Posted

I was just wondering if anyone went to training today and if so, could they give us a run down please? How did young Hayes train?

Posted

I went down to trinity this morning to watch the boys, on a cracking morning for training despite a bit of a breeze at times. There were a few others down watching, if you dont get down often friday is a good time to go as the boys do alot of full ground drills and you get to see alot of action. When i arrived they'd just finished the warm-up and were into some drills which involved some running to positions and long passing of the ball simulating movement of the ball up and down the ground similar to match days. After about 30 mins of variations of this kind of drill they moved into some more close drills with bags emphasising quick hands, blocking and decision making. They finished off doing a drill where everyone was split into two opposing teams and groups of 4 and 5, they had to work the ball up the ground keeping it from the opposition. The main emphasis being running hard to position, carrying the ball and playing a zone defence as the defenders were outnumbered.

The main points to take out of the morning were:

-Hayes moves really well, has good hands although early on missed some targets with his kicks in the breezy conditions tho this did improve as the session progressed. I didnt really get a chance to see his pace. Looks pretty tight with weetra. In the second drill i mentioned, he and flash were working the ball up together, the ball came to flash and without looking he palmed it to hayes who was off and running. A glimpse into the future perhaps.

-On flash his passng of the ball is in the my opinion the best at club, in breezy conditions this morning he was hitting blokes on the [censored] effortlessly. He was working as hard as ive seen him at training, dropping for pushups when he made a slight error, running hard without the ball and was the main voice of encouragement. Seeing him and tigga compete against each other in the final drill was also good, an ex player told me they both love beating with each other, tigga took a mark infront of flash and let him no about it.

-The talk and encouragement from everyone was something i also noted, it was very encouraging.

-The boy from sydney, i cant remember his name, who was given an apprenticeship type contract with the club was at training with the boys. He reminds me a of a skinnier clint bartram, his only 16 i think and trained quite impressively. The boys were giving him heaps of encouragment, especially when he was carrying the ball down the ground in the final drill being chased by belly, he stopped and evaded belly letting him go passed him, then faked the kick getting around belly again. This was met by loud cheers from the other players and some ribbing for belly.

-Isaac weetra is being called Horhay(Ben stillers love child in meet the fockers), the resemblence is uncanny.

-Wheels, Barty, PJ, bater, Pettard and Beamer didnt take part in training, they just walked laps did some handballing and light kicking. Col sylvia wasnt there at all.

-Brucey, Jace Bode, Wheats, Russian all left the track towards the end of the session although appeared to be fine.

-Chunk was working really well.

-As was Dunny.

-As reported by others simon Buckley has definately bulked up.

-Chrissy Jonhson was moving well.

-Byron is looking reasonable although just crusied through training.

-Thats all i can remember atm, will try and add to it.

Posted

I went down to trinity this morning...

Jace Bode and Simon Buckley are two interesting prospects right now. With McLean, Sylvia, Bell, Bate, Bartram and Jones all playing regular good quality footy if at least one of these kids come through then we will have a very good young midfield group. Added to that the senior guys of McDonald, Bruce, Green, Johnstone and Pickett and it looks pretty rosy all round.

We really do have an exciting couple of years ahead of us.

Posted

That's a concern about those injuries or non-contributors, of which Bate and Petterd are news to me.

Oh, and welcome Flashdance36. 've been looking o change my name for months and I reckon I should've gotten in earlier on yours. Now that it's spoken for, any suggestions?

Posted

Thanks for the warm welcome guys, ive been logging onto this sight to get all the latest MFC info for the past year and thought it was about time i registered. I try to get down to training pretty often over the summer so hopefully i can scratch out a few training reports. demon_magik ill let u no when i come up with a new sign in name for you,the creation of flashdance36 was a year long process (not really i stole it from mike sheahan after the roos game this year), so dont hold your breath. cheers guys.

Posted

-Isaac weetra is being called Horhay(Ben stillers love child in meet the fockers), the resemblence is uncanny.

Best nickname ever!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.