View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

NAB Challenge 1 - Richmond v Melbourne

Nervous and excited

To anyone that thinks this game means nothing, you have rocks in your head

Come on Demons!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I look forward to the day Jesse is named captain and the headline of the sports section is your username!

Don't know that I would quite be looking at it like that. Dawes and probably Hogan set to go next week . If you rush them, who knows what could happen. Expect us to be like last year. He who expects nothing is never disappointed.

A scary thought is that, if we do turn out to be 2 goals per quarter better (48 points per match better) our percentage will still only be 92! God we were bad last year.

And yes I realise that wasn't the intention of the original point, but more using it as another nail in the 2013 season - hopefully for the last time.

I look forward to the day Jesse is named captain and the headline of the sports section is your username!

I look forward to the day your username is considered perfect daily nutrition!! Oh and also year after year of demon domination!!

A scary thought is that, if we do turn out to be 2 goals per quarter better (48 points per match better) our percentage will still only be 92! God we were bad last year.

And yes I realise that wasn't the intention of the original point, but more using it as another nail in the 2013 season - hopefully for the last time.

we lost 8 games by 48 or less last year so pencil us in for 10 wins according to Hannibal's mate :D

At least with this squad it must confuse the toiges as to who to match up on in our forward line.

I think most of us will be surprised and confused.

We may have the midget fleet running all over the place.

I look forward to the day your username is considered perfect daily nutrition!! Oh and also year after year of demon domination!!

It'll be a smorgasbord of curry and beer on that day.. mainly beer

All I've seen Frawley do for the past 3 years is: hesitate until every option is covered by the opposition, kick it out from an opposition behinds straight to the opposition, turn it over in every way possible, sulk. He's supposed to be all Australian level. He hasn't been showing it.

Can you list the key forwards who have carved him up in the last 3 years? His key job is after all to beat his opponent.

Missing key personnel is no excuse for us to lose to Richmond. We will have close to a full strength midfield and defence and an undermanned fwd line. A competitive Melbourne outfit will have to be able to manufacture wins in this situation during the season proper. I'm looking fwd to tonights game and seeing the team play with renewed confidence and freedom. Im sure we will make a few mistakes, given the team have to learn the game plan and get used to playing together, but I think we will put in a competitive performance and be in the game with the chance to produce a win.

Go Melbourne!

Lets chat tomorrow. Admire your optimism but....

we are playing a finalist from last year and we have no ruck or fwd line. And Roos hates the pre-season. Yeah we'll smash em.

ha ha

Can you list the key forwards who have carved him up in the last 3 years? His key job is after all to beat his opponent.

it's a fair comment - from my memory there ahve been few occasions where he has concede 3/4 or more goals and is often the case his opponent is gifted 1 or 2 due to a teammate's indiscretions, a 50-metre penalty or a downright dodgy umpiring call etc.. however demon31 is right in that as an AA selection in his third season he has not quite come on as we would have hoped

Edited by Curry & Beer

• Author

Lets chat tomorrow. Admire your optimism but....

we are playing a finalist from last year and we have no ruck or fwd line. And Roos hates the pre-season. Yeah we'll smash em.

ha ha

Spencer is a ruckman last time I looked and I recon potentially a good one. He will be supported by the young fella for a short stints.

Roos has stated that the Dees are in a different situation to the Swans and he is approached the NAB Cup differently

But hey dont let me inturrupt you pessimism

Tex Walker made Frawley look like a 10 pound weakling. 25 possessions, 16 marks, and 4 goals in round 22, 2012.

I remember being shocked at how easily Walker rag-dolled him. He was just way too strong.

Other than that, no-one has really given him a bath.

Edited by Hannibal

Spencer is a ruckman last time I looked and I recon potentially a good one. He will be supported by the young fella for a short stints.

Roos has stated that the Dees are in a different situation to the Swans and he is approached the NAB Cup differently

But hey dont let me inturrupt you pessimism

Yeah, I think the ruck position is Spencer's to lose atm.

Tex Walker made Frawley look like a 10 pound weakling 25 possessions, 16 marks, and 4 goals in round 22, 2012.

I remember being shocked at how easily Walker rag-dolled him. He was just way too strong.

Other than that, no-one has really given him a bath.

In fairness, Tex Walker is the only legitimate 100 goal forward in the game.

He is throw back to the 90's and the best full forward the league has seen since the Fevolution.

Edited by KingDingAling

Remember a couple of seasons ago when we best the Pies at Etihad in a PS game, that was the highlight of Neelds coaching career, LOL what a disaster.

Yeah, I think the ruck position is Spencer's to lose atm.

I reckon Spencer might surprise a few. He is another I will watch with interest tonight.

As well as flicking to the cricket.

Remember a couple of seasons ago when we best the Pies at Etihad in a PS game, that was the highlight of Neelds coaching career, LOL what a disaster.

Did Neeld actually have a "coaching career"? I reckon we missed it mjt!

In fairness, Tex Walker is the only legitimate 100 goal forward in the game.

He is throw back to the 90's and the best full forward the league has seen since the Fevolution.

Thats a fair call, it's hard to imagine that he was taken so deep in the draft only a season before Watts, it's how bad you want it I can't remember what number he was taken but I'm sure he was a 3rd rounder.

Did Neeld actually have a "coaching career"? I reckon we missed it mjt!

He did that night what a train wreck.

Even though I believe Roos to be a great coach, I'm not expecting any surprises... The tigers should win this easy....

This game will be about watching our midfield... And watching our new players.... With the right attitude, this team could probably win double or triple our wins from last year....

Who knows what this group can achieve... Really we are years off, being competitive with the front runners.... Hopefully Roos is still with us...

Is tonights game on radio?

Up in the Hunter Valley for work, at the pub raring to go. Looking forward to see how competitive we are. We've heard the talk...

Looking forward to seeing our new midfield recruits. Bring it on.

Thanks for enlightening me. My world is now a better place thanks to your lesson on the possessive apostrophe.

Now can you please go and write a book or alternatively let's talk footy on here.

Ps oh my, did I get let's right. Or is it lets? I wouldn't dream of inserting an apostrophe incorrectly. There I go again is it wouldn't or wouldnt? Will I ever be able to post again without fear of another grammatical reprimand!

I was joking you dill.