View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

2 hours ago, Demonstone said:

Liverpool's manager would slot in nicely.

I feel like adversity brings out the best in you Demonstone, can always rely on you for some laughs.

Moving on assistants or having them out of contract helps if there is a new coach coming in. The new coach will want to bring their own team of assistants in with them, with a common game plan. Appoint a new coach, let assistants go and bring in the new team. I think there is a deadline in August where assistant coaches must be told if they will be re-employed or if they are to be let go.

4 hours ago, demonzz said:

Mates in SA can't believe we employ him at all.

Chaplin is a far better coach than he was a player

1 hour ago, At the break of Gawn said:

This really tempts me about Buckley. If you had to script a fairy tale flag, this would be the best story and it would [censored] off Collingwood people to no end. Just imagine him becoming a "Melbourne person" for life. Eddie wouldn't know what to do with himself!

1 hour ago, Superunknown said:

I’m unsure if we should get Buckley but if we do and he gets a flag with us it’ll totally be worth it to see the Filth contorted into squirming, squally rage.

49 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

I suppose it would be alright if Collingwood were the team we defeated in the GF. I could probably put up with that.

Imagine beating the Pies in the Grand Final.

23410d3bd7a3afbac8e3a241f7bd709b?impolic

1 hour ago, At the break of Gawn said:

This really tempts me about Buckley. If you had to script a fairy tale flag, this would be the best story and it would [censored] off Collingwood people to no end. Just imagine him becoming a "Melbourne person" for life. Eddie wouldn't know what to do with himself!

I know many Essendon followers don’t like that Neal Daniher is considered to be Melbourne person

So agree that Collingwood would be very unhappy poor souls

22 minutes ago, Older demon said:

Appoint a new coach, let assistants go and bring in the new team

I also like the idea of bringing in a coaching team. Collingwood did it with McRae, Leppitsch and Bolton.

Edited by lorn

FWIW, I don't really care who the new coach is. They'll be competent. Like Goodwin was. The change that's needed has to be elsewhere, from admin/governance to football department to playing list, and unless there's real change in those areas we're going to be just another Essendon or St Kilda.

Edited by bing181

4 hours ago, BDA said:

Neil Warnock

I'll see your Neil Warnock and raise you a Harry Redknapp.

So the call to a certain premiership coach who recently made a grand final was definitely made before Green called Goody on Monday night

The call is yet to be answered but belief in the industry is that he always wanted to keep coaching and wasn’t happy with the deal to replace him

Melb wanted to get ahead of the chasing pack

I see it’s worked as Carlton are having an emergency board meeting tonight

Melbourne have their eggs in more than one basket

1 hour ago, Brenno said:

Adam Simpson is the worst option IMO. Eagles may have won the flag in 2018 but watching them under Simmo was the blandest and most sleep inducing football I can recall.

His game style was also left in the dust a few years after the flag and the results post 2019 prove that.

YARN | Simpson, eh? | The Simpsons (1989) - S03E05 Comedy ...

Here we are 1.5 days after dispensing with Our coach. The media circus arpund his dismissal and replacement has been at fevor pitch. Most imo irrelevant. It is easy to see why the decision was made now and not in 3 weeks time. We needed to get the announcement done and dusted before September arrives. We need the new Chairman and CEO on board asap before decisions are made. I nearly threw up when I heard Buckley say he was open to a phone call. If we were to go with him it would severely test my loyality. If you want the job figjam apply like everyone else. IMO we don't need a new big name coach the likes of Buckley etc. when you are poor on the field you need theikez of Roos who people will accept for years while team improves. What we need is a new younger coach with 2025 experience who believes he can take us back into the top 4 in the next couple of years.

9 minutes ago, Deez21 said:

So the call to a certain premiership coach who recently made a grand final was definitely made before Green called Goody on Monday night

The call is yet to be answered but belief in the industry is that he always wanted to keep coaching and wasn’t happy with the deal to replace him

Melb wanted to get ahead of the chasing pack

I see it’s worked as Carlton are having an emergency board meeting tonight

Melbourne have their eggs in more than one basket

Thanks mate.

Do feel we have narrowed our candidates to just the experience coaches out there or will we look at untried coach as well.

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Thanks mate.

Do feel we have narrowed our candidates to just the experience coaches out there or will we look at untried coach as well.

Proper process in place to assess all options if he doesn’t want the job/goes to Carlton.

That includes untried hot property assistants. The main reason for all of this is the need for the game plan that suits modern Footy and it is usually young coaches that can implement this.

Buckley is also very much high on our list but many in the industry believe he will do one more year of media and go to Tassie

Also on Goodwin - will not be short of media offers for next year. He is so highly rated in the industry

25 minutes ago, bing181 said:

FWIW, I don't really care who the new coach is. They'll be competent. Like Goodwin was. The change that's needed has to be elsewhere, from admin/governance to football department to playing list, and unless there's real change in those areas we're going to be just another Essendon or St Kilda.

I don't know what your 'coach isn't the problem' fixation is, but the evidence is against you wherever you look.

Not winning a flag doesn't equate to an incompetent coach. It also doesn't equate to 'the game has passed that coach'. I know winning one gives a coach a golden ticket for the rest of their coaching career, but you might want to dig a bit deeper to see that all coaches across their time at any level have an expiry date/time at a club.

And when that time arrives, change is always required in that position.

Edited by Howard_Grimes

9 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Thanks mate.

It is barely 48 hours since the decision to replace SG was made. I seriously doubt there is even a group formed. It would have to contain the new CEO though what he knows about AFL coaches is debatable.

29 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I'll see your Neil Warnock and raise you a Harry Redknapp.

Big Ron Atkinson

and a left field international candidate, Marcelo Bielsa

I don't want Buckley, but a teeny tiny part of me thinks if he did coach us & we did win a flag how much it would really really irk the pies fans, but also Eddie would have caniptions

13 minutes ago, BDA said:

Big Ron Atkinson

and a left field international candidate, Marcelo Bielsa

Woy Hodgson

1 minute ago, Demon_spurs said:

Roy Kent

I had to google that one. Never seen the show.

1 minute ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I had to google that one. Never seen the show.

You need to do yourself a favour, and "believe"