View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

No Training - Wednesday 18th February, 2015

After the debacle on Monday, I hope the club has decided to persevere with the concept of training. :lol:

Looking forward to informative reports and trust there will be no personal attacks on those who take the trouble of informing us with their reports.

No problem with criticism or discussion but zero tolerance for rancorous posts attacking our players or those who post reports.

Thanks

Is there a session today? I thought that tomorrow's session and intra club at Casey replaced today's.

After the debacle on Monday, I hope the club has decided to persevere with the concept of training. :lol:

Looking forward to informative reports and trust there will be no personal attacks on those who take the trouble of informing us with their reports.

No problem with criticism or discussion but zero tolerance for rancorous posts attacking our players or those who post reports.

Thanks

...and those who post benign opinions.

Training wasn't on this morning, so because I have been to nearly every training session, went to the Tigers training this morning to compare notes, if you don't want to read just skip, will do as similar to my MFC reports

9 in rehab, including Martin and Petterd (surprise), Hampson was doing slow laps, he looked exhausted, but he gets to go to bed each night with Megan Gale so perhaps not that surprising

Similar ball movement drills involving lesser numbers, but strangely did not involve the ruck division

Also ball retention and movement by hand ball, there was a lot a waist grabbing and spinning type tackling, too much risk of head clashes for mine

The breaks between drills were longer than MFC, and one was particularly disorganised, coaches had to keep getting the numbers right

Hardwick and Williams sat high in the stand to watch the full field ball movement drill

Cotchin not very vocal which surprised me, compared to Dunn and Nathan Jones, Newman the most vocal

So much for Reiwoldt being a reformed character, in one drill he led and had the ball delivered to his feet which he mishandled, immediately stopped participating in the drill which went for about another 20 seconds, trudged back to sideline, think is was Ruttem who said "you can't get the lace out all the time Jack", to which Jack replied "not at my [censored] feet though",, couldn't see Roos wearing that behaviour

Rance and Vickery had a nice little tussle at the end that got quite willing

Any questions feel free as per normal

Hard to tell from one training session TDI, but how would you rate the level of training compared to ours?

This is all personal 'opinion', the intensity was not the same, and some of them were blowing hard, Brandon Ellis and Houli the standouts

Tthanks TDI I think you are a real tragic (And I mean that in a complimentary sense)

Personally I hope you never get a job if you can keep yourself alive and entertained through providing training reports. I dont know how you would have the time to prepare and attend for job interviews.

Perhaps you need to emphasis your diligence, loyalty and resilience to prospective employers.

Good luck

Look forward to your analysis of other clubs it adds to your credibility when reporting on our clubs activities.

Just dont bother displaying any guns pics

Wow, you sometimes tend to forget that there are other clubs, thanks for checking out the Tigs training, nice change.

Tthanks TDI I think you are a real tragic (And I mean that in a complimentary sense)

Personally I hope you never get a job if you can keep yourself alive and entertained through providing training reports. I dont know how you would have the time to prepare and attend for job interviews.

Perhaps you need to emphasis your diligence, loyalty and resilience to prospective employers.

Good luck

Look forward to your analysis of other clubs it adds to your credibility when reporting on our clubs activities.

Just dont bother displaying any guns pics

Mornings are scooting, auctions and training, afternoons are sitting in café on the internet looking for jobs and reading Demonland/Twitter

I got a pic of Dustin Martin for a little joke on Twitter

I was more curious myself, Hardwick is talking them up, so I thought I would have a squiz, love Reiwoldt as a goal kicker and marking forward, he is good to watch, but his behaviour sometimes is deplorable and spoils it, reckon if he had answered like that to Miller or Rawlings they would snot him

Re ball movement by foot, similar to MFC, very little pressure or opposition, unless the ball was mishit or wrong option taken, similar results to MFC about 5% poor kicks in the drills

Edited by The Devil Inside

Another interesting bit, they have lines marked radiating out to the fifty at various angles from the centre of the goal line, didn't see them used, but maybe for goal kicking practice

I used to really enjoy the Frawley V Riewoldt match up although I'm hoping this year Sam Frost will be able to bring out the inner petulant, dummy spitting, sulk in Jack

Thanks for the report on the tiges TDI. I always enjoy your reports and today is no exception.

Listening to David King on pure footy last week he spoke about how much you can get out of watching preseason training and he believes that it is hard to judge particular players improvement, but you can get a rough idea of where a playing list is at by how much voice there is. While voice at training is obviously not going to put goals on the board during a game, being vocal can create a training atmosphere that challenges players to train at the highest standard. He used Geelong as an example where the voice is constant and "they pretty much train themselves."

Where do you rate the level of talk from our training compared to the tigers?

Thanks for the link 'TDI', interesting to hear what Col had to say about 'H' and how much of a positive impact he has had on the group.

Thanks for the report on the tiges TDI. I always enjoy your reports and today is no exception.

Listening to David King on pure footy last week he spoke about how much you can get out of watching preseason training and he believes that it is hard to judge particular players improvement, but you can get a rough idea of where a playing list is at by how much voice there is. While voice at training is obviously not going to put goals on the board during a game, being vocal can create a training atmosphere that challenges players to train at the highest standard. He used Geelong as an example where the voice is constant and "they pretty much train themselves."

Where do you rate the level of talk from our training compared to the tigers?

It is a good question,, I have complimented Dunny three times for his 'voice' at training, he and Nathan Jones are constantly driving the squad, Dawes is another vocal one at training and Grimes so the leadership group is just that

As I said previously didn't hear much from Cotchin, Rance and Newman were very vocal, as was Reiwoldt,

When MFC are jogging laps in rehab (which they all hate), there is usually good encouragement, didn't hear much from the squad when their rehabbers went past

There is also another Reiwoldt gem that I was going to save and put later, as Martin jogged past, and the squad was on a break Reiwoldt said "jogging a bit slow there Dusty, must be all the cash in your pockets"

Thanks for the link 'TDI', interesting to hear what Col had to say about 'H' and how much of a positive impact he has had on the group.

Reason I advertised it, not one of the usual media suspects and he thinks about his answers

Thanks for the report Saty, surprisingly interesting to see the comparison.

Much appreciated.

With all this time on your hands, maybe you could have a look at a couple of the others?

TDI we need you to visit the Hawks in training to work out what they are doing right. You know heading for three in a row and hardly an injury amongst the list, ten or so players with 200 plus games but still playing their best footy with no physical impediments. What is their secret?

Hello TDI. I have the same curiosity as Earl. After all the Mfc trainings you've seen, I'm curious how you or others compare theirs to ours?

There you go TDI, the gauntlet has been thrown down. But why stop at Hawthorn? Pies, Dogs, Blues, Saints ...