View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Jack Billingโ€™s on trade radio now. interestingly he and Tom Morris seem to be good mates from when Jack was drafted to Saints as Tom worked there then.

Couple of criticisms about his time at Melbourne. Probably deservingly so.

One was development of young talent and the other that he got little or no feedback about what he was doing wrong or needed to do to get back in team or in his exit meeting.

ย 
4 minutes ago, Colm said:

Jack Billingโ€™s on trade radio now. interestingly he and Tom Morris seem to be good mates from when Jack was drafted to Saints as Tom worked there then.

One was development of young talent and the other that he got little or no feedback about what he was doing wrong or needed to do to get back in team or in his exit meeting.

If he couldn't work out that running into open goals and missing goals from 5 metres out was the most likely reason, he must be fairly thick.

3 minutes ago, Colm said:

I think in time, we will all come to realise how our club was mismanaged at the board and at footy department level. We had a unreal playing list who managed to put all differences aside and win a flag.

We definitely had dynasty potential , but itโ€™s clear it wasnโ€™t the required environment to succeed. Iโ€™m not suggesting it was a complete train wreck, but Goody was in over his head IMV.

ย 

Itโ€™s actually a good listen. Maybe somebody can put up a link to it when itโ€™s over

1 minute ago, GS_1905 said:

I think in time, we will all come to realise how our club was mismanaged at the board and at footy department level. We had a unreal playing list who managed to put all differences aside and win a flag.

We definitely had dynasty potential , but itโ€™s clear it wasnโ€™t the required environment to succeed. Iโ€™m not suggesting it was a complete train wreck, but Goody was in over his head IMV.

Spargo critiques and then hearing what Billings says validates a lot of what us thought.

Goodwin was horrible with his transparency, especially fringe players.

Plus roles were way too rigid, we took the flare out of players. But then someone like Kozzie/ Petracca get to run around without a care in the world.

I look forward to King releasing the shackles on an obviously hampered team.

We got plenty of talent, see how they look when allowed to play with freedom.

1 hour ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

Spargo critiques and then hearing what Billings says validates a lot of what us thought.

Goodwin was horrible with his transparency, especially fringe players.

Plus roles were way too rigid, we took the flare out of players. But then someone like Kozzie/ Petracca get to run around without a care in the world.

I look forward to King releasing the shackles on an obviously hampered team.

We got plenty of talent, see how they look when allowed to play with freedom.

You might be right. But it's also possible that Spargo and Billings are telling a story they wish to believe about themselves because that's easier than confronting the truth which was that neither was quite good enough.

24 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

You might be right. But it's also possible that Spargo and Billings are telling a story they wish to believe about themselves because that's easier than confronting the truth which was that neither was quite good enough.

Partly sure...I get the feeling they are both telling their truth, about their time and experience at MFC though.

We should see a lot more skill and excitement in our game next year.

Imo we have been effectively racing with blinkers on.

Our whole list would be excited, and a bit nervous...on edge....good for football clubs, good for supporters.

We got no idea how we are going to go next year...reckon we are in for a fun ride!

• Author

Todayโ€™s action

โ€ข Sam Flanders has been traded to the Saints for Pick 7.ย ย 

โ€ข "So make of this what you will, Clayton Oliver no longer follows Melbourne Football Club on Instagram but he does follow GWS Giants." - Tom Morris

NOTE: An indication of Clarrieโ€™s maturity which probably explains it all.ย 

โ€ข โ€œThe expectation is the Oscar Allen move gets lodged today and lands West Coast pick No.2. Deven Robertson will also get his way to the Eagles at some stage.โ€ - Cal Twomey on West Coastโ€™s next moves.

โ€ข The three-club trade has been approved and is in the system . The Eagles received Brandon Starcevich plus picks 12, 33 and 52, with the Dockers getting picks 19, 23 and 46. The Lions receive picks 16, 22, 44 and 50.ย 

โ€ข Paperwork has also been lodged for the Judd McVee trade - pick 23 heading to Melbourne.ย 

โ€ข Starcevich has gone from the best team to the worst team. Heโ€™s only the fifth restricted free agent in 14 years to leave a club and join a team that finished in the bottom-six on the ladder.โ€ - Cal Twomeyย 

โ€ข in the afternoon, paperwork lodged for Oscar Allen's free agency move from West Coast to Brisbane with the Eagles handed Pick 2 as compensation.ย 

ย 
8 hours ago, Colm said:

Hmmmm. Not great.

8 hours ago, Colm said:

DAMNING ASSESMENT!

47 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

โ€ข Starcevich has gone from the best team to the worst team. Heโ€™s only the fifth restricted free agent in 14 years to leave a club and join a team that finished in the bottom-six on the ladder.โ€ - Cal Twomeyย 

Shannon Byrne one of them?

9 hours ago, Colm said:

Have we found the mole?

7 minutes ago, chookrat said:

Have we found the mole?

It certainly crossed my mind when I heard Morris introduce him. I guess we will never know. Hopefully we run a tighter ship from now on.

CC via Trade Radio:

• Negotiations on Petracca have begun

• Won't play out negotiations in public

• All options open, including players and picks but GC have been open on what players aren't available (read: Humphries)

• Open to extending the Petracca deal if it suits their payment structure and TPP requirements

• Confident under the GC that Petracca can return to his best, understand they won't be getting the 24 year-old Petracca though

Posted in the BH thread, but for completeness:

Craig Cameron on Humphries:

• Humphries has not stated either by himself, or by his manager, "in those words" that he wants to be traded. But, GC are not "naive".

• CC explicitly states that BH will not be traded but "the landscape is changing and we have to understand that the landscape is what it is ... but once a club is definitive with its answer, that's what needs to be accepted."

• CC ideally wished this scenario did not play out as it did and it was 'unusual' in the way its played out in the public eye.

• Hardwick's message to Bailey "we love you, you're still in a development phase and you have three years on a contract and we are not trading you."

• CC "he's 21 and impetuous and it's the way of the world that guys think they can get out when contracted and the grass may be greener, but it's not going to happen."

• GC will work through the awkwardness of the situation with Bailey and the return (at start of preseason) will not be an issue.

Oh my god- did I just hear that right??? The AFL have changed the rule on how many trade window you can go without using a first round draft pick- TO SUIT COLLINGWOOD WHO CAM NOW TRADE THEIR NEXT TWO FIRST ROUNDERS?!?!

WTF

59 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

Posted in the BH thread, but for completeness:

Craig Cameron on Humphries:

• Humphries has not stated either by himself, or by his manager, "in those words" that he wants to be traded. But, GC are not "naive".

• CC explicitly states that BH will not be traded but "the landscape is changing and we have to understand that the landscape is what it is ... but once a club is definitive with its answer, that's what needs to be accepted."

• CC ideally wished this scenario did not play out as it did and it was 'unusual' in the way its played out in the public eye.

• Hardwick's message to Bailey "we love you, you're still in a development phase and you have three years on a contract and we are not trading you."

• CC "he's 21 and impetuous and it's the way of the world that guys think they can get out when contracted and the grass may be greener, but it's not going to happen."

• GC will work through the awkwardness of the situation with Bailey and the return (at start of preseason) will not be an issue.

Disingenuity alert: Craig Cameron says about Bailey Humphrey, "it's the way of the world that guys think they can get out when contracted and the grass may be greener, but it's not going to happen" at the same time as they are pursuing Christian Petracca who is still contracted to Melbourne.

Edited by La Dee-vina Comedia
typo

40 minutes ago, Colm said:

Oh my god- did I just hear that right??? The AFL have changed the rule on how many trade window you can go without using a first round draft pick- TO SUIT COLLINGWOOD WHO CAM NOW TRADE THEIR NEXT TWO FIRST ROUNDERS?!?!

WTF

Unsure of the context this was spoken about mate, but this was in place long before the current trade period. All clubs can trade two years in advance, so conceptually you can move 2025, 2026 and 2027 picks this period.

3 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Disingenuity alert: Craig Cameron says about Bailey Humphries, "it's the way of the world that guys think they can get out when contracted and the grass may be greener, but it's not going to happen" at the same time as they are pursuing Christian Petracca who is still contracted to Melbourne.

Not really. We're open to trading Petracca and GC are holding firm on Humphries, I don't really think it's equatable nor can the view point being conflated.

Cameron also stated that players could ask the question, but ultimately a club was open to holding them. It was pretty balanced.

5 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

Unsure of the context this was spoken about mate, but this was in place long before the current trade period. All clubs can trade two years in advance, so conceptually you can move 2025, 2026 and 2027 picks this period.

Gday BLWNBA, yeah Iโ€™m aware that clubs can now trade future first for the next two years, thatโ€™s not what I was referring to.

Up until now all clubs have to use at least 2 first round draft picks every 4 years. The AFL have scraped that for this year to allow clubs( Collingwood was the only one mentioned that it will effect) to trade as though they have used their first rounders for the past few years!!!!

Disgusting as it certainly wonโ€™t affect teams on the bottom of the ladder.

Hope this explains what I meant a bit better.

2 minutes ago, Colm said:

Gday BLWNBA, yeah Iโ€™m aware that clubs can now trade future first for the next two years, thatโ€™s not what I was referring to.

Up until now all clubs have to use at least 2 first round draft picks every 4 years. The AFL have scraped that for this year to allow clubs( Collingwood was the only one mentioned that it will effect) to trade as though they have used their first rounders for the past few years!!!!

Disgusting as it certainly wonโ€™t affect teams on the bottom of the ladder.

Hope this explains what I meant a bit better.

Ah yep, just re-read your post and you're right, I didn't read it properly. My bad.

Answer remains the same unfortunately I didn't actually hear the discussion. But I would say that it probably removes some administrative burden on the AFL, given they had discretion to waive this requirement for clubs upon an application by a club seeking to trade away a first round pick despite not having used two in four. In fact, we benefited from this at least once in recent memory.

It gives more autonomy to clubs and I could be wrong, but I don't recall the AFL ever denying a dispensation request from a club to have this waived. Although, I could be wrong on that as I'm just going off memory.

4 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

Ah yep, just re-read your post and you're right, I didn't read it properly. My bad.

Answer remains the same unfortunately I didn't actually hear the discussion. But I would say that it probably removes some administrative burden on the AFL, given they had discretion to waive this requirement for clubs upon an application by a club seeking to trade away a first round pick despite not having used two in four. In fact, we benefited from this at least once in recent memory.

It gives more autonomy to clubs and I could be wrong, but I don't recall the AFL ever denying a dispensation request from a club to have this waived. Although, I could be wrong on that as I'm just going off memory.

So it was reported that itโ€™s a once off change to allow for Tassie coming in a couple of years but Collingwood was the only team mentioned( their could be others) that it will effect. So itโ€™s not relieve the administration burden I wouldnโ€™t think

Also I think your right about no club being refused a dispensation in the past( also just from memory) but that if the club in question can convince the AFL they are in a good place list wise to do so.

The rule was brought in to save clubs from themselves and always bring young talent through. Given the current age profile of Collingwood their are the very reason the rule was brought in.

ย 
On 08/10/2025 at 06:24, GS_1905 said:

Will say it again...Richardson oversaw the football depth. He seems to be bulletproof. Now it seems he is chasing an old mate in Hamil to be AC. Not sure if King needs Richardson in charge.

2 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Disingenuity alert: Craig Cameron says about Bailey Humphrey, "it's the way of the world that guys think they can get out when contracted and the grass may be greener, but it's not going to happen" at the same time as they are pursuing Christian Petracca who is still contracted to Melbourne.

Laughable what the clown is stating

They are actively perusing Trac and are disregarding exactly what they are saying LOL