14 minutes ago, Redleg said:

As Team Manager of the Dees in 1979, I was given the warning not to loiter in the race at Victoria Park, if I didn’t want to be drenched in urine from the feral Pies fans, who would do it in a coffee cup or empty beer can and throw it on the visiting team and officials as they used the race.

Not known as the Filth without reason

This is an old post of mine, which may give you an indication what a dreadful place it was.

In round 20 of 1982, my Demon mate and I went to Victoria Park for the first (and last) time to watch Melbourne play Collingwood.  We found standing room in a packed outer but soon realised we were surrounded by a seething mob of dirty, ugly, loud, abusive, obscene, smelly and toothless black and white supporters.  Almost without exception, they were drunk, smoking like chimneys, swearing like wharfies and even at this early stage of the day fighting amongst themselves.  Rather than relinquish their spot in the crowd, they were peeing where they stood.  Some of the men were just as bad.

We started well with the wind but the Pies had regained the lead by half-time.  The third quarter was all ours with eight goals and in the last, we kicked another eight to finish all over them by nine goals.  Glenn McLean was magnificent that day, marking everything in sight and earning the three Brownlow votes.  Collingwood were so impressed that they traded for him and you will rapt to hear that Glenn went on to have a wonderful two-game career with the Pies.

Having kept very, very quiet all day for fear of attracting the wrong sort of attention, the beers (ice-cold cans!) finally got the better of me and this is when I did the craziest thing in my life.  As Mark 'Jacko' Jackson kicked his seventh to seal victory, I let rip with a loud "Go Demons!!".  Things then went eerily quiet in the outer as hundreds of pairs of beady eyes bored into us.  I looked at my mate, he nodded and we turned and ran as fast as we could towards the exit and kept going all the way to Johnstone Street where we jumped on the first bus we found.  It didn't matter that it was heading in the wrong direction, we just wanted to get away from that horrible joint.  Only my drycleaner will know just how frightened I was that day.

7 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

Rather than relinquish their spot in the crowd, they were peeing where they stood.  Some of the men were just as bad.....

Absolutely hilarious ( and true )

There were some grounds where empty beer cans got repurposed.... as mini-stilts.

iykyk 😉

On 23/05/2025 at 16:42, Demongirl35 said:

I’ve had a couple of run-ins with swans fans but at the SCG. Worst one was when Howes took that hanger and we got flogged. I was about 16 years old and went up to the toilet with about 9 minutes left in the game (was coming back to watch the rest) and copped it from everyone as I went up the steps because they thought I was leaving and had lots to say. Back then I was in shock at what they were saying because I was only young and never experienced that yet. Mind you most saying things were 50+ year old men. Now I’d have more to say haha

I saw a 60-70yo female Melbourne supporter in the MCC members send off a 25 year old swans supporter walking out in 2023! It goes both ways. Be careful who you mouth off to

Edited by BillyBeane

I’ll admit, I can get lippy at the footy when provoked. And I am really good at it. As such I’ve had run ins with:

Adelaide: we played them on the Goldy. The people in front of me said that I clapped too loudly. Called me Vic Pric. So I leaned forward and clapped louder and started talking about how good Formula One is and how Victoria is the home of footy. They left.

Carlton: 2000 QF. Carlton Cheer squad gave it to a group of us all day. We constantly gave it back but were way outnumbered. All in good fun until we were physically threatened by a group of 10 blokes. They ended up getting removed by the police after their own fans dobbed them in.

Collingwood: Hit over the head with an umbrella by an elderly toothless (seriously) Collingwood supporter when I was 12. I was literally just sitting on my seat when she did it. Plenty of other stories about those muppets.

Essendon: Windy Hill….. every time.

Fremantle: The Wonna game. Trailing by 51 points but still cheering. Was told to be quiet by a couple of Freo Execs. “Know when you’re beaten mate”…. They were so arrogant. That was a great day!

West Coast: 2018 Prelim. Attended a club function at the ground so left pretty late. Was accosted by 4 WCE fans who were hammered outside the ground. Trying to pick a fight calling me all sorts of names.

North Melbourne: We were getting belted by the Kangas but I didn’t give up cheering when we did something good. Was told I was “drunk and stupid”. I corrected them and told them I was “drunk and handsome”. Started chanting Gold Coast whenever they kicked a goal. They left.

Geelong: they were pretty good actually but the Hawkins breakout game was pretty bad. Constantly abused and told to go home. Had food thrown at us. At the end of the game a small amount of their supporters said that they wished the club all the best for supporters like me/us. I was at 187 and got a few pats on the back which was nice.

I’m not a fighter and never started any of the above. But I don’t like being backed into a corner or have opposition supporters act in a aggressive or demanding way towards our club and supporters. And I don’t swear.

I have some magnificent exes which I cannot hold a grudge against.

One of them, way back in 2005, was completing their Grad Dip Education and a student-teacher at the time. Couple of Collingwood nuffies, the classic Chelyabinsk-style early 20s scrawny fetal alcohol kids, had clearly pre-loaded the beers before coming to the game and were abusing everyone around them from the moment they sat.

Putting on her best teacher voice and bringing all her soft-eyed not-quite-160cm intimidation powers to bear, my girlfriend gave them such a stern talking to that they actually went quiet and then moved seats at the end of the quarter.

There were genuine looks of awe from others in the crowd - a transition from fearing for her safety to sheer wonder at her power.

1 hour ago, Demonstone said:

Johnstone Street

I’ve been waiting years for this opportunity @Demonstone! It’s Johnston Street. No ‘e’ required. I’ve no doubt you understand my joy. 😜. Excellent story, btw (I hope the bus wasn’t going to Windy Hill).

Slightly off subject, but as a young teen I went to Vic Park, and stood in the outer, must have been mid 70's, there was a hot dog booth in the middle of the crowd (Go figure), some enterprising Pie supporters thought it would be a great jape, to slowly tip the booth over till it reached about 45 degrees, causing sauce and hotdogs to slide all up one end, a constable sauntered across and said" C'mon lads that's not funny" (which was totally untrue cause it was hysterical). so they slowly righted the booth and let the guy get on with making hotdogs.

4 hours ago, Demonstone said:

This is an old post of mine, which may give you an indication what a dreadful place it was.

In round 20 of 1982, my Demon mate and I went to Victoria Park for the first (and last) time to watch Melbourne play Collingwood.  We found standing room in a packed outer but soon realised we were surrounded by a seething mob of dirty, ugly, loud, abusive, obscene, smelly and toothless black and white supporters.  Almost without exception, they were drunk, smoking like chimneys, swearing like wharfies and even at this early stage of the day fighting amongst themselves.  Rather than relinquish their spot in the crowd, they were peeing where they stood.  Some of the men were just as bad.

We started well with the wind but the Pies had regained the lead by half-time.  The third quarter was all ours with eight goals and in the last, we kicked another eight to finish all over them by nine goals.  Glenn McLean was magnificent that day, marking everything in sight and earning the three Brownlow votes.  Collingwood were so impressed that they traded for him and you will rapt to hear that Glenn went on to have a wonderful two-game career with the Pies.

Having kept very, very quiet all day for fear of attracting the wrong sort of attention, the beers (ice-cold cans!) finally got the better of me and this is when I did the craziest thing in my life.  As Mark 'Jacko' Jackson kicked his seventh to seal victory, I let rip with a loud "Go Demons!!".  Things then went eerily quiet in the outer as hundreds of pairs of beady eyes bored into us.  I looked at my mate, he nodded and we turned and ran as fast as we could towards the exit and kept going all the way to Johnstone Street where we jumped on the first bus we found.  It didn't matter that it was heading in the wrong direction, we just wanted to get away from that horrible joint.  Only my drycleaner will know just how frightened I was that day.

True story.

One of the very first game I went to was dees v pies at Victoria park with an adult cousin. I was 9 or 10 , so perhaps it 1976 or 1977.

I was sitting, so not in the outer I can't remember much about the game, including whether we won or lost. But i vividly remember an older lady sitting in front of me turning around and telling me to tone down my language.

Haven't sworn at the footy since.

A favourite memory from another ground was the day my brother took me to a game at Princes Park.

I was about 14 or 15, but managed to:

a) Claim I was under 12 and get in for half price, and then

b) Claim I was 18 and buy cans of beer from the outer wing booth.

4 hours ago, Webber said:

I’ve been waiting years for this opportunity @Demonstone! It’s Johnston Street. No ‘e’ required. I’ve no doubt you understand my joy. 😜. Excellent story, btw (I hope the bus wasn’t going to Windy Hill).

Wow, that is one patient grudge!!!

8 hours ago, Demonstone said:

8 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Absolutely hilarious ( and true )

There were some grounds where empty beer cans got repurposed.... as mini-stilts.

iykyk 😉

I've got a couple tales.

As a young fella I found myself in standing room at the 1980GF between Collingwood and Richmond when Bartlett kicked 7.
Was on the 1st level overlooking the old concrete area behind the goals at the city end.
Never seen so many bloody punch-ons at the footy ever.
I also used an abandoned upturned esky to avoid standing in the constant river of urine that washed past.
Something I won't forget.

Something else I won't forget was Vic park for the 1st and only time with my old man.
Walking up the hill to the turn styles there was a row of handicapped guys in black n white wheel chairs.
As we walked past one of them looked at us, started twitching and told us to ... "Fork off Melbourne."
As a kid raised at the MCG, to say I was stunned is an understatement.
Could not believe we we're on the end of a foul mouthed sledge from a real live mentally challenged Collingwood supporter.
And we hadn't even got in the gate 😆

What made it worse was we blew a 27pt 3/4 time lead with Daicos doing Daicos stuff.
Man, the joint went full feral.
Sure was an experience.

Edited by Fork 'em