View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (â‹®) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Daniel Motlop

Posted

Not sure if there has been a thread on Motlop. Just wondering what everyone's thoughts were on picking him up? Will be 29 next year, so could possible provide us with 3 to 4 years of service (atleast) due to the fact his played most of his footy as a permanent forward. I think he would mix in well with our forward line, but the quesiton is would pick 32 be to much to offer bearing in mind our current position.

Edited by grimes4

We do not need anymore crumbing forwards. Petterd, Wonna, Jurrah, alongside Green and Watts. The ideal player we need is a tall that can slot down forward and take a grab like Jamar. That way, the likes of Jurrah and Wonna don't need to go up for the mark, and they crumb. Another crumbing forward would clog up the forward line.

I think we had his brother 4/5 years back whom went ok- don't want this one- would not get a game in our team as it stands IMO..

would not get a game in our team as it stands IMO..

Wouldnt get a game???????

His best is up there with the very best players, his consistancy is a worry.

I dont wont him and we wont go after him, but he would get a game at ANY club no worries

Wouldnt get a game???????

His best is up there with the very best players, his consistancy is a worry.

I dont wont him and we wont go after him, but he would get a game at ANY club no worries

Agree.

He's better than Wonaeamirri, his best is better than Petterd's best (though I'd prefer Petterd) and he has the skills to match Jurrah.

He'd get a game in most teams.

Do not want though.

Amazing that you could get him on the cheap these days. One of the most talented players in the AFL. I'd take him for a late draft pick. Only prob is the guy has too many issues to be an AFL footballer anymore.

Agree.

He's better than Wonaeamirri, his best is better than Petterd's best (though I'd prefer Petterd) and he has the skills to match Jurrah.

Do not want though.

Harlem globetrotters, thats where he belongs.

I think we had his brother 4/5 years back whom went ok- don't want this one- would not get a game in our team as it stands IMO..

You're setting the bar pretty low if you think Shannon Motlop "went ok". He played a handful of good games but was mostly either rubbish, or playing in the VFL.

Not interested in Daniel either. Fantastic player at his best, but I get the feeling the headache of having him would outweigh the on-field benefit. No d-head rule anyone?

He want's to go home to WA anyway. But it would be no if wanted to come the the way.

Edit: wants not wasn't - I was thinking he wasn't coming to Vic.

Edited by Darkhorse72

He wasn't to go home to WA anyway. But it would be no if wanted to come the the way.

:huh: He wants to be with Thee... :o

Shannon was a punt following the tragic death of Troy Broadridge but was a failure.

Daniel is highly talented, lazy and poor defensively, temperamental and high maintenance off the ground.

At 29, surely there are better options for MFC.

Melbourne were after Hale because he could create a contest deep in our forward 50, bring the ball to ground and let our small crumbing forwards to the goal snapping.

i.e Petterd, Wonna, Jurrah, Bennell, etc

We do not need another small forward

/end

Motlop can flat out play, but he does not fit our plan.

Agree.

Do not want though.

i agreee that his better than Wona and petterd so thats why I reckon if we could get him cheapily it would be worth the punt. Imagine Jurrah,Green,Motlop,Watts,Petterd and Wona down there together. All capable of kicking a bag on their given day

Shannon was a punt following the tragic death of Troy Broadridge but was a failure.

Daniel is highly talented, lazy and poor defensively, temperamental and high maintenance off the ground.

At 29, surely there are better options for MFC.

Wasn't even a punt. The AFL gave us a list of "replacements" due to the circumstances, and Shannon was the best of a bad lot.

Daniel is a freak, his consistency is a concern. At best he is unstoppable, but we don't get to see it that often.