View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Destination Club MFC

30 minutes ago, rjay said:

You were making a point on St Kilda having a better bargaining power on Martin & Kelly than we do.

I was making a point that St Kilda have more bargaining power, stat. Not necessarily on either of those two and as you've already pointed out, Martin is a free agent.

You lumped the paragraph into one sentence.

In general, St Kilda have picks that are more appealing to clubs that might be thinking about trading a great player with or without a contract. But certainly more appeal to clubs who'd be willing to part-ways with a contracted player given the right deal.

I'm not trying to be right. I agree that an uncontracted player has more wiggle room due to the fact that he can leave a club with nothing by walking to the drafts. And as you've said they always get to their desired destination, eventually. Contracted players are now trending the same way.

The next Josh Gibson isfine by me :)

12 minutes ago, Stretch Johnson said:

Daniel McStay

Would love him, I reckon he'll be a top defender in time. 

Miles ahead of Oscar McDonald imo but would be very hard to get him.

Reckon we need someone 25 years or older though. 

I think the idea of a 'destination club' is a myth, if you  look at the seriously good players who move clubs they are rarely drawn to so called destination clubs, they either go for (1) money - they might give another reason though; (2) family or (3) to leave a bottom club to be closer to a premiership. 

What I like the idea of is being a club that's good enough to attract decent talent, not those clinging to life as an AFL player. You can debate the circumstances but our latest acquisitions - Lewis and Hibberd - are decent talents who I'm sure wouldn't have given us a second look 2 or 3 years ago.

3 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

That's yoyo enough for me.

Losing any game because of one really poor quarter is exactly that.

The gap between our best and worst footy is yoyo-like.

Looks like we wont be luring you to the club then.

20 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

Looks like we wont be luring you to the club then.

The Melbourne Football Club should be the "ultimate" destination club for every player, much like Ferrari is ALWAYS the dream of every F1 driver. Not all make it to the Prancing Horse, but all drivers would do it if the opportunity arose. 

The sealing point of the MFC is massive if we push hard enough. 

It is a great city. We need to use it. 

We'll have serious capital when one of our very good players or even one of our future a graders wants to leave due to an offer and we can use it and a drsft pick to go after a big acquisition. No point denying it will never happen. No point guessing who it will be either :D

Edited by DominatrixTyson

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

The next Josh Gibson isfine by me :)

I think we have him...his name is Hibberd.

48 minutes ago, Red and Blue realist said:

I think the idea of a 'destination club' is a myth, if you  look at the seriously good players who move clubs they are rarely drawn to so called destination clubs, they either go for (1) money - they might give another reason though; (2) family or (3) to leave a bottom club to be closer to a premiership. 

What I like the idea of is being a club that's good enough to attract decent talent, not those clinging to life as an AFL player. You can debate the circumstances but our latest acquisitions - Lewis and Hibberd - are decent talents who I'm sure wouldn't have given us a second look 2 or 3 years ago.

What you have put at three is what it is to be a destination club!

14 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

The Melbourne Football Club should be the "ultimate" destination club for every player, much like Ferrari is ALWAYS the dream of every F1 driver. Not all make it to the Prancing Horse, but all drivers would do it if the opportunity arose

The sealing point of the MFC is massive if we push hard enough. 

It is a great city. We need to use it. 

Except Webber and Ricardo, both of whom have reportedly been very close to being offered the seat and said no. 

5 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Perhaps I'm speaking about Martin more so than Kelly. I don't know what will happen to Kelly. Maybe Salem and Hunt can get in his ear.

I just couldn't see Martin wanting to come to us over St Kilda for example if both clubs offered the same money... One reason being that we passed him up in the draft. 

The Kelly one is interesting.

Before North's offer hit the media it was reported that Kelly would resign on a two year deal with GWS, however Melbourne were front of the the queue if Kelly were to consider a move.

i wonder if we would consider putting forward a case or whether North's overall package is too great for us to (responsibly) compete with.

Before Hawthorn started raiding other clubs for top ups, they essentially drafted their stars in a three to five year period and cherry picked on a needs basis later on.

Whilst they've taken a (perhaps questionable) calculated risk to extend their period of success, I think we are following the same model and the club probably thinks that we have drafted our stars already and just want to top off the list with players that best suit positions that need strengthening.

I think it's crucial that we retain Gawn, Hogan, Petracca, Oliver, Salem, etc. as a priority over bringing a big name and jeopardizing the core that's coming through.

15 minutes ago, ChaserJ said:

The Kelly one is interesting.

Before North's offer hit the media it was reported that Kelly would resign on a two year deal with GWS, however Melbourne were front of the the queue if Kelly were to consider a move.

i wonder if we would consider putting forward a case or whether North's overall package is too great for us to (responsibly) compete with.

Before Hawthorn started raiding other clubs for top ups, they essentially drafted their stars in a three to five year period and cherry picked on a needs basis later on.

Whilst they've taken a (perhaps questionable) calculated risk to extend their period of success, I think we are following the same model and the club probably thinks that we have drafted our stars already and just want to top off the list with players that best suit positions that need strengthening.

I think it's crucial that we retain Gawn, Hogan, Petracca, Oliver, Salem, etc. as a priority over bringing a big name and jeopardizing the core that's coming through.

Agree.

North's ludicrous offer has changed everything. Can't see any other club offering that amount. And for that reason surely it's a two-horse race for Kelly's signature.

• Author
Just now, chook fowler said:

Lever apparently is our prime target.

Demonland fever or inside source?

1 hour ago, Chris said:

Except Webber and Ricardo, both of whom have reportedly been very close to being offered the seat and said no. 

Webber WAS offered a drive in 2013. Was only a 1 year deal so he 'declined'

1 hour ago, Chris said:

I still think both would like to drive a Prancing Horse before they die

16 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Webber WAS offered a drive in 2013. Was only a 1 year deal so he 'declined'

Webber was cooked of Formula 1 politics by 2013

he wanted out

if he had been offered a Ferrari drive before Vettel had killed his spirit i bet he would have thought long and hard about it. 

Maranello is an amazing place, i spent 2 days walking around it in 2005

just brilliant

7 hours ago, Bay Riffin said:

Yes but we were able to convince Hibberd as well who is a quality player. Players will start to see we are creating a strong team here with plenty of hardness and flair.

I like the Hawthorn model where they usually got in one real quality player each year, rather than 2 or 3 B graders i.e  Burgoyne, Gibson, Lake, Frawley that filled a need at the time. slowly but surely building the jigsaw pieces to complete the puzzle.

We have brought in Lewis and Hibberd who are big ticks so far. I think if we can get a quality key tall backmen, and they are hard to get, we will be doing well. The other would be a real quality outside runner like an Isaac Smith type. If we can complete just one of these in the off season we will be doing well. Quality will be the key.

What you've said is probably closer to the mark of what I think Goodwin is trying to build. Rather than throwing a crate of money at one target, find quality that fills our needs and build over the years. 

Lewis and Hibberd have been very good pick ups in that regard, I think we need to try to bring in a quality defender if we can for next year and/or maybe some outside run with good skills. Aside from that I'd just like us to recruit a third in line back up ruckman. 

8 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Martin Flanagan?

No. I don't think it is a great secret. No idea how far down the track it is. I do know it makes sense - exactly the sort of player needed.

Surprised nobody has mentioned Zac Jones. If he and Nathan get on well as brothers, then there'd certainly be a pull factor there that could make it easier to agree terms! He certainly has jumped up a level or two this year.