Posted

I hope Fitzy gets a run, maybe Morton can be the sub, in a damage limitation kind of way.

I'm not optimistic this week boys. Can't see it happening- as much as I would like to.

And yes, we do miss $ully. Our midfield is very vanilla without him!

Posted

And yes, we do miss $ully. Our midfield is very vanilla without him!

Our midfield misses Scully on paper, in reality we were Vanilla with him too

I didnt tip us but i hope we win!

Posted

Martin's omission has been no surprise and Fitz's elevation was to be expected. Idont think he will play

Expected bench: Morton, Petterd, Sellar, Dunn

Prefer to give Couch a run than Dunn but I think they will give it to Dunn by a whisker..

I agree Dunn has been around for a long time now and still can't cement a spot; maybe it's time to move on.

Posted

Heaven forbid - fumbles McDonald offered another chance?

For my two bob's worth, Dunn, Petterd, Couch and Sellar or Fitzpatrick for the bench, and do you have a tall as the sub? If not probably Dunn or Petterd (geez I hate the sub rule)!

Posted

And happy to see Petterd get another chance

this bloke needs to stop getting "another chance" and start cementing his spot in this team

Posted

For the first time this year that side looks a good one to me.

Seems to have the people in the positions they play best well most of them.

and of course who knows how they will line up.

If they all played as well as we have seen them play at times in the past look out.

And if I had not seen the last 6 weeks i would think we have a good chance against the dogs.

But alas even in my dreams I see the dogs winning easily.

Posted

Martin's omission has been no surprise and Fitz's elevation was to be expected. Idont think he will play

Prefer to give Couch a run than Dunn but I think they will give it to Dunn by a whisker..

so who changes with the russian?

Posted

??Sellar / Clark ??

Posted

For the first time this year that side looks a good one to me.

Seems to have the people in the positions they play best well most of them.

and of course who knows how they will line up.

If they all played as well as we have seen them play at times in the past look out.

And if I had not seen the last 6 weeks i would think we have a good chance against the dogs.

But alas even in my dreams I see the dogs winning easily.

Geez OD I was about to tip us this week until I read your last sentence.

Posted

this bloke needs to stop getting "another chance" and start cementing his spot in this team

Reckon he's done ALOT more than a heap of other blokes who keep getting chances...

Posted

Is it legit to hope for hope? If it is then that is me

I hope you are right .

(If we have one)

Posted

Reckon he's done ALOT more than a heap of other blokes who keep getting chances...

i agree with that, but pettard has so much natural talent and is better than spending have the year at casey

for me i would move him the HB line, has more composure and better desicion making than grimes, and put grimes in the guts

Posted

I like him in the forward line, gives us much needed speed there, but if he goes anywhere put him in the middle so at least 1 player might tackle somebody

Posted

i agree with that, but pettard has so much natural talent and is better than spending have the year at casey

for me i would move him the HB line, has more composure and better desicion making than grimes, and put grimes in the guts

He started his career with the Dees there deeflog.

If you remember he was playing there the day he had the serious lung problem.

Posted

How the hell does Bail keep getting a game?

Has literally not done a thing this year in 360 minutes of footy.

With all the injuries at present who would you replace him with?

There are not a lot of alternatives and please do not say the B words

Posted

How the hell does Bail keep getting a game?

Has literally not done a thing this year in 360 minutes of footy.

I am pretty certain he has being doing shut down roles, but admittedly, like others, he seems a little down.

Posted

Why would Morton hold his spot?

Posted

Would have thought Dunn would keep Morton out not Couch

They play different roles. And we lack run which Morton can provide. Dunn cant.

Heaven forbid - fumbles McDonald offered another chance?

It was his 3rd game and was thrown into defense when our midfield was shot and the Tigers had 65 inside 50s.

Sellar. He did a stint rucking. FWIW I thought Sellar took some really good contested marks. Has good hands. Decision making iffy. Looks a nice kick of the ball.

The issue is he does not do alot when he does not have the ball. Defensively lazy.

Posted

1.They play different roles. And we lack run which Morton can provide. Dunn cant.

2.The issue is he does not do alot when he does not have the ball. Defensively lazy.

1. But Dunn and Couch play the same roles? Hardly mate. Pretty sure Dunn runs along the wing alot as does Morton, difference is Dunn is not scared of the ball, the opposition, the crowd, seagulls....

2. Ahhhhh he leads the way when you compare him to the rest of our players at the moment though, still our best chance of laying a tackle anywhere in the forward half

Posted

It was his 3rd game and was thrown into defense when our midfield was shot and the Tigers had 65 inside 50s.

Sellar. He did a stint rucking. FWIW I thought Sellar took some really good contested marks. Has good hands. Decision making iffy. Looks a nice kick of the ball.

The issue is he does not do alot when he does not have the ball. Defensively lazy.

Morton must never play again - he doesn't even have a role.

Posted

I think you misinterpret me.

I am delighted that Tom McDonald, a young tall with a definite future, is still in the team and even if he doesn't set the world on fire he needs to keep getting game time. He hasn't played badly at all.

I was referring to fumbles McDonald, aka Joel.

Posted

I think Davey is wasted in FP. Put Couch there. If he can read the ball off a hit out he can probably read it off a pack too. Put Davey further downfield where we need the pace.

Dunn must surely start, he's the only other target we have forward of the middle. He needs a heavy body on him to counteract his strength but he can be rather wily against the beefy plodders.

Sellar did okay pinch hitting in the ruck the last couple of weeks. By that I mean he was no worse than Jamar.

If we can stop turning the ball over as we move forward we can cut out those costly cheap goals that allow the opposition to play confident football that pounds our defenders in the 3rd quarter. It would also mean we could play the game our way. It's impossible to control the pace and style of the game if you can't string together at least 5 or 6 uncontested possessions.

Here's hoping. :unsure: