Posted (edited)

I don’t care what the media personalities think, definitely a B+ first off - We held our three guns despite media wanting them out to embarrass the club and teach us a lesson??? We got lucky with pick 5, and then Tim Lamb showed us what he is best at and traded in Pick 9. He then bought in the fastest gun from the North, Harry should play R1. He bought in Campbell early to provide ruck relief for Max, Tom won Sandringham’s B&F, so will elevate Casey immediately. He also moved a number of players out of the club to open up spaces for 4-6 players to help the continued rejuvenation of the club. He was handicapped last year as most players were contracted. Personally I feel much happier about 2025 than I did three weeks ago. If that makes me a “Happy Clapper” count me in.

Edited by DeeZone
Spelling

Posted
3 hours ago, DubDee said:

Tigers lost half their senior players and get an A

If this was us it would be Deeaster - no one wants to play for MFC, no leadership, this will set the club back a decade

but agree, who really cares. let’s just get better and screw the media 

I reckon most of Richmond's trade period was luck. Very fortunate that their players wanted to go to clubs that had the picks.

These grades are so subjective and frankly stupid. I do agree with ours at C+ but the Bulldogs at D+? Thought they did some reasonable business on the last day. Bombers C, what did they do again apart from move Scratch and Stringer on?

Waste of paper, ink and bandwidth writing these articles. 

Posted

Who arrived: Harry Sharp, Tom Campbell

Who left: Alex Neal-Bullen

2024 Telstra AFL Draft picks: 5, 9

Future picks: Brisbane and Melbourne swapped their future third-round selections in the Harry Sharp trade. Melbourne parted ways with the third-round pick it obtained from Essendon on Monday as part of the pick swap that netted it pick No.9 in this year's draft, and received Brisbane's 2025 selection in return.

AFL website journalists summary: Melbourne farewelled just the one player this trade period, with Alex Neal-Bullen heading to Adelaide on the opening day. The Demons managed to add two fresh faces that will give them important depth heading into next season, with speedy winger Harry Sharp crossing from Brisbane and journeyman ruck Tom Campbell joining the ranks to provide valuable back-up to Max Gawn. But more importantly for the Demons, they acquired another top-10 pick to take into this year's stacked draft. Melbourne now holds pick No.9 (from Essendon) and their own pick No.5 in November's draft

————————————

My footnote … The filth got Houston for a trade bargain.  Dees should be wondering WTF !!! 
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/houston-we-have-lift-off-collingwood-all-in-on-flag-tilt-after-landing-all-australian-20241015-p5kigq.html

Posted

Trade period Report Card

Damien Barrett  - E - continued to spew the same rubbish year after year and doesn't understand that his opinion is of no relevance 

Sam McClure - F - damaged his reputation even further making up stories and embellishing others citing sources that cant be revealed due to the sensitive nature of the topic.

Tom Morris  F (see above)

Posted
3 hours ago, JackWhats? said:

I think the rating is definitely fair.

Trade period should be a balance of immediate improvement and future strength, with the balance determined by where the team is right now.

I don't think it is unreasonable to say we didn't really made next year's team any stronger. And I think most supporters would think that with a team that includes Petracca, Oliver, May, Lever, Gawn as a our base - that we should be aiming closer to "now" than "5 years from now" when all of those players are gone or beyond their prime.

We also went another year without finding a meaningful solution to our ineffective forward line. To my mind - we enter next year with all of the same deficiencies that we have carried for the past 3 seasons, and outside of Pertracca being back - it's hard to see what it is that will make us better next year - at least from a list management perspective.

And the rating clearly accounts for the off season drama - which we either caused or let happen through poor management - and given it centred on trades - its for to include it in our overall grade.

Overall - an extra first round draft pick doesn't really make up for the negatives or the lack of more immediate positives - so a C+ is more than fair.

Talk about 3/4 glass empty !hardly a positive. 

Can list the positives gor you JW. 

. Have 2 top 10 draft picks  Been about 8 years since that luxury in one of the best ( if not the best top loaded and depth draft in memory) Potential to get 2 stars either mids or one key forward or a runner and highly skilled outside ball player. 10/12 year  players as well like Trac and Clarry. 

Hot two low key but specific holes to be addressed like Maxy understudy and ANB largely pacy half forward/ winger type who can kick goals,

Kept all  players except ANB who was a genuine reason to ask to go back home. Going luck Nibbler and thanks a million.

Kossie Clarry and Trac despite all the naysayers can all be A graders this year if they are healthy and fit and determined.

Our youth will be a strength and should improve us visibly About 8 to 10 in this category. 

Importantly at least 2 new Assistant Coaches are to join with fresh ideas.

Goody must realise that our game plan and aggression are necessary to be upgraded in today’s footy. 

Close games need to nail the majority not halve the no’s next year. 

Posted

Essendon & Syd  "won" the trade period last year

Port and Geelong the year before

Its meaningless

Posted (edited)

Come on. Seriously. We won trade week by a country mile. The rest aren't even in the competition. 

At the start of trade week we'd lost three of our best players and one of our best leaders. By the end we'd recruited Petracca, Oliver, Pickett, got a replacement/upgrade for ANB who can run faster, longer and isn't a turnover king 😎, got break glass in an emergency ruck back up for Maxxy, saved ourselves from giving up this year and next year's first rounders for a half back flanker who went elsewhere for half the price, traded up to get pick 9 so by the end of the draft we'll have the next Petracca and Oliver. 

What's wrong with these amateurs. They have absolutely no idea. 

Trade week table.

1.  Melbourne

2. who cares

3. who cares

Edited by Its Time for Another
  • Clap 3

Posted
On 17/10/2024 at 06:34, Age said:

Just crystal balling here but Collingwood, by going for the now, may be a masterstroke. If they give Tassie a heap of picks but make them trade a bunch of them for established players, the Pies, after having had their run, then ship off a bunch of these older players for a heap of early picks, letting them rebuild really quickly. It is almost like that would be perfect for the AFL, the pies maybe winning another flag or two but then not really having to bottom out. I would never accuse the AFL of letting the pies know of their plans for Tassie beforehand as we all know that if there is one 100% ethical organisation in the land, it is the AFL!

Just my thoughts. I hope that clubs burns to the ground but I'm never that lucky. 

Their squad will be too old by then.  Fox had their top players and ages... they'll be 35+ if still playing and no value. 

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, darkhorse72 said:

Their squad will be too old by then.  Fox had their top players and ages... they'll be 35+ if still playing and no value. 

AFL surely will act to remove players’ age data. Weight or more accurately mass went the way of the Dodo, AFLW saw to that. Next will be height as the little people complained. All that will be left will be the guernsey numbers. However the AFL numerologists sub- committee spat the dummy. Numbers will be removed because it distracted from advertisers’ logos and was too complicated. 

Edited by Tarax Club
Collingwood Geelong Retirement inc
Posted

Tick to pick 9 , tick to getting in young talent and sharp is unknown. We definitely have an issue in attracting ready made talent as per Houston comments, when you compare what the other clubs have trading in ..our continue failure to bolster our fwd line & hoping our defenders become fwds..