I would be very content with Melksham being our next senior coach. In about 5-7 years after doing his apprenticeship (either here or elsewhere) when Goody moves on as all coaches inevitably have to at some point.

Big call but there you go.

Wasted so many years trying to be a midfielder and half back flanker, when he is in fact, an elite forward.

He looks as relaxed as he as ever been on the footy field. He know's these are his twilight years, and it seems like he is going to make the most of his opportunities and have fun doing so. He is an astute reader of the game. We are lucky to have him at the club, showing the other forwards how it should be done. Long may his form continue.

I opened this thread thinking that maybe he’d announced that this would be his last year.

It won’t be if he stays healthy and continues to play the way he has.

1. The same year he did his knee v Swans.

Around round 20 or maybe earlier.

He was in scintillating form and would he have helped us win another flag for sure.

Edited by leave it to deever

13 hours ago, Dees_In_October said:

milkshakes GIF by Burger Lounge

There certainly is a bit of cream on top of our Milkshake.

Love his work. These days players can't help where they are drafted to, so that he started with Essendon is a stain we can't blame him for, but in the time since he's proved that he's red and blue through and through.

For mine, his peak season was 2018, when he was in his physical prime, but the form he's produced in the last few years is impressive. While I think he's lost a touch of speed and power to blast them from well outside 50 like he had in the past, his ability to out smart and out position his opponents allows him to maintain potency. He also hasn't lost that ability to have great vision and pin point a low dart to a team mate in a great position - the boys must love playing with him for that.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

20 hours ago, Hopeful Demon said:

I reckon he is just about our most clutch player. Here are some games/moments where has stood up and has allowed us win important matches:

-Round 22 2018: Kicks 4 goals and gets 20 touches, helping us break our 12 year finals drought.

-2018 semi final: Kicks a goal from outside 50 in the last quarter, putting a massive halt to the momentum which Hawthorn had been gaining. The crowd went absolutely insane after that goal.

-Round 22 2022: Kicks 4 goals to help us win a total scrapfest against Carlton, who at the time were playing for their season. That game was mostly known for Pickett's goal right before the siren but Melksham was the definitely the main catalyst.

Round 18 2023: Kicks a goal right before the siren to give us a 1 point win over Brisbane, who happened to be 5 goals ahead 10 minutes beforehand. We probably wouldn't have made top 4 if it wasn't for his performance that night.

Round 10 2025: Kicks 4 goals straight to help us win another close game against the Lions. We wouldn't have won that match without his accuracy given how wayward our goalkicking was, especially in the final quarter.

I just can't be convinced that his injury late in 2023 didn't cost us a preliminary finals spot at minimum. He's the perfect player to have in close matches.

All absolutely magic moments.

Was there for those comebacks against Carlton and Brisbane and particularly the Brisbane one are up there with some of my favourite days at the footy - Melky was huge that game.

19 hours ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Happy to be in oppo's face, too, I've noticed in recent weeks. Nice for our nice team to have a bit of not nice!

I think Melksham is actually really good at winning the mental battles. Really got under Harris Andrews skin the other week, that was brilliant. Not that I dislike Harris Andrews in particular, but to clearly shut down, put one of their best play makers off their game and then dominate them like that does something to the whole opposition teams mentality I think.

He's a tough cookie Melky. The way he toyed with Andrews and frequently does to others is fun to watch. I think they might all have in the back of their minds that he's an ex amateur boxer and a bit of a loose cannon after his touchup of Steven May. In hindsight, it also did Steve some good to be put back in his box that day.

8 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

All absolutely magic moments.

Was there for those comebacks against Carlton and Brisbane and particularly the Brisbane one are up there with some of my favourite days at the footy - Melky was huge that game.

That Viney goal when he literally ripped it out of Oscar McInerney’s hands, massive win and only injuries stopped our run to an almost certain flag.

15 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Wasted so many years trying to be a midfielder and half back flanker, when he is in fact, an elite forward.

True but he did play a couple of decent games in the middle on occasion. I remember thinking how fast he was for a forward.

Pound for pound he's probably one of the strongest around which makes him bigger as a fwd than he is and tough to match up on.

And has a nice razor edge level of anger. Un goldilocks style...Just right.

He's done remarkably well not just coming back from a serious injury at his stage but to play his best again.

Given his fitness he's probably got another three years maybe. I hope so.

I know this is a JM thread but he and KP have made the world of difference. I'm thinking it takes pressure of Fritta and some of the others to get back to their best. Fritta maybe already started.

Edited by leave it to deever

23 hours ago, Hopeful Demon said:

Round 22 2022: Kicks 4 goals to help us win a total scrapfest against Carlton, who at the time were playing for their season. That game was mostly known for Pickett's goal right before the siren but Melksham was the definitely the main catalyst.

22 hours ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

...having received the heavily contested pill from Jake!

Any excuse to watch this

17 hours ago, Dees_In_October said:

milkshakes GIF by Burger Lounge

Demonstrating how he keeps reinventing himself?