View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Trade rumours

3 minutes ago, Redleg said:

GC would fold up and be eliminated from the AFL if that deal went through.

One can only hope Red.

Yes, they do get reamed in that deal, but in reality what are they likely to get end of '18 when Lynch leaves to free agency?

3 minutes ago, FireInTheBelly said:

One can only hope Red.

Yes, they do get reamed in that deal, but in reality what are they likely to get end of '18 when Lynch leaves to free agency?

I think the AFL will do whatever they can to stop that happening. It could destroy them.

I wonder if the AFL has the power to give them 3 first round picks to balance the ledger if he goes.

Lynch won’t leave GC. Afl have already publically flagged paying him extra money outside his wage to be an “ambassador of the game” up there. They’ll make sure he doesn’t leave as they can’t allow their 2 new love child’s to fail.

7 hours ago, chook fowler said:

To trade the Weed would be a massive vote of no confidence in our recruiters and development staff. It's just Eddie fondling himself. Not going to happen.

This is silly thinking for mine.  Any recruiters will happily admit they AREN'T going to get EVERY one right !! Some work out OK, some brilliantly...some leave you thinking.....well @#$%   bit of a dud that one.  Even if you read all the signs somewhat correctly  you may not necessarily be able to tell how far  long their destined road they already are. This is where elevating the drafting age comes into vogue.

To NOT be able to sit back and say..."well we stuffed that one Harry !!"  ...and be truthful to circumstance will hamstring you for all eternity.

Success is often bread from mistakes..They happen.. You just try better, or differently next time.

The ones you get wrong do NOT detract from the ones you get RIGHT .

What would be worse is to compound  the failure by not admitting it wasn't , or didn't pan out as expected.

SHlT HAPPENS !!   wipe ya bum and move on

3 hours ago, ChaserJ said:

Would imagine the Hawks are quiet because they don't have many assets left to deal with after the Mitchell & O'Meara swoop.

Rockliff as a potential FA wouldn't be a big surprise, but Carlton sound like they are going hard and would probably offer up more coin.

I would also think Hawthorn are quiet because their players are well on top of learning another finely tuned Clarko system that's less reliant on needing to bring in any more elite talent. Once again all they may need are one or two mature FA's each year that complement what they're creating. Hawthorn were absurdly one of the form teams of the competition mid-season after their terrible beginning. I expect them to be deep in the finals within the next year or two. Damnit.

Edited by Deeprived Childhood

30 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Lynch won’t leave GC. Afl have already publically flagged paying him extra money outside his wage to be an “ambassador of the game” up there. They’ll make sure he doesn’t leave as they can’t allow their 2 new love child’s to fail.

Did you or anyone happen to catch a recent AFL 360 segment with Lynch? I heard he was criticised on social media for being extremely flakey and non-commital to GCS?

33 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Exactly, could expect to get 1 - 1-2 from the Suns plus another 500k from the AFL. No one can match that, not even Collingwood.

Edited by Bombay Airconditioning

2 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Carlton offer Rockcliff a contract and we've resigned Vince....wow

Crazy isn't it, Rockliff doesn't even play for GWS. 

3 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Carlton offer Rockcliff a contract and we've resigned Vince....wow

They have nothing to do with each other.

If we are getting Lever in at  700-800k, we cant afford Rockliff anyway. The Blues will pay him a fortune. Hes also surplus to our needs, we are overloaded with big ball winning inside mids.

Edited by Petraccattack

2 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Went to the North Big Footy board a few days ago and they are lamenting that their money seems to have bought them nothing.

And what a joy that is to observe DJ!

Glad we don't own that crown anymore.

:pj:

so when was the last time we were on the winning end of a trade with collingwood.... i dont think swapping Weid for a possible pick 6 even if it was offered would result in a good outcome for the Dees. Keep the boy and let him grow into the man/player we all hope he can be. no point starting again with another youngster and being another 1 or 2 years behind in development.

7 minutes ago, Deecisive said:

so when was the last time we were on the winning end of a trade with collingwood.... i dont think swapping Weid for a possible pick 6 even if it was offered would result in a good outcome for the Dees. Keep the boy and let him grow into the man/player we all hope he can be. no point starting again with another youngster and being another 1 or 2 years behind in development.

If theres a ready made player or two that Jason Taylor has identified who will be there at pick 6, I would do that trade.

something about the Weed ...Dunno...there's just something  that gives me shivers !!  

Some haunting memory of unrealised potential

spooky.jpg

2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

spooky.jpg

Doesn't Cook play for The Boroughs now? How's he travelling?

If G.C was to fold,a Tassie team would probably occur.I am expecting an existing  young demonland player to be traded to Freo,it may be called homesick. Looking at the coache's eyes there is something in the the air other than oxygen,nitrogen and farts. I know someone will hate me for this!!!!!!!

1 hour ago, Petraccattack said:

If we are getting Lever in at  700-800k, we cant afford Rockliff anyway. The Blues will pay him a fortune. Hes also surplus to our needs, we are overloaded with big ball winning inside mids.

Why couldn't we afford him? Who's taking all the money? How much are we paying Vince?

The majority of our talent is young and wouldn't be on big contracts yet. Hogan would be on a bit, Jones massive contract should of been front loaded, Gawn and Watts, Hibbo and Melksham but now the salary cap has gone up.

Edited by Bombay Airconditioning

1 hour ago, Petraccattack said:

Also I'm not sure how he's surplus to our needs.

2 hours ago, beelzebub said:

This is silly thinking for mine.  Any recruiters will happily admit they AREN'T going to get EVERY one right !! Some work out OK, some brilliantly...some leave you thinking.....well @#$%   bit of a dud that one.  Even if you read all the signs somewhat correctly  you may not necessarily be able to tell how far  long their destined road they already are. This is where elevating the drafting age comes into vogue.

To NOT be able to sit back and say..."well we stuffed that one Harry !!"  ...and be truthful to circumstance will hamstring you for all eternity.

Success is often bread from mistakes..They happen.. You just try better, or differently next time.

The ones you get wrong do NOT detract from the ones you get RIGHT .

What would be worse is to compound  the failure by not admitting it wasn't , or didn't pan out as expected.

SHlT HAPPENS !!   wipe ya bum and move on

We agree to disagree - and attend to your own bum before worrying about mine.

2 hours ago, ENYAW said:

If G.C was to fold,a Tassie team would probably occur.I am expecting an existing  young demonland player to be traded to Freo,it may be called homesick. Looking at the coache's eyes there is something in the the air other than oxygen,nitrogen and farts. I know someone will hate me for this!!!!!!!

You old scallywag Enyaw! 

3 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Doesn't Cook play for The Boroughs now? How's he travelling?

Freddies boy?

4 hours ago, Petraccattack said:

Depends how much we'd be paying Rockliff. He's in the top 5 clearance players in the league. Add him to Oliver and Viney and that's the best midfield group in the league. He can also play a proper forward role, rather than merely being a stop gap solution like Tyson is when forward.

If we could get Rockliff for $650k, I'd do it. But I don't think we could or will.

11 minutes ago, A F said:

Depends how much we'd be paying Rockliff. He's in the top 5 clearance players in the league. Add him to Oliver and Viney and that's the best midfield group in the league. He can also play a proper forward role, rather than merely being a spot gap solution like Tyson is when forward.

If we could get Rockliff for $650k, I'd do it. But I don't think we could or will.

Agree with the 650k stipulation but I'd add we'd need to offload Tyson as he would become 1 too many. I think Maynard will take his spot next year anyway, so if we can get some value out of him I'd take it. Happy to keep him otherwise, either way.