Posted

Straight talking or another riddle?

Demons happy to take top picks to draft

I have a feeling that something outstanding would need to come up in the last hours of trading to cause us to give away picks 2 or 3 and that eventuality seems unlikely.

Seems straight.... Unfortunately

Posted

"There will be some good free agents this time next year and we will go hard at those" = "You idiots Adelaide, you should have done the deal for Dangerfield while you had the chance"

Or so I like to think, anyway :)

Posted

doesnt actually rule out something though does he...just saying

Posted

The poor [censored] has worked his tail off and got nothing done.

Ambition outweighed by the stench of mediocrity.

Can you tell us what we had planned and what went wrong?

I don't doubt that we tried multiple things, but maybe we set our sights too high and missed on a possible Tyson type deal.

It's been a very disappointing trade period. With pick 2 & 3 we were in a great position to make a trade, so either we couldn't convince any good players to come our way, or we just couldn't get the deal done with the club.

Posted

Also uncooperative trade partners, I'm sure.

Walsh would have walked into Adelaide with the requisite overenthusiasm of a new coach, and predictably backed himself to retain Danger.

Fate also conspired against us, with the help of COLA controversy, a mindbogglingly stupid and ill-considered adjudication by the AFL on Sydney's trade capabilities, and Trengove's foot to prevent us from ever having a real chance at any Swans target, if there ever was one.

Posted

Folks...not to say anything WILL happen but if you know how auctions work then you'll understand very little of a serious nature actually comes into play until the hammers dropped twice and is on the way down again.. Then its game on for the wise and experienced.

We don't seem to have got anything over the line . But 'time gentlemen please' hasnt been called. Might depend on how desperate others are. . Something just might fall our way. I wouldnt bet that it will. I also wouldnt bet that it won't !!

Posted

"There will be some good free agents this time next year and we will go hard at those" = "You idiots Adelaide, you should have done the deal for Dangerfield while you had the chance"

No, they definitely should have.

The only uncertainty is whether it will be us who he leaves them for.

Posted

Absolutely what he is saying.

Posted

Mahoney saying that we're happy to go to the drafts with 2 and 3 is what he should be saying. It means don't offer us shlt if youre serious about a deal as we dont NEED to deal....but , have open ears !!

Posted

No, they definitely should have.

The only uncertainty is whether it will be us who he leaves them for.

As I've said before, why the hell would he come to us next year?

We've lost the only great advantage we had in those top picks and he'll end up at either Hawthorn or Geelong - they'll have no trouble rustling up some money for him.

We missed the boat.

Posted

BUTTERFLY EFFECT

------------------------------

Time: Next year

Place: Lots of players and coaches at different clubs

Result: Who knows has to be positive though....

Posted

I agree. That's where our $6m over 6 years will be. Feel a lot better with that trade than i would feel with the Boyd trade.

Posted

Can you tell us what we had planned and what went wrong?

I don't doubt that we tried multiple things, but maybe we set our sights too high and missed on a possible Tyson type deal.

It's been a very disappointing trade period. With pick 2 & 3 we were in a great position to make a trade, so either we couldn't convince any good players to come our way, or we just couldn't get the deal done with the club

I've shared most of what I know in the past couple of weeks.

I think a succession of unexpected events out of our control has had an effect.

McCartney

Griffin

Walsh

The hold up with Beams and Ryder

But the real killer was JT's foot. pick 12 was the sweetener.

I'll put it out there - JT's foot is fine, we get Danger. c'est la vie

Posted

As I've said before, why the hell would he come to us next year?

We've lost the only great advantage we had in those top picks and he'll end up at either Hawthorn or Geelong - they'll have no trouble rustling up some money for him.

We missed the boat.

watch this space. ducks are already in a row with a willing participant.

Of course 5 other clubs will pony up the big cash and we'll be in a shootout.

Posted

On the other hand, this from my mate Ash Browne

@afl_hashbrowne: Spare me the vitriol about footy administrators telling fibs. Its part of their job description. #tradeperiod #tomboyd #ryangriffen

Posted

Straight talking or another riddle?

Demons happy to take top picks to draft

I have a feeling that something outstanding would need to come up in the last hours of trading to cause us to give away picks 2 or 3 and that eventuality seems unlikely.

Reading between the lines I think Mahoney is speaking in code and telling us that we've secured Dangerfield, Kennedy and Beams and are waiting until 1.45 tomorrow to make the announcement. Bang, bang!

Posted

Chook , where as Ducks ARE creatures of habit and WILL return I'm not so convinced that what might have been tantilisingly close currently will automatically reappear in 12 months.

Posted

I'm ok with where we are at. Its a situation where we trade picks, and people will say are we ever going to back ourselves in and develop good talent, or we don't and people say we get no where with young talent.

Obviously Pick 3 for a player and a another lower first round selection is a template that worked last year, but if the player is not there, then keep the picks, get an impact player straight away, Brayshaw and / or Petracca can be these players.

A lot of talk, a lot of so called information, I said last week we were keeping the picks and I believed it as the person works at the club. But for everyone that believes what I say, there are others that believe Chook or GNF or other posters, but to quote the football saying of 2014.. it is what it is.

Posted

Awesome, the Dangerfield thread will be 300 pages by this time next year.