Posted

Right hand side

Posted

Right hand side

Some TLA's are harder than others.

Posted

Howe's got an opportunistic manager who's taken big bets on Howe's next contract, potentially at Howe's expense, and definitely at the club's expense.

I reckon Howe's marked his ticket with the club as a result.

Posted

Rather...we marked his !!

Posted

yes...saw also. Immediately thought Howey aint staying

Or maybe its just because Hogan won Rising Star and Vince Best n Fairest.

Someone had to state the obvious

Posted

Yes..granted.

What I noticed was the haste. Not sure if anyone else ever notices ( yes Im sure many do ) but a lot of things on the MFC website take a while to change. Yes it could be purely coincidental that the two stars took over the wall paper but I think its very much about positioning identities..i.e those that WILL be around in 2016.

Supposedly according to the great unwashed ol Howey is one of our greatest drawcards..a PR dream etc etc etc

Again..was more just my first reaction....right or wrong :)

Posted

Noted that Jeremy has been replaced with HOGAN! on the RHS of the MFC website...

Jones isn't there either.... traded for Melksham :rolleyes:

(I wouldn't read anything into that- they put up the B&F and Rising Star winners)

Posted

GWS would surely be laughing their heads off right now at this situation. They basically caused it by giving Howe's management a wildly inaccurate representation of his worth when they knew it was too late for the trade to even happen.

Posted

This has gone on for too long now, and I think the Club must have serious reservations about whether Jeremy Howe is fair dinkum about playing for the jumper and with his team mates, which might sound old-fashioned but still much more important than playing for the dollar. I think he has done his dash now, and I reckon the Club should trade him.

Which is an excellent place to start to really establish a culture.

WE say Jeremy we are fair dinkum. We are going to be strong for the next 5 -10 years building around a core of players who really want to play for the club and get results that gets us the flag. When we have that success our memberships will increase and our ability to draw sponsors will increase. We are offering you and all our players a low salary based on where we finished on the ladder. If your performance with that of your teammates improves with the above results your salary will be increased.

Its based on performance and if you perform above the level of the Hawks and the Eagles etc we will be able to pay more.

Jesse and others have shown the desire and they will begin with a greater share of the pot. If you want to increase your share you will have to do more.

Thanks Jeremy we are happy to offer you a contract for 6 years at that base level with significant success bonuses. There may even be one for the best mark but it will be linked to conversion from that mark. We will allow you to leave if you are offered more if you improve and we dont, but we reckon with you our team will be able to give all the success you want. Ask the other boys and if you want to share it we will be happy to have you aboard.

We want a great team not just a good one we are putting every resource into that effort and want you to as well.

Get back to us quickly coz pre season starts now.

Posted

The flip side of this is that it may well be the reality check he needs. If he stays I wouldn't be surprised if he had a great year.

Posted

WE say Jeremy we are fair dinkum. We are going to be strong for the next 5 -10 years building around a core of players who really want to play for the club and get results that gets us the flag. When we have that success our memberships will increase and our ability to draw sponsors will increase. We are offering you and all our players a low salary based on where we finished on the ladder. If your performance with that of your teammates improves with the above results your salary will be increased.

Its based on performance and if you perform above the level of the Hawks and the Eagles etc we will be able to pay more.

Jesse and others have shown the desire and they will begin with a greater share of the pot. If you want to increase your share you will have to do more.

Thanks Jeremy we are happy to offer you a contract for 6 years at that base level with significant success bonuses. There may even be one for the best mark but it will be linked to conversion from that mark. We will allow you to leave if you are offered more if you improve and we dont, but we reckon with you our team will be able to give all the success you want. Ask the other boys and if you want to share it we will be happy to have you aboard.

We want a great team not just a good one we are putting every resource into that effort and want you to as well.

Forget a "low salary", how about "fair market value" ?

Posted

Jones isn't there either.... traded for Melksham :rolleyes:

(I wouldn't read anything into that- they put up the B&F and Rising Star winners)

Jones is there however on the graphic for Membership alongside Bernie :)

Posted

GWS would surely be laughing their heads off right now at this situation. They basically caused it by giving Howe's management a wildly inaccurate representation of his worth when they knew it was too late for the trade to even happen.

Given the players GWS hemorrhage every year, our troubles with Jeremy is small fish...

Posted

Nope, that's too obvious for us here on DL. We need something way more in the shadows than that, how else could we keep up MFCSS and the like?

Posted

If he were to stay at Melbourne, given that no other club has shown interest at his asking price, i would be significantly reducing his contract $. The past year has been appalling, he wants more money? Why don't you earn it Jeremy?

Could say that to approximately >50% of the list though :(

Posted

One very large problem with this is that the AFL deem we must pay 100% of the salary cap, that means if we pay many less money then we would have to be paying a few heaps.

Posted

One very large problem with this is that the AFL deem we must pay 100% of the salary cap, that means if we pay many less money then we would have to be paying a few heaps.

Earlier response was with "Low" change to fair market based, so yes that would be the rate and yes some players would be on "heaps" based on their performance. That heaps would be a fixed rate plus incentives, plus bonus, and improvement based on performance improvement. It could be a problem but insignificant if addressed properly

Posted

Earlier response was with "Low" change to fair market based, so yes that would be the rate and yes some players would be on "heaps" based on their performance. That heaps would be a fixed rate plus incentives, plus bonus, and improvement based on performance improvement. It could be a problem but insignificant if addressed properly

Would be difficult to get around as you need to pay 100% next year and then 100% the year after but you would have a whole lot of players who had improved and under contract you would have to pay them more, especially as the bonuses etc can't exceed the extra cap allowed for that purpose.

It is easier on a whole of list basis to do as they do now which is front end contracts so we are paying more now to a lot of players with the view that as we pay them less we have room to pay the young players who are improving more. It is counter intuitive to pay more now and less next year when you have improved more but it is the only way to make it work.

One downside is we could end up with another Frawley situation where the only reason he was an unrestricted free agent was because we front ended his contract so he wasn't being paid much in the last year. If you averaged his wage he was in the top 10 paid and would have been a restricted free agent. Hopefully we don't fall in that trap with the likes of Hogan in the future.

Posted

Giants are going to want as many picks as they can get for Treloar to help get the academy players they have, so if the pies want Howe they're either going to have to include another club in the trade or cough up a best 22 player.

Posted

Not sure if this has been mentioned and i don't have time to trawl through 49 pages but, I received our membership renewal today and there is an option to have a player of your choice on your membership card. There are 10 to choose from but alas, no Jeremy Howe.

Ominous

Posted

Never really been interested in fair.

Howes a spud and so are you the guys worth 390 k a season he's manager is a spud also

Howes that a treble !