Players who didn't live up to expectations

Thomo, was that pre-'98 or post-'98 season ?*

* Tingay came back in '98 after a troublesome 1997 season and played a consistent amount of games after a late start (15 games IIRC) leading into the '98 finals series and contributing very well - even though it wasn't near he's vintage '93-'94 form, clearly his best two seasons.

We had the opportunity to swap Kowal for Wirrapunda when Freo arrived. Balme kept the soft midget and Wirrapunda went on to become one of the best backmen in the game

Michael Young - Carlton Premiership player

Michael Seddon

Xavier Tanner - North Premiership player

Peter Johnston

Michael Reynolds

Michael O'Sullivan

Earl Spalding

Craig Turley - West Coast Premiership player

Troy Longmuir

Brent Heaver - 5 goals on debut against Carlton

Chris Heffernan - Essendon Premiership player

Craig Ellis

Tony Campbell

I've probably strayed from the OP's "potential star" category, but nearly all of the above at one point had quite high expectations, either through recruitment to the club as a senior player from another club, or as youngsters that showed a lot.

You could add Chris Connolly who was severely curtailed by injury.

Many others have already been mentioned.

Thomo, was that pre-'98 or post-'98 season ?*

* Tingay came back in '98 after a troublesome 1997 season and played alot of games (15 IIRC) leading into the '98 finals series and contributing very well - even though it wasn't near he's vintage '93-'94 form, clearly his best two seasons.

The first year of our alignment with Sandringham was 2000 so it must have been post '98.

Cheers WJ.

Thanks Maurie, that's half my research in there :) . Really interesting and informative interview there about a real enigma of the club.

Wow. Just 11 games with us. I thought it was more (than 11)...6 children !

Thanks,

Might have been his last year at the Dees. There was a lot of hype leading up to the game, made the news, that Tingay was back and over his problems. The whole senior team turned out to see him. Even they seemed suprised when he left without speaking to them (heard White asking Neitz where he was)

Phil Gilbert - Hard nosed defender however his football skills where non existant.

Both very poor draft choices in the late 80's/ early 90's

Gilbert never hurt us.

We swapped him to Freo for Farmer. GOLD

Paul Prymke's career was ruined by a serious back injury.

Jeff Hilton was a C grader

And Greg Doyle as well?? I didnt have high expectations on a shortish VFA ruckman making it.

Vin Catoggio - another of those blokes who looked good in a good team. I would have had my avatar's namesake over him every time!!

* Tingay came back in '98 after a troublesome 1997 season and played a consistent amount of games after a late start (15 games IIRC) leading into the '98 finals series and contributing very well - even though it wasn't near he's vintage '93-'94 form, clearly his best two seasons.

Tingay was outstanding in 1994 and 1998 and it was no coincidence we made the finals in those years and Stinga was an important cog in that. I saw him do rehab training during his injured years and if there was a guy that worked at his fitness to get back to top line footy it was Stinger.

The list is long and there have been many. And it all started with Diamond Jim Tilbrook for me.

Tilbrook

Ditterich

Templeton

Crosswell

Ger Healy

Warren Dean

Luke Molan

Nick Smith

Scott Thompson

Trav Johnstone

Brock McLean

....for starters

Its hard call on Cuthbertson. He was no star on arrival. He debuted in the No 48 guernsey after some good games in the ressie. Starred early where he used his one or two tricks well but got found out at VFL/AFL level and withered away. Full credit for his early games.

Good list

David Schwarz (injury)

Tony Elshaugh (so so soft)

Steven Armstrong

Jakovich

Stephen Strech (post 88)

Tingay was outstanding in 1994 and 1998 and it was no coincidence we made the finals in those years and Stinga was an important cog in that. I saw him do rehab training during his injured years and if there was a guy that worked at his fitness to get back to top line footy it was Stinger.

Yeah, I was always under the impression, he had a terrific work ethic to get the best out of himself; a terrific attitude to training & rehab in order to get back.

I was going to say that this is a pretty ordinary thread but stopped to say that...

Roger Ellingworth left Melbourne to go to Hawthorn.

I would have been pretty surprised if he got a game. Not many I would think!

The all time shooting bambi for me was Kelvin Templeton. Say it aint so Joe.

Talk about being sold a pup!

considering the amount of coin we paid. Kelvin Templeton. Shocking decision as he was finished before he even played for us.

The earlier call on Carl Ditteritch was a bit harsh. i reckon Carl did pretty well in both his melbourne stints. The team back then was pretty ordinary, it wasn't all big Carl's fault.

No idea how this guy failed to get a mention .. GARY MOORCROFT .. so putrid

Wayne Gordon, Vin Cattogio, Paul Hirst, David Young, Glenn Elliot, Phil Egan, Paul Goss, ... There are heaps more!

No idea how this guy failed to get a mention .. GARY MOORCROFT .. so putrid

That was diabolical.

Who in their right mind supported that signing??!

That was diabolical.

Who in their right mind supported that signing??!

Phil Read ?

Michael Pickering ?

I wonder if Jack Watts will get a nomination on this list down the track.

ahhh good old demonland, thought everyone was past this crap

Wayne Gordon, Vin Cattogio, Paul Hirst, David Young, Glenn Elliot, Phil Egan, Paul Goss, ... There are heaps more!

Henry Coles??? B)

Leigh & Michael Newton- both seemed to have the ability- but unfortunately did not produce when needed..Michael may still surprise us.I here Leigh is with the Hawks- ruch coach.

Leigh Newton was going to be THE answer at CHF after his great debut - unfortunately I think it was OP that killed his career and our pleasure.

Michael Newton sadly just doesn't have the ticker.

Good list

David Schwarz (injury)

Tony Elshaugh (so so soft)

Steven Armstrong

Jakovich

Stephen Strech (post 88)

Tony Campbell

Too late. Already nominated.

Russell Richards .

Tore the Dawks apart at Princess Park when they were at the top of their game to earn the nickname Rhino.

Built like a tank and quick . Never fired another shot .

Has Martin Pike got a guernsey yet ?