Caddy - do we want him and if so what's he worth?

Ablett's and Scully's footy suffered under this pressure, whats to think that Caddy's won't as well. I really like this guy, he's tough as nails and plays the right way, but at the same time I wouldn't be diving in after him. We really should be able to find similar types with the picks we have and keep them at our club not make a desperate ploy for a guy not keen on us.

Thats said if we could get a good deal especially if it helped the Viney situation or allowed us to turf a battler in as stakeknives like Morton I'd be all for it.

I'd still rate him as worth a top 10 pick, but in no way a top 5.

Seems to have the tools to be a gun.

Putting in half-arsed efforts to lower his price, so he can actually get to his preferred destination..?

That strategy can actually earn you 6 years and millions of dollars.

Reckon we are better off going for players who are a touch older and more established (like 23-25 year old types, Beams etc)

Obviously we can only target those who are available to move on.

It seems Boak is one, & Caddy another possibility.

are there any more?

Beams.

• Author

Obviously we can only target those who are available to move on.

It seems Boak is one, & Caddy another possibility.

are there any more?

Boak would obviously be a good get, but i reckon his asking price will be pretty bloody steep. Caddy will be cheaper (and prob not as good i suppose) and he fits the right age profile ie we would get 10 years from him if he stays ft whereas we might only get 6-7 from Boak who is 3 and a bit years older i think. to be honest i haven't really seen much of Boak either so i'm not in very good position to judge value

Time to get serious Demons...If anything getting Mitch Clark has taught us...'Some' Good Players want money...give them that and they will come...cheap return for giving up pick 12 in hindsight.

If i was hired as recruiting manager I would get one or all of Caddy, Boak or Beams...use 100% of the Salary cap to get them...that's what it's there for..even trade our dead wood.

Caddy is set on Essendon, he will go there via any means possible

Essendons first pick will be around 30-35 most likely as their first pick will be used on Daniher as a F/S. So they will need to trade away a decent player to get either Caddy or Boak and not just a Monfries or Gumbleton so I just don't think they will have the bargaining power to get any trades done this year.

cheap return for giving up pick 12 in hindsight.

His salary may be pricey, but pick 12 has been a bargain for what Mitch has brought to the Dees.

I reckon we're going to be a big player in a lot of these player movements. Boak surely must be our first choice of big name, biggest problem is his desire to go "home" home to Geelong and the fact the cats can offer him finals footy and challenging for premierships.

I reckon Caddy we're a big chance, we definitely have more to offer GC than the bombers and there is the PSD factor where (at this stage) we'll have first pick of the Victorian teams.

Caddy is set on Essendon, he will go there via any means possible

Maybe not as set as last year and as has been stated they have no cards to deal anyway unless they want to give up a top liner.

Forget Beams. He will command stupid money to leave Collingwood.

A massively front loaded contract could work here, and on a long term deal would save money for future stars.

No, you're right about that. It's led to a $400k a year road to nowhere for Colin.

I guess by 'bad' I more mean 'mad' ... an angry kind of 'bad' in the Mitch Robinson mould. We could do with a couple of his types at Melbourne.

I'm down for tough and uncompromising but a sniper should never be welcome. I watched him king hit Rohan Bail off the ball and have zero respect for him and his type.

I think the youtube video of the carlton boys dubbed over Deliverance sums him up perfectly

Boak would obviously be a good get, but i reckon his asking price will be pretty bloody steep. Caddy will be cheaper (and prob not as good i suppose) and he fits the right age profile ie we would get 10 years from him if he stays ft whereas we might only get 6-7 from Boak who is 3 and a bit years older i think. to be honest i haven't really seen much of Boak either so i'm not in very good position to judge value

reckon we are in a far better position to meet Boak's monetary demands than the cats, which is who all the talk in centered on. give me 6-7 years of proven (he gets injured, port gets rubbish) over 10 years of maybe very good any day

as for Caddy, I don't see the value in giving up a high draft pick for someone was himself taken high but is effectively unproven - we are much better off spending that same high pick on a talented kid from this year's draft which those 'in the know' (i.e., 'not me') seem to think is a strong one. Pick 3 is off the table at any rate because regardless of whether or not you get GCS to drop any interest they might have, the Giants will still force our hand

In our favour in this regard is the frankly terrible performance of the all of the GCS mature recruits not named Gary Ablett Jr means that they'd be screaming our for some older bodies, so an older player with something to offer (crucial point) is probably worth more to them than yet another kid to develop. question of course is who do we give up? Petterd may not have much currency with his inability to crack into our stellar line up (also believe he is contracted for another year or two), so we'll need to do better

As for the Essendon link, they made a major play for him last year but couldn't get the deal over the line, from memory we made an 11th hour offer as well when the bombers deal fell through. as mentioned they will have nothing to offer and indeed much less than they had last year so we've definitely got a better chance than them

A massively front loaded contract could work here, and on a long term deal would save money for future stars.

He's had a wonderful first 11 games of 2012 but I'd be very circumspect about offering Dayne Beams a long-term, big money deal.

Can't put my finger on it but something about the guy makes me very wary.

Sidebottom I'd sign in a heartbeat.

Essendons first pick will be around 30-35 most likely as their first pick will be used on Daniher as a F/S. So they will need to trade away a decent player to get either Caddy or Boak and not just a Monfries or Gumbleton so I just don't think they will have the bargaining power to get any trades done this year.

We could make it very awkward for them by offering GC pick 13 and matching Essendon's $s. We really just need to outbid other suitors and pick 13 outbids every team that finishes in the 8.

If Caddy is fixed on returning to Victoria the alternative on the "get Viney in R2 plan" - we could offer GC pick 4 for Caddy and GWS pick 3 for mini-draft pick1 (Jack Martin) if they both pass on Viney.

There's no way GC or GWS can do better than those deals.

That effectively gives us Viney + Caddy in place of Viney + pick 25 - we're effectively getting Caddy for our 2nd rounder pick 25.

Martin, Caddy, pick 13, Viney - that's not a bad deal.

The Suns are the one team that I virtually haven't seen this year. I've watched heaps of GWS, but not the Suns.

I know Caddy had a reputation for being a tough on-baller and was a top 10 draft pick, but is he more of the same ? We're desperate for legspeed into our midfield. Is Caddy quick, or does he just have average pace ? Viney's pace is ok, but he's not quick and Trengove, Moloney, Jones, Howe, etc also don't have blistering speed.

If Caddy isn't quick I'm not sure he adds much value.

He's had a wonderful first 11 games of 2012 but I'd be very circumspect about offering Dayne Beams a long-term, big money deal.

Can't put my finger on it but something about the guy makes me very wary.

Sidebottom I'd sign in a heartbeat.

Adding Steele to the structure would add some real mettle to the playing group..

What about Prestia?

Smaller but quicker. Super fit. Courageous. Clean hands. Has looked the goods in the games I've seen.

Melbourne boy.

Yep, no more one-pace mids. Quick mids with good skills. That's the essential.

Josh Caddy

Games: 14

Avg disp: 16.7

Avg Tackles: 2.8

Goals: 8

Seems some of what is being posted here sounds like overs.

Ricky Bobby and a second rounder or not at all for mine. Hell they can have Jamie Bennell too if they throw in a strawberry Big M