right direction.

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Well if you want to keep dwelling on those losses and negativity then knock yourself out.

We haven't won a game like that against Geelong since the Daniher years. It was a big step for our club and those losses shouldn't be defined as a step backwards. Like all developing side you are going to have those losses.

Like i said before. While those losses were not ideal we still knocked off Richmond and WB who played finals footy. We are heading in the right direction.

I agree... in part.  I'm far from a negative supporter and, as you mentioned, some of the wins we had last year were terrific.  Wins we haven't had in a very long time.  They weren't just against interstate sides at the G.  They were fair dinkum victories.

But we can't discount the other stuff either.  Yes, we are a young side and yes, we are inconsistent.  But this season will show us which was the anomaly in our season... the wins against great opposition or the poor losses against weak opposition.  I'd like to think it's the latter that is the anomaly, but I'm not exactly holding my breath just yet.

Just watched the Anzac Day Richmond game. All I can say is that our skill levels were sheissenhausen, that I would have loved a dollar for every Tyson and Heretier turnover, that Howe is no loss, that Dawe knockers have a problem with onanism - he just puts in and puts in, he'd be one of the first picked in any of my teams - that Hogan is a friggin genius, that Garlett was an absolute steal, that for all of Mr Watts' skills he's a waste, that Newton is a dud, that Michie is a goer, that Jamar was underestimated, that McDonald, Brayshaw, Vendenberg, Salem, Kennedy Harris and Jetta will contribute a lot to our future, that Tyson will improve - he is seriously skillful - ditto Heretier - he flies the flag, he's passionate - and that all in all, we really need to be more skilled in the basics to cut it with the cream the likes of Hawthorn and Freemantle offer..

11 hours ago, dieter said:

Just watched the Anzac Day Richmond game. All I can say is that our skill levels were sheissenhausen, that I would have loved a dollar for every Tyson and Heretier turnover, that Howe is no loss, that Dawe knockers have a problem with onanism - he just puts in and puts in, he'd be one of the first picked in any of my teams - that Hogan is a friggin genius, that Garlett was an absolute steal, that for all of Mr Watts' skills he's a waste, that Newton is a dud, that Michie is a goer, that Jamar was underestimated, that McDonald, Brayshaw, Vendenberg, Salem, Kennedy Harris and Jetta will contribute a lot to our future, that Tyson will improve - he is seriously skillful - ditto Heretier - he flies the flag, he's passionate - and that all in all, we really need to be more skilled in the basics to cut it with the cream the likes of Hawthorn and Freemantle offer..

I don't know if you were at that game, dieter, but it was absolutely p*ssing down. I thought the guys played good, hard footy in the conditions and certainly played them better than Ninthmond (especially when it got really wet). Agree with your observations in general (although I don't think Watts is a waste, but could do better).

Can't wait for this year's Anzac Day/Eve game..it was really well done last  year.