View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, BLWNBA said:

Throwing Edmund into this ‘basket’ is completely disingenuous.

FWIW, I don't have Edmond in the Morris 'basket'. I guess we'll find out if he added mayo or not.

1 hour ago, KozzyCan said:

They would get a lot of tips you never hear about because they can't be verified.

You get a tip from someone that the club is having this meeting. The first thing you do is call one of the parties who would know for sure to confirm. His manager or the club. It's ten minutes of leg work.

This is utterly incorrect. They can tweet their thoughts and opinions as facts with no accountability whatsoever and do so regularly.

Sam McClure currently has a track record of 0% accuracy as an example.

Intrigue and clicks get the AFL in people's minds - all news is good news.

Tom Morris himself said he reported factually the opinion of a person who went to the same party as an AFL player and speculated about something that was said at the party as an example.

4 hours ago, Young Angus said:

I hope he has to walk back in to the club with egg on his face and they all kick him in the bum as he walks past the whole team.

Get over yourself Trac, don't be such a sook and just play your part. Not all about you mate.

PS. Don't trust anything the journos say they are lying scum.

Yes, but what amount of egg? Small, medium or massive? Asking for a friend

15 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

So far up to 0, I guess you’re counting the extra picks and maybe Flanders?

I’m sure that’s the plan and exactly why Judd leaving hurts but geez, would be nice to be linked to at least one quality runner coming in.

Yeah I dare to dream but the pattern of the decades before our premiership doesn't fill me with huge confidence.

That being said these guys were the first a graders we have had since the 80s.

6 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

This is utterly incorrect. They can tweet their thoughts and opinions as facts with no accountability whatsoever and do so regularly.

Sam McClure currently has a track record of 0% accuracy as an example.

Intrigue and clicks get the AFL in people's minds - all news is good news.

Tom Morris himself said he reported factually the opinion of a person who went to the same party as an AFL player and speculated about something that was said at the party as an example.

Pretty easy to work out what is being reported as fact and what is speculation with even the most basic levels of comprehension.

I'm clearly missing something. I really don't get the fixation with wanting Clarry AND Trac off the books for salary cap reasons. Unless we have already locked in someone big in FA in the next 1-2 years (highly doubtful for myriad reasons) I don't see why this would be a strategic move by the club. I think we as supporters naturally don't like the thought of overpaying players, but you could flip it and think that for many years we were actually underpaying Clarry and Trac for their services. The narrative that Clarry is not giving us value in this very moment may be true given his output last two years, but he's earned the right for this pay.

Compare this money to say a Silvagni who has done almost f... all for an age and yet is going to earn $950k just because there was a bidding war. If we want to clear space for a big gun then we are going to pay gigantic overs, such is the tax put on switching clubs in a competitive market. Bird in hand worth two in the bush, no?

Am I thinking about this the wrong way?

2 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Pretty easy to work out what is being reported as fact and what is speculation with even the most basic levels of comprehension.

The fact Tom regularly tweets about things 20 minutes after they allegedly happen suggests there is no third-party verification going on.

And then you get articles like Robinson's piece last year based on what people in a restaurant alleged they overheard at a leadership meeting where a player being discussed was assessed as 'weird'.

Whomever is still leaking this information needs to be found and silenced.

Again, we are walking into trade week with rumours and innuendo swirling about our club. Some are true and others are not but the optics of it are not helpful in us recruiting players as potential swaps for Trac etc.

We don’t help ourselves in this space and allow the media free rein to stick as many pins in us as they want.

FWIW, my understanding is that the meeting between King and Oliver is a scheduled meeting like other players. The outcome is not predetermined.

2 minutes ago, Trust The Process said:

I'm clearly missing something. I really don't get the fixation with wanting Clarry AND Trac off the books for salary cap reasons. Unless we have already locked in someone big in FA in the next 1-2 years (highly doubtful for myriad reasons) I don't see why this would be a strategic move by the club. I think we as supporters naturally don't like the thought of overpaying players, but you could flip it and think that for many years we were actually underpaying Clarry and Trac for their services. The narrative that Clarry is not giving us value in this very moment may be true given his output last two years, but he's earned the right for this pay.

Compare this money to say a Silvagni who has done almost f... all for an age and yet is going to earn $950k just because there was a bidding war. If we want to clear space for a big gun then we are going to pay gigantic overs, such is the tax put on switching clubs in a competitive market. Bird in hand worth two in the bush, no?

Am I thinking about this the wrong way?

The salary cap is more like a pipe than a jigsaw puzzle. If we have less cap pressure we can make deals in future years. We are not in contention for a flag anymore, so we need to retain space, keep list flexibility and turn the list over.

3 minutes ago, Trust The Process said:

I'm clearly missing something. I really don't get the fixation with wanting Clarry AND Trac off the books for salary cap reasons. Unless we have already locked in someone big in FA in the next 1-2 years (highly doubtful for myriad reasons) I don't see why this would be a strategic move by the club

Tracc is a move for picks and/or players IMO. He still has value now so why not cash it in if he doesn’t meet our timeline.

Clarry is a move about not having 7 figures on the books in 28, 29 and 30 for a player unlikely to be playing quality footy that’s worth anywhere near that wage.

In those years Pickett, Rivers, Bowey, Langford, Lindsay, Windsor, Kolt will all be in their prime (or close to it) and we’ll need the dollars to supplement them.

44 minutes ago, deelusions from afar said:

I'm torn here (like many I suspect) that the likes of Trac, Clarry and May were absolute heroes in 2021. Pivotal in breaking the drought. The idea of them all departing 4 years later would have seemed an absolute nightmare / doomsday scenario in 2021-2022.
At the same time, it seems (for whatever reason) Trac wants out, maybe (and maybe not) Clarry is more trouble than he's worth (May might be in a similar boat).
I'm torn because the pain, disappointment and frustration of the last 3 years is probably pushing me to want change for changes sake. And as some people say it is very hard to get A graders into a football club - we might not fully understand what we've got till its gone.
At the same time, I can see with some astute trading and drafting, this could unlock a new successful era - there are plenty of promising kids on our list. We add a few more this year, play an attractive game style with dare, front load the contracts so that we have a war chest, and go hard in future for free agency players.
I look at the hawks and their midfield (without Day) doesn't really have any stars. They go alright!

So I'm torn.

Music Video 90S GIF

18 minutes ago, JJJ said:

Make it look like an accident.

Suspicious Monkey GIF by MOODMAN

12 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

How refreshing it is to see someone actually entertaining the possibility that Tracc never even said such a thing. Makes a nice change from the majority on here who are ready to hang him based on something Tom Morris wrote. Mind you, Morris didn’t say that Tracc said we’re pushing him out, Morris said that Tracc feels we’re pushing him out. How he knows how Tracc feels about anything is a mystery, to me anyways.

Morris needs to learn when push comes to shove.....personally

22 minutes ago, JJJ said:

Again, we are walking into trade week with rumours and innuendo swirling about our club. Some are true and others are not but the optics of it are not helpful in us recruiting players as potential swaps for Trac etc.

We don’t help ourselves in this space and allow the media free rein to stick as many pins in us as they want.

FWIW, my understanding is that the meeting between King and Oliver is a scheduled meeting like other players. The outcome is not predetermined.

'In this space?' is that you Goodie?

Agreed it's highly unprofessional and also let's the leaker sell the leak with an angle or agenda which is why it happens.

I originally thought it was the players or their managers but know Clazza is an open book and heard from several people independently that May did not want the wider public to know he might be being pushed to seek a trade.

Edited by Norm Smith's Curse

8 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Music Video 90S GIF

I'm all out of faith...

For example, has anyone on here given one follicle of thought as to why Max doesn't get bothered by rodents?

He probably turns around and says something like "are you harassing me and mine", and boom they vanish.

2 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

'In this space?' is that you Goodie?

Yikes. Deleting that wording from my vernacular.

And I prefer, “Goody” over “Goodie”. Don’t want people confusing me with a terrific British TV show from the 70’s.

Quite understandable that a new coach would want to put a turbulent, highly talented, highly paid but underperforming player like Clarry under the microscope. A question of him being salvageable or needs recycling.

Edited by John Crow Batty

29 minutes ago, JJJ said:

How do you know its not the actual players manager leaking the news..

People are so quick to jump to conclusions and think the leak is coming from someone within the club when reality is its probably come from Oliver's manager.

2 minutes ago, JJJ said:

Yikes. Deleting that wording from my vernacular.

And I prefer, “Goody” over “Goodie”. Don’t want people confusing me with a terrific British TV show from the 70’s.

Consider it a learning