What better scape goat than a pick 4 who is scared of second efforts.

unashamed hyperbole.

As has been said a million times now, his draft position is irrelevant.

Maybe to you mate....

He's got you there Nasher.

????

Nasher is right.

Atm the only people that want to make an issue of his draft pick position are those that rejoice in flogging Morton at every post.

The only issue I have with Morton is producing to a standard that is at least acceptable to Neeld. I reckon he could be better than that and play better than he has in 2010-11.

If you really want to make an issue over draft numbers (even though its irrelevant), try Sylvia as pick no 3 in 2003. Sylvia will be up for MFC life membership at the end of 2013 and there will still be posters talking about Sylvia's potential... :unsure:

Sorry Rhino, I was responding to NSC's well constructed and irrefutable argument.

Brad Miller apparently had so much potential as well.

As for Sylvia, when i see Morton run out of the midfield and kick three in a row then your point will have substance.

When did Bail or Jordie last shut down a player?

And unfortunately for McKenzie, he is no longer a "rich man's Mitch Robinson".

Far from it.

Wow you are a genius aren't you. Try Ryan Griffen last weekend.

As for Sylvia, when i see Morton run out of the midfield and kick three in a row then your point will have substance.

If you are happy with that cameo then its pizzlow benchmark for Sylvia but it evidences my point about the relevance and use of the draft pick number smokescreen.

Wow you are a genius aren't you. Try Ryan Griffen last weekend.

I wouldn't say he shut him down, but each to their own, Einstein.

Biased I know, but the boy has lifted in his last two game. Main point is the kid layed 2 massive tackles on Mcevoy and dropped him, 5 tackles in total. Whilst he doesn't look much bigger, the kids core strength it really getting there. Bench bench and fly laterals improved by 22% from last years pre-season. Clearance work was great and looked hungry, KEEP it going SON!!!

Shouldn't you be in the post-match meeting, Cale? JK, he has continued to improve week in, week out this year, which I love to see. Continued improvement is what developing players is all about, and Morton sure needs a lot of development.

We love the bias Improving every game this year and starting to look like he thinks he deserves to be there.

I'm pretty disappointed with a lot of Dees fans openly booing and abusing Cale at the game. He may not be your fav player but he Is wearing a red & blue jumper. I'm not huge fan either but he had 22 disposals 5 tackles & 5 In50's, was far from our worst and I think has been getting better each game this year apart from a couple of turnovers. I thought Essendon fans were a pack of pricks last year for openly booing Stanton whenever he touched It. I'd like to think we're better than that.

Just before someone states he got all his ball on the outside - 9 contested possessions.

Very good tonight.

Kept the "bang your head again the wall" crap disposals to a minimum too. Much smarter use of the ball and ran hard all game.

He has heaps of potential, just needs for it all to click.

Improving every week, still hangs onto it a bit too long sometimes but hes getting better...

I swear he has gotten bigger.

Looks taller, but the same size as Joel Macdonald now.

Give the kid time, and he'll repay our faith.

The best game i have seen Cale play i reckon, loved his effort and was dead unlucky twice (at critical times) not to be awarded frees after terrific tackles.

Yep, good game. His last kick out deep in the fourth quarter had real intent, tried to take the game on. Liked it and hope it becomes the norm. I don't fear skilled stadium next week. We'll lose, but if we play like tonight, there'll be no humiliation.

A good game by Cale tonight . Kicked with real penetration at times .

22 possessions with 9 of them contested was a good return .

Very encouraged by some of his 2nd and 3rd efforts as well .

Good post. You don't boo your own. I recall at a Carlton game years ago many years ago fans booing Ange Christou and even Kouta and both had great careers with them and those same fans would then kiss their arses. Typical Carlton. We don't need to behave like them.

I hope Cale continues to improve and becomes a consistently good footballer for us. A bit more strength and who knows.

When did Bail or Jordie last shut down a player?

And unfortunately for McKenzie, he is no longer a "rich man's Mitch Robinson".

Far from it.

I think both proved they could tonight, esp Jordie!!

Plus Morton is starting to show some positive signs

The thing that I liked most about his game last night was where he got his touches, right in the heat of the battle and he definitely looks [censored] across the chest. A couple of times last night Ihad to take a double take because I couldn't believe my own eyes that he could win the contested footy like that.

I've previously written him off and stated that anything he produces will be a bonus, I fear (in a good way) that he's going to make me look like a bit of a goose.

I think both proved they could tonight, esp Jordie!!

Plus Morton is starting to show some positive signs

Yep, was very happy with Jordie's performance!

Acquitted himself well.

I still think he's fallen behind Robinson though.