View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Surely Hunt Deserves a Rising Star Nomination

9 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Roos agrees with me that the comp is flawed. Its a joke and needs to be fixed.

The comp is barely a blip when it's all said and done. We were all happy for Jesse last year, as we were for Rivers (and Flash runner up) all those years ago but at the end of the day it means very little.

Hunt's had a great year (totally out of the blue for me), I think Roosy's praise and recognition by the club and teammates will be worth more.

Barrass has been outstanding tonight and has been interregnal in WC lead. . Hunt will need a ripper game. Poor kid - cannot get a break! 

Jayden Hunt would want to play some sort of extraordinary game because Tom Barrass has this sewn up already.

There was a season they gave 2 nominations in the final round to get in players they thought were deserving of a nomination. One of them was a Collingwood player, but I can't recall his name"Loch?".

Also thanks for linking to the wikepdia site. Reading them now and I didn't realise we went Rivers Davey 1 2 in 2004. 

Very Unlucky not to get nominated this year. Has been one of our better young talents. A great little find

Had a great year, lets hope this inspires him to build on it for 2017

Robbed.

Even in this round, the winner who hardly played any other good games during the season, had only 17 disposals, two less than Hunt who played in a team that was badly beaten.

There's no justice.

11 minutes ago, Deeman said:

Robbed.

Even in this round, the winner who hardly played any other good games during the season, had only 17 disposals, two less than Hunt who played in a team that was badly beaten.

There's no justice.

While i agree with everything you've said Barass did have a gr8 game. Included something like 15 spoils and 1%ers whatever that means.

But one good game vs a good body of work from our Hunty... I'd definitely say robbed.

I'd easily say he deserved it over a few others, including our own -Harmes and O Mac...

Edited by Unleash Hell

Hunt, like most young footballers, probably wouldn't give a stuff. He would be just thrilled, that he has got games, played well and is being loved by the Dees fans, as well as being noticed by the more astute footy people in the AFL.  I don't include the Rising Star judges in that last category.

Jayden has excellent company in the non-nominated list over the years - Dane Swan, Gary Ablett, Jonathan Brown.  More misses than hits where the Norwich/ NAB Rising Star is concerned, especially when you consider Blease and Gysberts were both two-time nominees. 

34 minutes ago, Deeman said:

Robbed.

There's no justice.

Barrass has been pretty solid this year & his game on the weekend was outstanding, dont let the stats fool you. Hunt should have been nominated long ago though!

Inside Football player ratings are a good guide as to a player's year and consistency.

Daniel Rioli played 18 games and rated 5 or above 5 times.  He rated above 5 once when he received a 7.  Six times he had the inglorious achievement of scoring a 2 out of 10.  His average rating was 3.5.

Jayden Hunt played 19 games and rated 5 or above 15 times.  He rated above 5 twelve times.  Five times he rated 7 or above, including an 8. He scored a 2 once.  His average rating was 5.5.

You be the judge.

If nothing else, I hope Jayden's non-nomination changes the Rising Star voting process so that any player eligible to win the annual award can do so whether they win a weekly nomination or not. It would be rather like someone winning the Brownlow without ever scoring a three point game. Possible, but unlikely. But because it's possible the Rising Star award, like the Brownlow, should cater for it.   

2 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

If nothing else, I hope Jayden's non-nomination changes the Rising Star voting process so that any player eligible to win the annual award can do so whether they win a weekly nomination or not. It would be rather like someone winning the Brownlow without ever scoring a three point game. Possible, but unlikely. But because it's possible the Rising Star award, like the Brownlow, should cater for it.   

even simpler is to allow multiple nominees per round. say, 0-3 nominations in any round. it's not that hard

1 hour ago, ProDee said:

Inside Football player ratings are a good guide as to a player's year and consistency.

Daniel Rioli played 18 games and rated 5 or above 5 times.  He rated above 5 once when he received a 7.  Six times he had the inglorious achievement of scoring a 2 out of 10.  His average rating was 3.5.

Jayden Hunt played 19 games and rated 5 or above 15 times.  He rated above 5 twelve times.  Five times he rated 7 or above, including an 8. He scored a 2 once.  His average rating was 5.5.

You be the judge.

As a comparison to show how good Hunt's year was, Callum Mills, who is favourite to take out the award, played 20 games and rated 5 or above 18 times.  He rated above 5 nine times.  Four times he rated 7 or above, including two 8's.  His average rating was 5.6 to Hunt's 5.5.  One will win the award and the other didn't get a nomination.

Meaningless award.

If anything it might make him hungrier to prove people wrong.  Theres not many 2016 nominees I would take ahead of him.

14 minutes ago, ProDee said:

As a comparison to show how good Hunt's year was, Callum Mills, who is favourite to take out the award, played 20 games and rated 5 or above 18 times.  He rated above 5 nine times.  Four times he rated 7 or above, including two 8's.  His average rating was 5.6 to Hunt's 5.5.  One will win the award and the other didn't get a nomination.

Do you have Oliver's ratings handy by any chance?

4 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Do you have Oliver's ratings handy by any chance?

Oliver played 13 games and rated five or more 8 times.  He rated above 5 seven times.  Five times he rated 7.

His average rating was 5.4.

He has all the hallmarks of becoming a very good player for us - regardless of a nomination for a pretty meaningless award in the scheme of things.

I would far prefer he carries on next year and builds on 2016 without an award, than stagnate the year following winning the award as the 2015 winner did. 

37 minutes ago, ProDee said:

This is a better comparison than Rioli - small forwards are notoriously inconsistent ( except if your Eddie Betts).

Is there big fluff in football than the weekly rising star - they usually get the winner right  but the weekly award is a nonsense. 

13 minutes ago, nutbean said:

This is a better comparison than Rioli - small forwards are notoriously inconsistent ( except if your Eddie Betts).

Is there big fluff in football than the weekly rising star - they usually get the winner right  but the weekly award is a nonsense. 

Yes, they are.  I suspect the panel takes a look at consistency with the RS weekly nominations even if it's not mentioned as a factor in their guidelines.

it's no real biggie for me, but Hunt has had a great first year and for players like Rioli to have been nominated ahead of him shows a flaw in the makeup of this award.

He's extremely stiff not to get a nomination no doubt, but long term i don't think it matters, you can see already that he's going to be a huge part of the side going forward and i reckon he adds a real point of difference to the side, the forwards must love seeing him charging through the middle of the ground, but he's also super hard and committed at the contest, i am not sure if he will play most of his footy as a running defender or as a wingman, but i think he'll be in our best 10 players for the next decade! i couldn't be more excited to see what he and many others produce after another pre season under Goodwin and Macca