View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POST MATCH DISCUSSION

Was a 23 point game in that last quarter. Ended up being 68. Typical Melbourne dropping the bundle. Doesn't help with umpiring of that..persuasion. Plus far too many bullet wounds in the foot.

Tapscott needs to go at season's end. Pedersen is useless. Matt Jones tries but his skills just aren't good enough for this level.

Best thing to come out of today was Toumpas. Other than his deer in the headlights moment off half back, he is looking good. Just need to concentrate on the next generation and with a bit of luck, throw some some money at quality seniors to get on board and guide them through.

Wish someone would leak our salary cap. Would love to see the breakdown.

I love Matt Jones and Terlich's commitment to the ball, they just butcher it everytime they get it...I shudder each time one of them has it.

Hopefully it's just experience and they work hard on it over the preseason.

Was a 23 point game in that last quarter. Ended up being 68. Typical Melbourne dropping the bundle. Doesn't help with umpiring of that..persuasion. Plus far too many bullet wounds in the foot.

Tapscott needs to go at season's end. Pedersen is useless. Matt Jones tries but his skills just aren't good enough for this level.

Best thing to come out of today was Toumpas. Other than his deer in the headlights moment off half back, he is looking good. Just need to concentrate on the next generation and with a bit of luck, throw some some money at quality seniors to get on board and guide them through.

I was holding onto some hope with this player, but I agree.....to quote a poster 'built like Tarzan, plays like Jack err, Jane.

exactly....

Good to see toumpas not being torched post game. Looked good today.

What is clear is that, with a better midfield, this side would improve significantly and quickly. I know that's a bit of Captain Obvious but I don't think we are that far off the mark.

They are big if's , but if we could land Sallow and one other. Trade Watts and pick 2 if needed. Getting full seasons out of Mitch and Dawes. A change of captaincy to allow both Jacks to concentrate on their footy, they have tried but to fair are probably out of their depth.

Jimmy Toumpas workrate is first class

Will be a star (if we get our player development right)

He might work hard but his decision making in general is woeful. Sells players into trouble far too often and his first option in most cases is the easy kick backwards to a guy in space 20 to 30 meters behind play placing us deeper into defence and losing yardage. Not alone by a long shot at the MFC but is a good season or 2 away from competing at AFL level at this point.

Too many clangers and poor option choices that costs us.

Agree that he could be a star IF.........

Did not see the game but the free kicks 25 to 11 looks seriously suspect.

How come they never run that way when we host a non-Victorian club?

So tell me before I watch the replay...how many goals were those frees worth to the margin?

Of the 11, 4 were in the first quarter, and I think 4 were in the last (2 or 3 in the last couple of minutes).

That means we had 3 free kicks in the middle two quarters where we lost the ascendency.

Some were there, some weren't but I reckon they could have paid another 10 to us that they didn't.

Why? Do you want more angst in your life?

No mate, got plenty on the plate already. Just been thinking, Davey frees up big coin, Mitch has 1 year left to go. Assuming he resigns it will be for less. Dawes is on 500k(rumoured), we need to offer Chip a big contract. Looking at sides like Geelong, Hawks and Collingwood , we must have plenty of room to move. We need to make a big play for someone, pay overs if needed. I think in a couple of years our as the next generation come through - Viney, Toumpas , Hogan ect our cap will even itself out but now we must have plenty of room to move. Identify a mid/s then make a dream offer.

He might work hard but his decision making in general is woeful. Sells players into trouble far too often and his first option in most cases is the easy kick backwards to a guy in space 20 to 30 meters behind play placing us deeper into defence and losing yardage. Not alone by a long shot at the MFC but is a good season or 2 away from competing at AFL level at this point.

Decision making will improve with confidence in himself and those around him.

Tapscott on the other hand, was supposed to be a beautiful kick. Useless! He really looks like a lazy player to me.

How long do we have to burn in hell like this for?

I'm sorry that information will only be divulged when the ride comes to a complete stop.

There's no room for a straight ahead 'only' small forward now. No lateral movement when leading and too stagnent in general ground play. Not the greatest converter in front of goal either.

Nice build and trys hard but where do you play someone like this in today's game?

There's no room for a straight ahead 'only' small forward now. No lateral movement when leading and too stagnent in general ground play. Not the greatest converter in front of goal either.

Nice build and trys hard but where do you play someone like this in today's game?

That's the thing, he cannot move sideways at all.

With apologies to those few umpires of quality and professionalism, the rest are making the top level of our game close to unwatchable.

Jack Grimes - not AFL standard. Terlich is unaccountable and an ordinary decision maker. Matt Jones runs backwards the entire time. Dunn hit one target today. Thankfully only one week left.

Well this club is a sad, pathetic shadow of what it once used to be.

I'd be disgusted if Craig is all this club comes up with for next season, given the amount of work they have to do in order to restore this club from a sad joke to a competitive team.

Thankfully this is all for me this season. After having every weekend ruined by this crap team, I am taking next Sunday off to enjoy my birthday and not have it ruined by this club.

[censored] you Melbourne 2013. You have obliterated my love of footy and of you.

Edited by Jaded

By the way, the channel 7 commentary was putrid. No analysis and all reminiscences of the Adelaide Oval.

Thought it was funny how Basil kept calling McKenzie Dunn. One of them has red hair DH and it's not Dunn.

Basil has to have received that job through nepotism. There's just no other way I can understand him getting the job. Absolute [censored].

anyone go to the game ?

I just don't know what to think about watts. It's all about how good he might be somewhere else. Today he was at his soft worst.

I usually respect peoples opinion but you obviously did not watch the game or have absolutely no idea. He was easily our most effective and creative player today and to my recollection went backwards twice and only after looking for options forward of the ball. He is one of few players that disposes the ball flat and to where the player should be rather than where they are or behind them. He has been up and down this year but today he was excellent.

Watched most of the game. Gave up halfway through the last quarter (when Douglas took an uncontensted mark in front of goal with no Dee player in sight).. evidently I didn't miss much!!

Personally I am not one to criticise team selections much, those who pick the side are paid professionals and have inside info that the public aren't aware of, but the selections for this game IMO were nothing short of a friggin joke. How Magner didn't get a guernsey after 50 touches and sustained VFL form, big bodied clearance player who can tackle, how Cam 'donut king' Pederson got a gig ahead of Gawn perhaps even more baffling. Just ridiculous.

Toumpas looks like a running machine and sublime skills by hand and foot. Good game from him today. A perhaps more unpopular opinion on here of late but I think Trenners is playing some MUCH better footy too.. a full pre season for him coming up.

I'd be disgusted if Craig is all this club comes up with for next season, given the amount of work they have to do in order to restore this club from a sad joke to a competitive team.

Thankfully this is all for me this season. After having every weekend ruined by this crap team, I am taking next Sunday off to enjoy my birthday and not have it ruined by this club.

[censored] Melbourne 2013. You have obliterated my love of footy and of you.

Jaded, this is not true. You love Melbourne.

[censored] Melbourne 2013. You have obliterated my love of footy and of you.

didnt you say this last year too :unsure::rolleyes: lol