The Born Again Demons

If our "Profit" can take us to the promise land more than once (we want 2 flags from this rebuild!) then he very well may go down as the greatest demon of all time.

Solid Article.

Great recap of the transformation and revival of the Melbourne Football Club.

Is their any un-named stands at the MCG? Maybe one named after Jimmy??

Excellent article...... and for me, the best bit of all is this quote from Jimmy the fourth last para 'The key ingredient is that we are a club'. It has been a magnificent transformation in such a short space of time. I'm so proud to be a Melbourne supporter

Nice front page of sports section if you actually purchase The Age today.

Martin Flanagan also contributes an article to the double page spread. Love reading him.

Edited by Demon Jack 16

All warm and fuzzy !! :) Theres a chnage in how the rest of footy world is seeing us know. even a mate ( Filth ) commented "it's great to see you guys back up and running"......" been a while in the wilderness hasnt it !!" And it certainly was.

Agree Deeoldfart....we ARE a club...not just a team !! :)

It's fantastic to be getting positive press. Three years ago the only news about Melbourne was about our precarious future, or the obligatory few lines about team selections on the fourth page of the sports section. I'm loving being newsworthy for all the right reasons.

At the risk of muddying metaphors..

and the Phoenix arose in the form of a Demon !!

Again noting that we grew from a ground and as such so represented the classic Saturday arvo Melburnian past-time, this to I would love see as a hallmark of our club. Love to see us play more games on the Sat arvo ...even if this doesnt sit in amongst the great scheme of Anderson-Demetriou.

That aside I think there is genuine applause from the greater footy family happy that such an icon of the game is finding new favour and success.

I dont actually know anyone who hates Melbourne.. ( can lose count of those who show this towards Collingwood Carlton...even Essendon )

We are quite different in this league

Great article.

Bub, they'll hate us when we win premierships.

Great article.

Bub, they'll hate us when we win premierships.

Im ready for that...I can live with such animosity !! :)

A very warm glow ran through my vains.A very proud gleam came across my brough as I read thease two stories. The club is definately marching forward side by side as our team is doing the same

GO DEES

Sometimes I wonder if people would rather be loved.

I had an interesting chat yesterday with a lawyer who is representing me on a matter. He admitted to being a passionate Collingwood supporter (as are several generations of his family, plus ALL his friends). He flies from the GC to Melb for most of Collingwood's games. Passionate.

I told him my life long love affair with the MFC, and how I had three good reasons for it -- My Dad followed Melb, and both my sisters followed Collingwood. Also told him there's two things that make me happy. One is Melb winning. The other is Collingwood losing. And, that when they happen in the same match, I'm in raptures.

In spite of that, he had complimenatry things to say about Melb, and agrees we are a team on the rise. He even conceded Melb should have beaten Collinwood both times this year.

Not bad from a passionate supporter of the enemy! (Mind you, given the size of the fee I was paying him, I guess he could afford to be patronising! LOL)

Some of my non-MFC mates have already started turn against us, and I couldn't be happier. It shows we are to be feared again.

One Sydney supporting mate ripped into me the night after the Swans game, accusing me of being a bandwagon supporter. This is despite me owning the most expensive membership I can afford, plus one for a family member, and me attending nearly every Demons game in Melbourne in both our spoon years.

I've had the years of pity from mates, I've had the years of the tanking BS. I am glad they hate us again, and will do more with every win.

Great recap of the transformation and revival of the Melbourne Football Club.

Is their any un-named stands at the MCG? Maybe one named after Jimmy??

The next one to be Built!

I just hope with all the positive press we've been getting lately that we can live up to the expectations. :huh:

Not bad from a passionate supporter of the enemy! (Mind you, given the size of the fee I was paying him, I guess he could afford to be patronising! LOL)

I hope you weren't being charged by the minute for thr football banter, Vagg.

Articles are capped off brilliantly by the art work on the sport section's front page.

Best damn looking demon seen in decades!

The main point that most supporters have been insulated from is just how close we came to going out of business altogether. Acknowledging that fact puts the achievements of Jimmy, his Board and Schwabby into sharp focus and perspective.

best article I have ever read from Jake Niall, really makes you feel about the club.

This is easily the best sponsorship (media wise) for the dees

Hats off to cuddles for putting the club ahead of getting some folk bent out of shape . Takes balls . Were very lucky to have so many professionals who are died in the wool Demons

Some of my non-MFC mates have already started turn against us, and I couldn't be happier. It shows we are to be feared again.

One Sydney supporting mate ripped into me the night after the Swans game, accusing me of being a bandwagon supporter. This is despite me owning the most expensive membership I can afford, plus one for a family member, and me attending nearly every Demons game in Melbourne in both our spoon years.

I've had the years of pity from mates, I've had the years of the tanking BS. I am glad they hate us again, and will do more with every win.

I could not agree more "deefiance" I have had a gut full of the "pity" I cannot wait till they hate us for all our success!

I reckon the Demon cartoon on the front of todays sporting Age today is excellent. Having a Demon as a logo has always been a problem, unlike a magpie or a lion who knows what a metaphysical mascot looks like. Still a lot of people over the centuries have had a stab at it and interpretations have been many and varied. But todays Age one is an absolute beauty.