INTRACLUB DISASTERS FOR BLUES & BOMBERS

Posted

Apparently at Carltons intra-club match this morning Setanta O'hAilpin king hit Cameron Cloke and then kicked him while he was on the ground in an incident Carlton coach Brett Ratten described as a "low act".

At the Essendon intra-club practise game, Andrew Welsh broke his ankle in a sickening incident that is being compared to a 'Nathan Brown style' break. Welsh was rushed to hospital with his season looking in doubt.

And I'm still wondering how far across the white line Ben Cousins went in his.

Certainly horrible what happened to Welsh, I wish him a speedy recovery.

With the O'Hailpin one, it is an oddity but essentially these games are the first hit outs of the summer, the first for over 5 months. With guys jostling for position in the club and attempting to set a name for themselves, you can see how this sort of thing could happen.

It'd be tough to imagine him being sacked for it

i hope this doesnt happen at melbourne. this is why a worry when i keep hearing about newton getting heated at training.

Yeah I said that same thing in another post it does worry me

"As the intra-club match was being officiated by AFL umpires, O'hAilpin could be reported for the incident."

Something to keep in mind.

"As the intra-club match was being officiated by AFL umpires, O'hAilpin could be reported for the incident."

Something to keep in mind.

Shame he probably won't be around to be suspended as his contract should be torn up.

Yeah.. we'll see either way. Thinking more about stupid little things (like the over-the-top craze a few years back on tripping) that could come out of nowhere to bite us at next weeks intra-club.

In the words of Homer "It's funny because it's not me!!" (or my club).

I think he is gone. His teamates won't put up with that sort of thing.

the classic bit is that setanta was a hurling player in ireland.

why the hell would draft someone from a code on the other side of the world where they dont even kick a ball.

brilliant.

O Hailpin suspended indefinately to have no contact with the carlton football club for an indefinite period of time

Send him back home in Dick Pratt's private jet!

watch the footage, looks like he kicks him in the balls, I wouldn't be suprised if he is sacked for it.

http://player.video.news.com.au/heraldsun/...KZrItj9T_fVA8oU

Just saw it on the news, and yes, he does. First he knocks Cloke out with a big left, then kicks him in the balls... f*ckin funniest thing i've seen in a while. I'd be lying if i said i didn't burst out into the biggest laughing fit i've had for months... Ohhh, that's entertainment!

not entertainment, KARMA - about TIME for that cheating bunch of scumbags! Just about the funniest thing I have ever seen!

Woulda been funnier if it had been Juddy (or Robbie Warnock to a lesser extent) on the receiving end.

Didn't kick him hard enough IMHO

Woulda been funnier if it had been Juddy (or Robbie Warnock to a lesser extent) on the receiving end.

OR CJ??? We don't want to go there again though do we?

Karma - Hinduism & Buddhism. The total effect of a person's actions and conduct during the successive phases of the person's existence, regarded as determining the person's destiny.

To quote the castle - Suffer in you jock's!

from the carltank forum:

"According to the latest Talking Training thread, he is training the house down."

The report must have come from the kick-boxing session

Wow. He's gotta go. that was terrible! what a brain fade.

As for Welsh, im starting to feel pretty sympathetic to Essendon. I was browsing Bomber blitz last night and heard that they only had 27 players capable of playing in the intra-club match as it was. If you look at the footage on the Herald sun, you will see that the ground that they are playing on is completley brown. no fresh grass.

I am sure the coaching staff would describe it as getting in a contested punch and followed up with a hard second effort.

Poor old Carlton. Just when they're feeling happy and optimistic about 2009, o'Hailpin socks Cloke in the mouth, and kicks him in the tender area while he's on the ground.....in an intraclub practice match!!!

There are two possible explanations. Either o'H. is a psycho, or Cloke did something inexcusable for which he tried to gain retribution.(I remember trying to defend a team-mate (and unsuccessfully seeking retribution) in a social footy match after the opposition ruckman punched him twice in the nose. I later found that our guy(my team-mate), had been kicking the other bloke in the groin every time they went up in the ruck. He was warned...."if you do that again, I'll smash your face in" He did it again. I was unaware of the preamble.... I just saw my team-mate getting what looked like unprovoked right jabs to the face). I wonder if something like that happened today.

Whatever the outcome, I hope it causes disruption amongst the gang of disreputable cheats.

I suppose another way of looking at it is to note that their intraclub practice match was pretty "fair dinkum!".

I heard discussions today that cloke and santa have been at each other for some time, not just today. I think the AFL might actually step in here. Not so much for the punch but kicking a bloke while is out for the count is a dog of a low act. That is placing the game into disrepute. I saw a similar thing happen 20 years ago in a Federal league match, Clayton v someone and a player who kicked a bloke when he was on the ground out cold was marched off the ground by an off duty cop!

On a side note Carazzo has a broken forearm and will miss 6 to 7 weeks. That will certainly stuff his fitness up til mid year Id reckon

Thanks carltank for taking our woes out of the media spotlight for a few days. Couldnt happen to nicer bunch!