Posted

Rain has been expected, so we should be prepared, but it has bucketed down all night in Brisbane. I can only assume it’s similar on the GC.

On paper you’d think the wet suits us, but past evidence suggests it doesn’t. We need to play smart this evening.

Posted (edited)

Max Gawn is the heart and soul of this team .

An awesome leader and great player.

May he dominate again today.

Tx big guy.

Edited by leave it to deever
Posted
47 minutes ago, Forest Demon said:

Rain has been expected, so we should be prepared, but it has bucketed down all night in Brisbane. I can only assume it’s similar on the GC.

On paper you’d think the wet suits us, but past evidence suggests it doesn’t. We need to play smart this evening.

Im not sure it does.

I think we are far better in dry condtitions.

Posted

It has been bucketing up here for the best part of 2 days... It'll be a wet slog today. We don't play very well in the wet but it should reduce the influence of Andrews and their tall forwards 

Posted

Still bucketing down here on the GC.  Think there's a chance the worst of the rain will be gone by later today.  Once it eases off, the surface at Carrara will dry out very quickly, so still hope conditions won't be too bad this evening

Posted

I've always thought Brisbane have one too many talls in their best 22, and could probably do without one of McInerney or McStay, but hey, it's working for them.

But add an inexperienced Archie Smith to the side, and I do wonder if they might make a late change. I see Witherden and our old mate Rhys Mathieson are emergencies.

Posted
1 minute ago, Forest Demon said:

I've always thought Brisbane have one too many talls in their best 22, and could probably do without one of McInerney or McStay, but hey, it's working for them.

St Kilda play Marshall, Ryder, Membrey and King and win against PA. I wonder if Weideman, TMac and Jackson could work well together with Jackson playing up the ground a little more. Would give 3 good targets. I do hope that Jones plays well though. 

Posted

It says on the game day information that there is no schuttle buses to metricon today. why would they do that. it is over 2km walk from Nerang station.

Posted
23 minutes ago, Vagg said:

Still bucketing down here on the GC. 

Evokes memories of ...

Let Trac wander north to the goal square,
Way out further on there to score,
By a boundary line throw in, let Gawn linger,
Where Sammy Weideman has flown high.

When the players tangle on the centre circle,
And clouds fill the old northern stand sky,
And the midfield moves back from the forward fifty,
When the rain tumbles down in July.

...with more than a nod to the bard of Nulla Nulla Creek
Posted (edited)

Given the teams we’ve beaten recently, this is a big step up in terms of opposition.

Hoping we can bring our best for the full four quarters, and get the result. Would set up the next month when our season will be decided. Need 3-4 of next five. 

Quietly confident we’ll bring our good stuff tonight, and hopeful it’s enough. 

Should be a cracking match.

Go Demons!

Edited by PaulRB

Posted

Feels like the game is still two days away with this late start. 

Dees by 3 goals. 

Trac to dominate. 

Gawn to monster McInerney. 

Kozzie to kick 3 in slippery conditions. 

Harmes to keep Neale to under 25 touches. 

Go Dees! 

Posted
59 minutes ago, demonmerv said:

It says on the game day information that there is no schuttle buses to metricon today. why would they do that. it is over 2km walk from Nerang station.

Oh really? That throws my plans up in the air. Let us know if you come across any viable alternatives.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, demonmerv said:

We'll done gold coast and the afl. That's really ordinary.

That will keep you socially distanced. It's not and enjoyable walk either.

Ubertime?

Edited by Brownie

Posted

There is parking available at the ground for a tenner if you are lucky enough to have a designated driver.

Posted

Yep parking available at the ground for $10 if you have a driver. 

Metricon stadium blue car park event day parking. You can buy your parking ticket online. 

Hoping this rain clears by later this arvo! Think my seats are undercover .. I hope. 

Go Dees! 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Brady said:

Metricon stadium blue car park event day parking. You can buy your parking ticket online. 

Hoping this rain clears by later this arvo! Think my seats are undercover .. I hope. 

Go Dees! 

You Queenslanders are so precious. I would happily sit in the freezing rain out at Arctic Park just to watch a game of footy. :P

Enjoy the game and boo for me.

Posted
1 minute ago, Brady said:

Go Dees! 

I don’t think there are any totally dry seats in the stadium Brady (apart from corporate) unless it has changed from last season. 

From memory the stands leak like the titanic. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Demonland said:

You Queenslanders are so precious. I would happily sit in the freezing rain out at Arctic Park just to watch a game of footy. :P

Enjoy the game and boo for me.

PRECIOUS, more like smart. 

Don’t worry come rain, hail or shine we will be yelling and screaming like absolute nut jobs. 

Posted (edited)

I can just see it now, we will get drenched and lose by a point after a contentious umpiring decision which gives Brisbane a free kick in the goal square. 

And to top it off I will get sick with the flu during the week. Happy times!!!!!!

God i hope we play well. 

Edited by DemonOX
Posted

Well, folks, the big rain band has just cleared away from us here at Mudgeeraba.  So, I was able to venture outside and measure the rainfall.  Between 7am yesterday and 10 am today, we have had fully 170 mm of rain!  (And, that's near the top of my gauge, so who knows how much splattered out the top!  Got a gully behind my house, and it is fairly raging through there!  Good news is that it is supposed to clear up later in the day.  Right now I can even see some blue sky!

• Thanks 4