Posted

Love the blazers. Scwabby put a pic of an old blazer up on twitter about 18 months ago and I replied saying with the want to assert our heritage it would be good to have the boys in them. Who know, perhaps the sowing a seed. Good on him though.

Posted

Think it's fantastic used in moderation.

Couldn't think of anything more professional than seeing all the boys arrive to the game wearing their blazers; getting off the buses for interstate trips etc. Tracksuits look so unprofessional when I played footy at school it was an honour to arrive to the game wearing our blazer before kitting up.

This could be really good relying how they approach it.

Posted

Gee there's some bizarre self-loathing commentary here.

A blazer is a fantastic idea for the club and I reckon a supporters version should be made as well in bright colours for those of us who are too old or unable (MCC Members) to wear a guernsey.

Let them call us the bloody toffs if they want, who cares? Let's don some boater hats as well whilst we're at it, get a whole army of us together in full regalia! Think about it! Absolutely fantastic I reckon!

A blazer is a pretty hip and fashionable item at the moment and has a heritage element we can exploit extremely well.

Supporters need to stop being paranoid and ashamed about being perceived as affluent or posh or well heeled, it's ridiculous!

We live in one of the richest countries in the world!

Is anyone embarrassed about that?

Posted

Well it would seem that I'm in the minority, but I reckon they look great. Nothing wrong with looking classy from time to time.

Posted

I like the blazer, don't get me wrong.

It was just last night i had massive Brighton Grammar Flashbacks...i most certainly didn't like that!!

But a supporter version could work.

Guest Thomo
Posted

I don't like them. They look like a school blazer, not a professional team, I think that with the over done emblem, the stars on the back of the jumper and now the school blazer Cameron Schwab is trying way to hard to leave his mark on the MFC.

Posted (edited)

Gee there's some bizarre self-loathing commentary here.

A blazer is a fantastic idea for the club and I reckon a supporters version should be made as well in bright colours for those of us who are too old or unable (MCC Members) to wear a guernsey.

Let them call us the bloody toffs if they want, who cares? Let's don some boater hats as well whilst we're at it, get a whole army of us together in full regalia! Think about it! Absolutely fantastic I reckon!

A blazer is a pretty hip and fashionable item at the moment and has a heritage element we can exploit extremely well.

Supporters need to stop being paranoid and ashamed about being perceived as affluent or posh or well heeled, it's ridiculous!

We live in one of the richest countries in the world!

Is anyone embarrassed about that?

Personally I don't think there's much to gain from pushing that old stereotype.

That said tho, I'm not against the blazer - so long as we are a bunch of tough-ass bastards on the field.

Edited by Tricky
Posted

Look I dont care about the blazers but as Jon Ralph said its typical melbourne. Us fans cop enough stereotyping and this just adds to it.

Id rather they focus on getting another sponser.

Also round 1 in a few few weeks and I d not want to see bugle boy there. Im sick of getting crap about that as well.

Posted

Look I dont care about the blazers but as Jon Ralph said its typical melbourne. Us fans cop enough stereotyping and this just adds to it.

Also round 1 in a few few weeks and I d not want to see bugle boy there. Im sick of getting crap about that as well.

Harden up kid.

If the worse thing an opposition supporter has on you, is that you barrack for an elitist club, you're doing alright.

We should be proud of the fact that we are a club of educated snobs.

Beats being associated with this

859379-cats-fan.jpg

Posted

Harden up kid.

If the worse thing an opposition supporter has on you, is that you barrack for an elitist club, you're doing alright.

We should be proud of the fact that we are a club of educated snobs.

Beats being associated with this

859379-cats-fan.jpg

Hahaha!!

Beautifully put.

Go Dees.

Posted (edited)

Winning shuts all criticism dees189227

When we start winning you will quickly forget Blazers, Bugle boys, lost sponsors, Jon Ralph and smart arses on Demonland

Posted

Yeah I've done a 180 on this. I've gone from, damn, schoolboy look to, hell, yes, that is so Melbourne and stuff the rest. I want one. And a Melbourne flat cap and driving gloves to go with it. A supporters one. I'd wear it all the bloody time...

Posted

Sure the guy looks like a bogan but at least he has seen his team play finals and win premierships.

I know once we start winning people will lay off us, but Im tired of Jack Watts copping it all the time and no one respects us because we havent done anything great on the field in the past few seasons. I just hope that we have a great season and shut people up.

Posted

Sure the guy looks like a bogan but at least he has seen his team play finals and win premierships.

I know once we start winning people will lay off us, but Im tired of Jack Watts copping it all the time and no one respects us because we havent done anything great on the field in the past few seasons. I just hope that we have a great season and shut people up.

No arguement from me

You are suffering the Dee Blues

Have you caught onto single malt yet?

It makes a hell of a difference

• 6 years later...

Posted
On 3/1/2012 at 2:11 PM, hardtack said:

I don't mind it... could give the players more of a sense of "belonging" to a club and its traditions.

It would provide a sense of 'belonging' indeed; it would set a benchmark for the players to wear it, these days. Intellectually and perhaps, psychologically, it might mean a great deal more to be amongst a group of blazer co-wearers, where the benchmark is transferred into a culture of identity, pride, carriage, etc. etc. However, just wearing the tie achieves most of those types of sentiments, surely. 

Posted

They’ve been trying to clean out the last few remaining blazers in the mid-year Demon Auction for the last few years...

Posted
21 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

They’ve been trying to clean out the last few remaining blazers in the mid-year Demon Auction for the last few years...

I say hold on to them to use in cases of cruel and unusual punishment of non performing/bellend players.

Posted
10 hours ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

I say hold on to them to use in cases of cruel and unusual punishment of non performing/bellend players.

I say burn the bloody things then all remnants of that sorry period can be forever removed.

They must  have been the singly the worst idea the MFC had this century.

Posted

"I'm going out (out) in a Blazer Glory"

anyone else bust out some Bon Jovi when they see this tread title?