1 hour ago, Webber said:

Top 5 worst games of AFL footy I’ve ever seen. From a Dees perspective, we’re very very ordinary of course, but without the best ruckman the game’s ever seen, I think we might be the worst team in the league. At the moment. Things can improve no doubt. And they will. Hopefully. 71,000 at the G, and they all should feel robbed.

First half was really poor but the 3rd quarter was very good. Could've put the foot down for some much needed percentage but I get why they rested Max. The pressure was released in the last 10 minutes though which had nothing to do with Max going off.

Happy with the win of course, disappointed we didn't roll them by 10+ goals after being 44 points up but a win is a win.

The disposal in the first half though, my god. So many poor turnovers and we reverted back to the long down the line kicks and with little forward pressure. Picked up after half time though which is a positive.

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Need to play more than 1 quarter.

Apparently not...

Really pleased with the form of Sparrow, Salem and Bowey. Three guys whom I thought their best was behind them. Loving their improvement this year. A lot of 1%ers and hard running to create pressure.

Can we PLEASE just enjoy the win??!! Even if just for one night??! Hell, ‘til midnight, even? Ffs, so many sadsack posts after a win. We were 0 and 5, REMEMBER?!

Have to say, I'm [censored] scared as to what's gonna happen once Max retires. I'm hoping young George Gawn will be ready when that occurs

1 hour ago, DemonOX said:

Good to get the win but our last quarter was PATHETIC.

We need to fix this otherwise the better sides will roll us.

Fritta is still a selfish player and should be better.

I worry about Fritta, I really do. I was ground level tonight and watched him closely. He lacks hunger and the desperation that makes forwards dangerous. He really looks like he isn't invested. We know he has the ability and his forward craft is first class, just looks sluggish and disinterested.

51 minutes ago, Flowergirl said:

I think Fullarton will go out for Roo or Disco next week but I think he's better as second ruck in comparison to Roo.

I don't know whether it is fading. I think inaccuracy let us down more than anything and maybe added some complacency. Had those behinds been goals the momentum would have been different.

Appreciate your take but respectfully I can't buy it, not when it's been happening all season.

In every last quarter this year we've been smacked in uncontested ball so either the gameplan is really pathetic or we're seriously having trouble running out games and I think it's the latter. The inaccuracy late in the game could easily be down to fatigue which would back this up but even with that we started the last quarter with a Kade Chandler goal straight away, what more momentum did we need?

In the Burgo days and even the start of I never any doubt over our ability to run out games. If we were in a game at 3QT you knew we were going to be there right at the end and grind it out if we had to. I don't feel this currently, not by a long shot.

1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Viney 14 tackles - an excellent night

He was definitely tagging Taranto. Went everywhere with him.

Having a tagger in our midfield is a masterstroke as it not only gives us a much better offensive/defensive balance, it usually means Jack and Clayton aren't fighting over the same ball.

8 minutes ago, Pottsydee said:

I worry about Fritta, I really do. I was ground level tonight and watched him closely. He lacks hunger and the desperation that makes forwards dangerous. He really looks like he isn't invested. We know he has the ability and his forward craft is first class, just looks sluggish and disinterested.

I was at the game and watched him very closely after the match and there was next to no interaction with teammates. They all huddled on the ground near the race waiting for Langford to come back from seeing fans on the other side of the ground. Fritta was just standing out the back of the players while the rest were joking and celebrating. Didn’t see any players go up to him. Very small sample size but did not seem to be a lot of love towards him from teammates.

1 minute ago, layzie said:

Appreciate your take but respectfully I can't buy it, not when it's been happening all season.

In every last quarter this year we've been smacked in uncontested ball so either the gameplan is really pathetic or we're seriously having trouble running out games and I think it's the latter. The inaccuracy late in the game could easily be down to fatigue which would back this up but even with that we started the last quarter with a Kade Chandler goal straight away, what more momentum did we need?

In the Burgo days and even the start of I never any doubt over our ability to run out games. If we were in a game at 3QT you knew we were going to be there right at the end and grind it out if we had to. I don't feel this currently, not by a long shot.

I’m not doubting you when I ask this, but why does it look like we run out 3 quarters fine (as in we look fine right up until 3/4 time) then in the 4th it’s like the shutters go up?

It’s really odd.

1 hour ago, Flowergirl said:

💯. Sometimes I wonder whether some demonlanders actually like MFC.

Sadly my relationship with the club is more like this - quote Cathy in Wuthering Heights

‘My love for Heathcliff (Melbourne FC) resembles the eternal rocks beneath: a source of little visible delight, but necessary…He's (Melbourne) always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself, but as my own being

😂😂😂

35 minutes ago, binman said:

'Get on a roll, who knows, but I'm less concerned with percentage than I am with game style.'

Yep, and get games into Windsor, Kolt, Lindsay, Langford and Mcvee - individually and as a collective.

That's the future right there.

Plus Turner and Adams, IMO. I reckon May is just about done.

It took us a bit of time to get used to moving the ball from the back when May was involved. He often slowed the play down. He was much better after rolling his ankle and coming back on the ground, but in 1v1s Lynch killed him all night.

36 minutes ago, Chook said:

Best game I've seen Sparrow play imo. Bowey has turned into an absolute jet. Petracca is just going. Oliver has fallen off a cliff.

Sparrow's pressure was incredible. He and Viney led the way in that department.

And I agree on Clarry, but his 13 touches in the third quarter was like A++ Clarry of old. He needs to do it for longer now...

7 minutes ago, deegirl said:

Sadly my relationship with the club is more like this - quote Cathy in Wuthering Heights

‘My love for Heathcliff (Melbourne FC) resembles the eternal rocks beneath: a source of little visible delight, but necessary…He's (Melbourne) always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself, but as my own being

😂😂😂

My relationship with the club is like Wuthering Heights the song by Kate Bush

6 minutes ago, deegirl said:

😂😂😂

‘Whatever our souls are made of, his (Dees) and mine are the same.’

Too accurate Emily Brontë.

Too. Accurate.

Kade Chandler is fast becoming my 2025 favourite. The smother-follow up-hard ball get-dish off combo that lead to the Petracca goal was just outstanding team play and hopefully gets highlighted during the week. He very nearly got on the end of the chain and could have received the pass from Trac, but Trac went for the goal.

Really enjoying the next evolution of Chin. He’s having a great season.

11 minutes ago, Devil In Disguise said:

Viney’s kicking into the F50 tonight was shocking. What’s the story with that?

I suspect Jack grew up kicking a chewed up deflated footy around the backyard with the family pitbull

Edited by John Demonic

30 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Fritsch as selfish as ever

And constantly playing from behind.

24 minutes ago, Pottsydee said:

Thanks for the 6 snags on GF day and winning our leading goalkicking 5,434 seasons in a row, but if we can get a first rounder for him, take it and run.

2 hours ago, Salems Lot said:

5 day break was always going to be a factor. Reflect on that before criticising the last 10 too much

Richmond had a 5 day break as well, and blew us away in the last quarter. I wanted to see a commanding Melbourne victory, but all we got was a mediocre one.

3 minutes ago, layzie said:

My relationship with the club is like Wuthering Heights the song by Kate Bush

What? Your relationship with the MFC is like a brilliant pop song with one of the great choruses? How odd. 😆

And only a Melbourne supporters forum would descend into Emily Bronte / Wuthering Heights references haha.

1 minute ago, Adam The God said:

What? Your relationship with the MFC is like a brilliant pop song with one of the great choruses? How odd. 😆

And only a Melbourne supporters forum would descend into Emily Bronte / Wuthering Heights references haha.

*Ascend

Just got home from the game. It was a horrible first half where we got almost no value from Max's dominance. In the third our midfield went to work and we blew them away. Another clinic from Max and Bowsa was terrific again. I asked for 4 points and no injuries pre-game and got it.

Oh, and for those worried about our last quarter drop off it's cue not que.

1 minute ago, Adam The God said:

Should have elaborated a bit more.

My relationship is like a pop song with very eery and haunting vocals.

A brilliant song at that.