Posted

I would choose Brayshaw.

My preferred 2 and 3 is Brayshaw and McCartin.

Will be happy with Brayshaw and whoever the club rates though.

Am glad we have the two picks. We're more than likely to take Brayshaw with one and that seems universally sound. The other... apparently we ought to get another half way decent player prospect of one kind or another.

Whichever the pair i hope theyre on the first plane our of brisvegas friday morning and at Goschs by my morning coffee :)

not long now....lol

Posted

Knightmare has now completed the final update of his phantom draft. For those who don't know him, he's usually pretty spot-on.

1. McCartin

2. Petracca

3. Brayshaw

19.Lever

Are you sure about that order. I just checked and Knightmare has Petracca at 1.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/knightmares-2014-phantom-draft.1060197/

Posted

Knightmare has now completed the final update of his phantom draft. For those who don't know him, he's usually pretty spot-on.

1. McCartin

2. Petracca

3. Brayshaw

19.Lever

Really?

He's not afraid to have an opinion, and goes very early, which is to be admired, but "pretty spot-on"?

I think not.

Posted

Are you sure about that order. I just checked and Knightmare has Petracca at 1.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/knightmares-2014-phantom-draft.1060197/

That was his first draft I think (dated April)... he has since updated it and now has McCartin going at Pick #1.

His phantom draft also has Reece McKenzie still available for us at Pick #40, and I hope this is the case come tomorrow night. He is the best forward in the draft in my opinion (including McCartin and Wright). Brayshaw, Petracca, and McKenzie would be a MASSIVE win for us. MASSIVE!

Posted

Names such as Lucas Cook and Jordan Gysberts come to mind.

Remember this quote from BP?

"There was a bit of pressure with No.11 and expectation that we would go tall with that pick because it was seen as a pretty big need," he said. "Gysberts probably wasn't really rated that highly in the industry, and maybe a lot of people were surprised at the time." (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/jordan-gysberts-key-to-melbournes-engine-room/story-e6frf9jf-1226081585751)

That, my friend, was the definition of a reach, and look how it panned out.

Now I have more faith in our current group of recruiters, but I still pray that we just pick two of Petracca/Brayshaw/McCartin.

That's not a reach. That's rating a kid higher than what seems to be the consensus.

A "reach" is a nonsense term anyway.

A "reach" would be drafting a kid earlier than you have him in a strict ranking system, because you are enamoured with his type and are worried he won't be there at a later pick.

What other teams

Posted

Saints supporters reckon Petracca will leave for Collingwood in 2 years. I tend to agree, he doesn't seem the loyal type.

good lord.....

Posted

Saints supporters reckon Petracca will leave for Collingwood in 2 years. I tend to agree, he doesn't seem the loyal type.

lol

Posted

This'll be good...

Why not?

Posted

He is 18 years old...

Do you think that the judgements made by people when you were 18 can be fairly extrapolated for a decision like this?

Posted

That's fine.

In the same vein as GWS/Bulldogs, we'll take Pendlebury and a top 5 pick for Petracca.

Happy days.

Posted

That's not a reach. That's rating a kid higher than what seems to be the consensus.

A "reach" is a nonsense term anyway.

A "reach" would be drafting a kid earlier than you have him in a strict ranking system, because you are enamoured with his type and are worried he won't be there at a later pick.

What other teams

In our case, I still believe that Lever would be a 'reach' - If you go by the rumour that he was the reason we tried to acquire pick 12. If we're enamored with him, but valued him as a mid first-rounder, we shouldn't be passing up better footballers just because we like him. Then again that rumour was quite possibly (probably) off the mark, so who really knows.

Posted

God people come out with some crap. Prestia's family are massive Demons supporters, I don't see him begging to come home. These guys are professional footballers, once in the system they would completely forget about who they barracked for as a kid.

Posted

This post is a textbook case of how footy fans make stupid character judgements based on nothing.

I nominate your post for worst post of the day.

Posted

He is 18 years old...

Do you think that the judgements made by people when you were 18 can be fairly extrapolated for a decision like this?

I don't think he's experienced his 18th year yet, so it's probably an unfair question...

Posted (edited)

In our case, I still believe that Lever would be a 'reach' - If you go by the rumour that he was the reason we tried to acquire pick 12. If we're enamored with him, but valued him as a mid first-rounder, we shouldn't be passing up better footballers just because we like him. Then again that rumour was quite possibly (probably) off the mark, so who really knows.

...but what if we rate him a better footballer.

Should we pass him up just because all the so called draft experts and most on 'Demonland' think we should.

Edited by rjay

Posted

...but what if we rate him a better footballer.

Should we pass him up just because all the so called draft experts and most on 'Demonland' think we should.

Agreed. Honestly, when has a recruiter ever drafted someone thinking there were better options available?

It's the "who is best" question that has the most scope for variability, especially for top 10 pics, not all the other guff which are just 1%ers.

Posted

Lol, I knew I would get a response :P

I knew you would too although I am surprised - I was expecting you to be Barry Hall'ed ( deservedly) but you got Cale Morton'ed.

I think you got off lightly with being awarded "worst post of the day"

Posted

The fact that you guys all fell into the OBVIOUS trap is the thing I find funny

That's called being a troll, and a tosser. Bugger off.