View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

THE BUGLER 2: WITH A VENGEANCE

Posted

Not sure if this has long been a thing or not, or maybe it's just because we don't win very much but the Bugler which we all loathed is back (don't think it was the original guy though).

This time instead of playing our song on the ground before the game, a guy with a bugle/trumpet stood up on the second level (just behind me) and arrogantly played the MFC theme song with about 3 minutes to go, to which the crowd on the wing clapped, and sang along.

It was brash, arrogant, disrespectful and [censored] AWESOME!!!!! The atmosphere during/after it was electric, and you can hear the claps on the TV too.

If he was payed by the club, or just some bloke in the crowd, PLEASE make it a thing. I want clubs to hate hearing it, because

1. it means we have the game in the bag

2. We are a team to be despised for winning, not because we are pathetic and that combined with the bugle signifying a win will drive them mad.

3. We as supporters can really start sticking it up the opposition supporters for a change.

Edited by The Song Formerly Known As

I'm all for pissing off the opposition supporters as they stream out the gates.

I heard him too, and also LOVED IT !!!

So good to be able to sing the song with time on the clock!

If we're on the rise then lets enjoy it to the max.

I saw him. It was Biffen. There was vodka in the bugle, he skulls very quickly. No sound came out, apart from a gulping slurp noise.

A musical yard-glass?

You'll be a millionaire.

He was second level right on the end of the Olympic stand where it meets the southern stand.

He had to have a second go at because we got a goal halfway through his first attempt

Not sure if this has long been a thing or not, or maybe it's just because we don't win very much but the Bugler which we all loathed is back (don't think it was the original guy though).

This time instead of playing our song on the ground before the game, a guy with a bugle/trumpet stood up on the second level (just behind me) and arrogantly played the MFC theme song with about 3 minutes to go, to which the crowd on the wing clapped, and sang along.

It was brash, arrogant, disrespectful and [censored] AWESOME!!!!! The atmosphere during/after it was electric, and you can hear the claps on the TV too.

If he was payed by the club, or just some bloke in the crowd, PLEASE make it a thing. I want clubs to hate hearing it, because

1. it means we have the game in the bag

2. We are a team to be despised for winning, not because we are pathetic and that combined with the bugle signifying a win will drive them mad.

3. We as supporters can really start sticking it up the opposition supporters for a change.

Yeah it was a different guy, and it wasn't 2nd level of the MCC like usual

thank goodness it isn't the same old bugler with that same old boring style,

as long as its full of bitching brass & sass, sending up the opposition with atitude!!!

They did it at the GC game as well, must be just a home game thing cos he wasn't at the Tiges match.

Brilliant idea, I said on here some time ago this is exactly how the bugler should be used not out on the ground before the game in a cringeworthy performance. Great move by the club.

Shits all over Collingwood and their toothless bogan in his gold jacket.

I can imagine the roar that goes up when the bugle starts playing once this becomes a permanent fixture and we're winning on a regular basis.

Love it!

I can imagine the roar that goes up when the bugle starts playing once this becomes a permanent fixture and we're winning on a regular basis.

Love it!

do you reckon he (de bugler) could give something like this a bash, as the supporters filter into the 'g' , before our games ? maybe with some support on bongo's or drums...

maybe the Bugler needs an incognito mask,,, like 'the stig', anonymous, mysterious ?

• Author

Love it!

He got a pretty big roar on Sunday, was an amazing experience.

Love it!

Thats what i was thinking and I guess the OPs original intention as well....love it...

I'm all for pissing off the opposition supporters as they stream out the gates.

Haha! I like that idea Fester. Also like your cunning pun on stream!

BTW. Jane02 I noticed you liked the post.

Now Jane - here's an opportunity. Me, Biffen and Loonshadow need another classy sheila to accompany us to the footy. You will be expected to buy drinks and put up with sexist and racist comments - we're just normal blokes after all. Moonie can get a bit "touchy/feely" but it's all in good humour. Interested?

Tempting..... but the other half might not be too happy so I think I will take a rain check!

Dee-luded. Fanfare for the Common Man/ELP. Hmm, a tad boring I think. If prog rock is your go, how about Conquistador/Procul Harem?

Tempting..... but the other half might not be too happy so I think I will take a rain check!

Wise move Jane. Uncle Bitter is a notorious letch and drunkard. Biffen and I only go to prevent him being arrested and charged with offensive behaviour. We promised his missus that we'd look after him. Poor soul, she regrets marrying him 62 years ago.

Marriage is an important institution.

She got life.

Be cautious Jane! We know your other half supports the filth - so the day will come when decisions have to be made.

Anyway - I get your message. So my love will have to remain unrequited for the moment. You have just added to my sufferings!

• Author

Another thread derailed by BBO in an opportunity to promote his perverse nature. Do you talk footy anymore? Your comments would be better suited to the comment section of tube-porn sites. You'd fit in well with the people who comment on porn videos.