Live chat with Gerard Healy

Posted

Got involved with a live chat with Gerard Healy.

Comment From deemotivated: ] Melbourne don't have the money or the list for Paul Roos. Who wold you consider a good replacement for Neeld if sacked?

Tuesday May 14, 2013 1:48
1:49
I'd put Todd Viney in in the short term. I don't think the father-son issue is even worth considering. Look at how successful Lindsay and Andrew Gaze were.
Tuesday May 14, 2013 1:49
1:50
I think Paul Roos is the obvious choice. They need someone who can sell hope over the summer, otherwise their financial position will only get worse.
Tuesday May 14, 2013 1:50

I'd also give Mark Williams a ring, to see where his head is at. I've always been a Mark Williams fan,

Seems everyone is on the same page except the board.

Did he mention the game against the Gold C...., er Gold Suns by any chance?

• Author

Haha. Yeah he explained it all and how he was surprised at how it went viral. He got home and his daughters showed him all the social media about it.

Healy is absolutely spot on with this comment 'they need someone who can sell hope'.

A club that has near 6-7 years of being crap needs to give its players and supporters some hope, it needs to sell hope. In some ways the appointment of Neeld sold some hope that if the if the fundamentals could be changed we would improve. The promise was of incremental improvement, which is ok and acceptable for most fans. There is still a message of hope in incremental improvement.

But if anything we are going backward and at an alarming rate. No hope there.

Neeld has, from the start been very circumspect about improvement, which again is ok as long as it happening. He has deliberately not promised too much before last season or this season. Ironic then that the two things he has said have proved so laughably and spectacularly unfulfilled.

Before last season there was : simply we want to be the hardest team to play against. Tragic and the blackest of black humor.

This year was his comments at the AGM (and i think repeated in an interview?) that people might be surprised at how we go this year and that success may not be as far away as people think. Well at least those comments might be partially true. Few believed we would/could be this bad.

Compare his promises with Hinkleys at Port. He has said the only thing they will promise is that they will never give up. They have come back and won 2 games this season after falling more than 7 goals behind and pushed North after being well down. I'll take that promise. And Hinkley obviously gets that supporters need hope which having a side that refuses to give up will provide.

In my opinion Port were as bad as we are now under primus, the right people in place we might get more out of our players and realise we aren't as bad as we might have thought, Injuries aren't helping us at the moment.

On 14/05/2013 at 04:51, binman said:

Healy is absolutely spot on with this comment 'they need someone who can sell hope'.

Unfotunatley, i am a first day buyer whenever the MFC sells hope. I was in for the Bailey rebuild, I was is for Neeld coming on, and no doubt i will be sucked in by however the club packages the next coaching appointment.

We dont need another person who can sell hope, we need somone who can teach us to win.

On 14/05/2013 at 05:01, DemonWA said:

Unfotunatley, i am a first day buyer whenever the MFC sells hope. I was in for the Bailey rebuild, I was is for Neeld coming on, and no doubt i will be sucked in by however the club packages the next coaching appointment.

We dont need another person who can sell hope, we need somone who can teach us to win.

Fair call i suppose. I'm a sucker for hope also. For gods sake i backed the dees to make the 8! I need a hopeless optimist support group - though i think Sundays game finally cured me.

But i reckon to learn to win you need to first see hope.

me too DemonWA - 100%. have fallen for it everytime and will again. Hope is the only positive commodity in which the MFC has traded in the last 7 years.

We need a strong leader, unless we could get someone like a Roos I would be more in favour of focusing on a strong Head Of Football Operations (Walsh / Balme type etc). I am confident that in Rawlings, Viney, Craig etc we have people around the group that can teach football. In fact I think any of these 3 would be a good choice as head coach with a strong head of football operations in place above them. A much better choice than an external untried first year head coach.

We need someone who can sell a football vision internally and externally, motivate those around him and have the troops follow behind all singing the same hymn and take the pressure off the coach. A Head of Football Operations is the priority IMO

• Author

You and me both mate.

I see the "selling hope" as keeping our sponsors and not letting too many members decide to walk away. We cant afford either scenario so things need to turn soon and weather that's fully results driven or not all concerned want to see things improve.

• Author
  On 14/05/2013 at 05:13, Lindz said:

We need a strong leader, unless we could get someone like a Roos I would be more in favour of focusing on a strong Head Of Football Operations (Walsh / Balme type etc). I am confident that in Rawlings, Viney, Craig etc we have people around the group that can teach football. In fact I think any of these 3 would be a good choice as head coach with a strong head of football operations in place above them. A much better choice than an external untried first year head coach.

We need someone who can sell a football vision internally and externally, motivate those around him and have the troops follow behind all singing the same hymn and take the pressure off the coach. A Head of Football Operations is the priority IMO

We absolutely need a coach who the players will bleed for. The players need to feel genuine guilt and pain for poor performances and the will to rectify that.

Our next coach also needs to instil confidence in his players and for them to trust each other.

I find this rather funny to be honest. We "need someone who can sell hope" do we? I'd rather have someone who is honest and tells us the truth. Neeld told us right from the start that the team was a shambles and it would take time to fix. He's not even halfway through his contract and people are calling for his head because it's turned out to be true. Before this season he said they weren't up to the standard he wants and there are still holes to fill in the list. He hasn't tried to sell us hope, he's sold us reality. The reality is that you don't fix a team as messed up as ours in one year. The reality is that if we sack him now we'll have another coach starting from scratch with another new message and we'll be a year and a half further back. The hope I hold onto is that Neeld is right and with time, fitness and experience these players will gel into a cohesive unit that can get the job done. I'm willing to back him for another year to see if he can make it happen.

On 14/05/2013 at 05:54, RalphiusMaximus said:

I find this rather funny to be honest. We "need someone who can sell hope" do we? I'd rather have someone who is honest and tells us the truth. Neeld told us right from the start that the team was a shambles and it would take time to fix. He's not even halfway through his contract and people are calling for his head because it's turned out to be true. Before this season he said they weren't up to the standard he wants and there are still holes to fill in the list. He hasn't tried to sell us hope, he's sold us reality. The reality is that you don't fix a team as messed up as ours in one year. The reality is that if we sack him now we'll have another coach starting from scratch with another new message and we'll be a year and a half further back. The hope I hold onto is that Neeld is right and with time, fitness and experience these players will gel into a cohesive unit that can get the job done. I'm willing to back him for another year to see if he can make it happen.

Neeld was right no doubt. But does he have the experience and knowledge to actually change the culture?

Looking at his progress so far i would say,No..We have regressed a long way.

I wish he had done a Hinkley, but it did not happen.

You are spot on Ralphius Neeld came to a new club and told anyone and everyone how utterly crap they were in the past and were currently. He made it clear the players were unprofessional and that were unfit and not AFL standard. He publicly criticized individual players and consistently compared to what he practically described a rabble to the elite club he had just come from.

In short he broke almost every basic rule of sports psychology. You can see the inevitable result of his approach. Players playing without spirit, confidence, enjoyment or freedom.

We are reaping what he sowed and soon he will leave the club. He is bound to be sacked mid season,of that i no longer have any doubt. Why? Because the club has to give its fans some hope and even though sacking him will likely not bring any benefit, it will allow the fans a little time to dream of a better things.

On 14/05/2013 at 06:03, binman said:

You are spot on Ralphius Neeld came to a new club and told anyone and everyone how utterly crap they were in the past and were currently. He made it clear the players were unprofessional and that were unfit and not AFL standard. He publicly criticized individual players and consistently compared to what he practically described a rabble to the elite club he had just come from.

In short he broke almost every basic rule of sports psychology. You can see the inevitable result of his approach. Players playing without spirit, confidence, enjoyment or freedom.

We are reaping what he sowed and soon he will leave the club. He is bound to be sacked mid season,of that i no longer have any doubt. Why? Because the club has to give its fans some hope and even though sacking him will likely not bring any benefit, it will allow the fans a little time to dream of a better things.

I agree, i think he will be sacked mid year if not sooner but i hope Royal is sacked also, we are trying to develop an elite midfield, our forward line doesn't look terrible on paper at full strength, hopefully they chase Brett Kirk or Lingy as a midfield coach and get the blokes like Trengove, Toumpas, Viney, Grimes, Jones, and co learning from a premiership star midfielder.

Neeld has butchered this list. It is much worse than when he took over. They are paralysed by a fear of failure. He has to go.

On 14/05/2013 at 06:09, Demonfan26 said:

I agree, i think he will be sacked mid year if not sooner but i hope Royal is sacked also, we are trying to develop an elite midfield, our forward line doesn't look terrible on paper at full strength, hopefully they chase Brett Kirk or Lingy as a midfield coach and get the blokes like Trengove, Toumpas, Viney, Grimes, Jones, and co learning from a premiership star midfielder.

So it has to be a premiership winning midfielder, so a guy who played 199 games, won a best and fairest, and was an All Australian is not good enough, I pity the premiership winning midfielder taking over our inexperienced midfield next week and not immediately turning it around

On 14/05/2013 at 06:09, Demonfan26 said:

At the risk of repeating myself - you wouldnt know if Royal or any of the assistant coaches are doing are good or bad job - they only pass on the Neeld messages and plans- you can rightly or wrong judge Neeld but Neeld and Craig are probably the only two who would know if the assistants are doing a good or bad job.

On 14/05/2013 at 06:03, binman said:

You are spot on Ralphius Neeld came to a new club and told anyone and everyone how utterly crap they were in the past and were currently. .....

You're just not right on Neeld Binman. There were questions about the fitness, as there should have been, but he was positive about the club and the possibilities from the very start.

That's great for you Ralphius, however the reality is that yes, the bulk supporters of need hope. And by "hope" I don't think they're asking for alot after 20 months, just SOME sign of improvement and evidence we're moving in the right direction, as opposed to hope that the losing margin is under 10 goals.

Hope will be sold to me only on the ground. I have heard it all before but haven't seen anything on the field. Our next coach can be a deaf mute for all I care. Get it done on the field and we will all have hope.

Healy is a turd, and I wouldn't accept a kidney from him to save my life. He's another talking head making money putting the boot into us. I [censored] on him and all like him.

On 14/05/2013 at 04:05, Deemotivated said:

Comment From deemotivated: ] Melbourne don't have the money or the list for Paul Roos. Who wold you consider a good replacement for Neeld if sacked?

Tuesday May 14, 2013 1:48
1:49
I'd put Todd Viney in in the short term. I don't think the father-son issue is even worth considering. Look at how successful Lindsay and Andrew Gaze were.
Tuesday May 14, 2013 1:49
I think Paul Roos is the obvious choice. They need someone who can sell hope over the summer, otherwise their financial position will only get worse.
Tuesday May 14, 2013 1:50

I'd also give Mark Williams a ring, to see where his head is at. I've always been a Mark Williams fan,

The board will get on board.

What do they have to stand behind?

As bad as Melbourne has been coping it people still don't quite understand how incompetent the board and club are. Someone mentioned the NBA taking over New Orleans. That's different because the demographic doesn't go to NBA games. Melbourne is in the HUB of AFL, is the oldest club, 12 god damn premierships, which are essentially worthless now though, and plays at the MCG for crying out loud! Clubs are knocking on the door to play their games there. What do you think will happen to Melbourne when Carlton moves in? Unless the team is actually competitive?

We can't be in a position where we constantly receive the benefit of AFL assistance because people don't respect that. And you can't be competitive when you're constantly in that position.

These people have a fricken PhD in how to ruin a club and a brand. People that say the AFL wants a team called "Melbourne" in the AFL are on to something: the club's affiliation to the history of the sport's foundations means the league is obliged to ensure its existence..but the sheer fact that the league is prepared to assist it suggests the club is worth more than it imagines.

It's just that a consistent stream of idiots is running it. It's like putting an infant in the driver's seat in a ferrari and putting a brick on the gas and expecting them to parallel park.

On 14/05/2013 at 10:19, Cudi_420 said:

The board will get on board.

What do they have to stand behind?

As bad as Melbourne has been coping it people still don't quite understand how incompetent the board and club are. Someone mentioned the NBA taking over New Orleans. That's different because the demographic doesn't go to NBA games. Melbourne is in the HUB of AFL, is the oldest club, 12 god damn premierships, which are essentially worthless now though, and plays at the MCG for crying out loud! Clubs are knocking on the door to play their games there. What do you think will happen to Melbourne when Carlton moves in? Unless the team is actually competitive?

We can't be in a position where we constantly receive the benefit of AFL assistance because people don't respect that. And you can't be competitive when you're constantly in that position.

These people have a fricken PhD in how to ruin a club and a brand. People that say the AFL wants a team called "Melbourne" in the AFL are on to something: the club's affiliation to the history of the sport's foundations means the league is obliged to ensure its existence..but the sheer fact that the league is prepared to assist it suggests the club is worth more than it imagines.

It's just that a consistent stream of idiots is running it. It's like putting an infant in the driver's seat in a ferrari and putting a brick on the gas and expecting them to parallel park.

Email this to the Club Cudi..it's superb, sadly!!

On 14/05/2013 at 04:05, Deemotivated said:

Gerard's little brother , Greg , is the club's Football Director. Now even if - as professionals- the two take care to avoid discussing sensitive subjects, I'd be very surprised if Gerard hadn't shared some of his observations with his brother.

Which makes me wonder where Greg sits in all this . Peter Jackson's comments on the confused reporting lines between the FD and CEO - weigh directly on the governance matters specifically overseen by the Football Director, on behalf of the Board.

Greg has not denied that he had to carefully consider his Quicksilver obligations before joining the Board. There is no evidence that the has added any strength to the Board's understanding of the workings of the FD - or ensured that appropriate policies and procedures have been adopted. Moreover he appears to have condoned the fact that our footy department operates under four heads ( Craig, Harrington, Mahoney and Neeld) - none of whom has the long term contract Viney has.

Is Sugar to the fore in sorting out all this mess? If not what's he doing as Football Director?