The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

The tide

Jaded No More

Posted

I know we only beat the worst team going around, and I know we are not very good as of yet, but the tide seems to be turning and this is the first time in my life that I have real confidence that we are going to see a premiership team in the near future.

It's a beautiful time to be a Melbourne supporter, and I hope my fellow supporters really enjoy and embrace this ride, no matter how many bumps we hit along the way, because we ARE coming.

GO DEES!!!

Posted

The tide turned after Round 2 IMO. That showed me that we have the talent, passion and endeavour to go all the way.

Next week will be a much better guide though. Nothing like coming up against an undefeated team with Brown and Fevola in the forward line.

Posted

and I know we are not very good as of yet,

GO DEES!!!

I know what you mean, but i don't think we are that bad- it depends how much faith the players have in themselves, you can hear the change in the crowd as well.

Next Saturday night i expect a big MFC Crowd. B)

Posted

The tide turned after Round 2 IMO. That showed me that we have the talent, passion and endeavour to go all the way.

Next week will be a much better guide though. Nothing like coming up against an undefeated team with Brown and Fevola in the forward line.

For me the real turning point was today, because Melbourne of old would have turned up expecting to win, lost their shite after the Tigers kicked 2 goals to open the game, and probably dragged themselves across the line by a couple of goals.

To see us methodically destroy them was arrogant, it was brutal and it was absolutely awesome.

We'll lose next week to Brisbane, I don't doubt that, but that won't matter one little bit. We are on the right track, for the first time in my life as a Melbourne supporter.

Posted

We'll lose next week to Brisbane, I don't doubt that, but that won't matter one little bit.

Don't count us out just yet.

Brown and Fevola could maybe possibly get injured...

Seriously, if Frawley and Warnock do their jobs, and the other members of the defence get back to help them out, then I reckon we'll do OK.

But as you say, provided we don't get a Round 1 repeat, there won't be any shame in losing.

Edit: Brisbane have so far kicked 61 goals, of which Brown and Fevola have kicked 32 (that's 52%).

Posted

Brown and Fev are kicking heaps of goals because of the amazing amount of inside 50's Brisbane are creating...Stop their run from the back and we are in for a big show...

Posted

Joel MacDonald will now look forward to Saturday night.

If our defence plays mean & tight we could give the Paddle Pop Lions a real run.

Our midfield can play, and with Sylvia back in-We have a real Target-No injuries today is a great Result.

Posted

It is looking good at Melbourne right now. We still have some players to come back into the side, not to mention a few high picks that have not had a go yet.

Respect has to be earned, and this club is putting its case forward in 2010.

Posted

Equally Trav will want to turn it on, on his once home ground. He may have had a somewhat quiet start to the season but his stats over 4 quarters against the Bullies looked pretty good.

As a side note. I was sitting by myself in the upper tier of the Ponsford today. Sitting alongside me was an articulate, passionate (dare I say attractive) female Demons member draped in the 2010 scarf. Boy, did she know her stuff. Good calls all day and really revved the boys up at each play, positive or negative.

Don't use this line.

'You're not Jaded by any chance?.

Posted

Equally Trav will want to turn it on, on his once home ground. He may have had a somewhat quiet start to the season but his stats over 4 quarters against the Bullies looked pretty good.

As a side note. I was sitting by myself in the upper tier of the Ponsford today. Sitting alongside me was an articulate, passionate (dare I say attractive) female Demons member draped in the 2010 scarf. Boy, did she know her stuff. Good calls all day and really revved the boys up at each play, positive or negative.

Don't use this line.

'You're not Jaded by any chance?.

:o

I am a feral monster at the football, and probably make shocking, angry, uneducated calls in the heat of the battle. And I would never sit in the upper tier of the G.

Posted

I think we might momentarily take a step back when Junior retires.

He is a brilliant leader in the midfield and if the All Australian side was picked today he'd have to be in it.

Guest watts04
Posted

Tide will get better once Jurrah, Morton, Aussie, Rivers, Blease, Watts, Strauss etc play in this team

Go Dees!!

Alot fo love with Jimmy, new training facilities, debt reduction, good youngsters etc

Club is going north, just another 1 - 2 years of patience and we will be close

Posted

I heard Damien Hardwick's press conference after today's game and the one quote he said that really stood out for me was "don't be fooled by these guys(melbourne), they are a very good side"

Posted

The tide is turning. Ahh, what a fitting metaphor for this club of demons which we all love.

Tide started turning when we appointed the crafty tactician Mr Bailey and he methodically and ruthlessly went about pillaging our list and drafting for the needs of todays fast paced, highly skilled, tough game. I will never take for granted the gift that Dean Bailey bestowed upon us in 2009- although somewhat fortuitist make no mistake, the young blood we have at the club is what is going to win us a flag, that is all that matters, and Dean Bailey has enabled us this opportunity. This man is a GOD in my eyes... anyway, I digress..

Was chattin with my mate at the footy today. We both marvelled at the fact that we were actually expecting a win and a defeat never even crossed our mind. We both tried to recall the last time we could afford this kind of optimism and we truly couldn’t remember- much like after the game we were kind of laughing that we were on a ‘roll’ and have won 2 on the trot.. we also tried to remember the last time that had happened... also to no avail...:)

From the outside looking in, it seems the bar has been risen. Greater efforts are being made, players are becoming more accountable. All of a sudden it looks like we have a few players out there.. players who are playing with synchronicity, playing towards the same goals- all of a sudden we have a team, and a young, skilful, potentially incredible team at that, and it is [censored] AWESOME!!!