Posted

Sweet!

Got alot of love for that man.

Posted

Very upbeat and positive. He was adamant that the Dees would play finals in 2012, no matter what the draw dished up. He said that we could beat Weagles on Sunday. Spoke very positively about the players in general... de-fused any rift between him and CC, heaping praise on Connolly for the spruiking job he did for the first two years of the Bailey tenure. Was very respectful when mentioning Garry, and put the tanking rumours down to his view that development meant playing players in several positions... ie Ricky as a mid. Still talked of the Demons as "we"

Posted (edited)

Very upbeat and positive. He was adamant that the Dees would play finals in 2012, no matter what the draw dished up. He said that we could beat Weagles on Sunday. Spoke very positively about the players in general... de-fused any rift between him and CC, heaping praise on Connolly for the spruiking job he did for the first two years of the Bailey tenure. Was very respectful when mentioning Garry, and put the tanking rumours down to his view that development meant playing players in several positions... ie Ricky as a mid. Still talked of the Demons as "we"

I like this. He's all class.

DB for our footy director anyone?

Edited by BattlerBailey

Posted

Does he have Football Director in mind....? Very crazy I know very crazy but.. Didn't Neil Craig want to start working again but the crows said no you need a holiday.

I think a club that gets him helping out the football department could do a lot worse he seems to be a very good communicator and well respected by the players. Perhaps he was too stubborn.

Posted

From an outsider looking in, DB appears to be a top-class genuinely good bloke.

Footy director? I don't think it's such a good idea. But I'd rather we still had him as coach.

Posted (edited)

Quality Man Dean Bailey...Has not been bitter at all.

Good on ya Dean...Buy you a beer one day.

Not to question his general integrity, but his final interview was not as squeaky clean as it could have been because he was pained and naturally angry and he let it leak out to the clubs detriment...tanking.

Edited by Harrisonrules
Posted

The parting seems to be amicable. Let's leave it at that.

Posted

Not to question his general integrity, but his final interview was not as squeaky clean as it could have been because he was pained and naturally angry and he let it leak out to the clubs detriment...tanking.

No He answered a Mark Robinson Question. If he had not answered it would have been worse.

Posted

Good bloke does not equal good coach.

I didn't say he was a bad, good or indifferent coach. I think it was too early to tell, and he should have been given more opportunity to prove his wares.

Posted

:blink:

Good bloke does not equal good coach.

Good coach is subjective and some opinions deserve better moderation than others. He was a great devlopment coach.

Posted

From an outsider looking in, DB appears to be a top-class genuinely good bloke.

Footy director? I don't think it's such a good idea. But I'd rather we still had him as coach.

he was no good as a coach, to much of a buddy to the players, there has to be some sort of respect from the players and they must think of the coach as their boss and not their mate.

Posted

If an e25 was training particularly hard and met all of the required metrics but could not structure up, and Bailey could not pencil him in, would that mean Bailey was a bad coach?

I think the above may have been Baileys problem.

Posted

Good coach is subjective and some opinions deserve better moderation than others. He was a great devlopment coach.

I always saw him as such.

The sad thing about such a position, is that it is rare to find the "right time" to move on from the job. It was unfortunate, events forced a less than positive outcome, because he could have continued to make a contribution to the team he was instrumental in establishing, to take us to glory.

Posted

Bailey's all class.

We should make him coach.

Maybe football Manager

Posted

I love all this talk about im being a "great development coach". Unless you are watching different games than me, I would put it to you that our development has gone backwards, not forwards. Some players have thrived, but many have gone backwards, and more importantly "the team" has gone to [censored].

Posted

I love all this talk about im being a "great development coach". Unless you are watching different games than me, I would put it to you that our development has gone backwards, not forwards. Some players have thrived, but many have gone backwards, and more importantly "the team" has gone to [censored].

Agree Kento80 actions speak louder than words

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.