Jack Trengove re-injures his navicular (2014) - trade deal off

Posted

Does it not bother you just a little that Brisbane have refused to give more than pick 5 for him, yet we are presumably going to dump Trengove to get our hands on pick 12 because pick 3 alone isn't enough for the Pies?

That's Crazy Vossy territory. Inviting the Pies to bend us over, just because Brisbane (of all clubs) refused to!

All this because we need to be, above all, "ruthless". We're only being "ruthless" to ourselves!

Pies must be in hysterics seeing what we're prepared to do to our self-respect, just to bid overs for someone who wants to leave anyway.

No, I think pick 5 & 25 is unders for him too & the Pies have simply walked away. I think Pick 3 & 12 would be a win-win Roosy special for either of Danger or Beams. Beams at 24 years of age has shown as much & accomplished as much as very few before him. Judd went for pick 2 or 3 & Kennedy who was a top 5 pick also. Plus I DON'T RATE McCartin or Wight anywhere near as highly as others here, I actually think this is a weak draft & the most certain players for mine are Petracca, Brayshaw & Heeney! That's just my opinion & I really doubt the saints or whoever ends up with pick 1 won't take Petracca. Hence why the saints were happy to look at trading down.

Posted

The thing that I continually come back to in all this is the constitution of the list, and in particular the midfield

Trengove could ..after spending a season getting fit and touching the footy again become a very good player. Being the type of player he is, how much value is he to the playing list?

And in reality after a season out of footy, will we get anything significant out of him before 2016? By that time does his trade value plummet when he is uncontracted?

We need to be pragamatic.

Posted

A serious question to the masses

of the 50 years since we last won a flag (im an 80s baby so i've only really followed for the last 15 - 20 years), we've had probably 10 - 12 really strong years, a lot of [censored] years and some mediocre times.

How willing as a club are we to be ruthless for success one way or the other??

There is a fine line here between ruthlessness and stupidity - but we've seen the big clubs make big moves how willing are we?

My opinion is, here we have a guy who is the ultimate team player. Makes sacrifices for the team. Plays whatever role he's asked to. Never sooks and is the last to raise the white flag when we are getting flogged. That makes him the exact opposite of the characters that have almost killed this club over the last 10 years. For example, we should have traded Frawley last year (I know things are easy with hindsight, and in the end we probably got more for him than we would have anyway) because he is a sook and massive white flag raiser and not the kind of senior player we need amongst our group. Trengove is the kind we need around and that alone is enough for mine for the club to show him some commitment and belief that he can become a very good player. We are now sending a message that we don't even appreciate the ones who do seem to give a $hite.

Posted

Uncle Fester, would you trade others before Trenners?

would you trade Howe or Grimes or Garland, for said necessary pick ???

I'd trade almost every player on the list for the right price. And that price is that we become a better team for the trade.

I don't want to lose Jack. I really don't. And I'd be filthy if it was just for a pick on some 17 year old, but if it lands us an A grader then I say do it.

Posted (edited)

My opinion is, here we have a guy who is the ultimate team player. Makes sacrifices for the team. Plays whatever role he's asked to. Never sooks and is the last to raise the white flag when we are getting flogged. That makes him the exact opposite of the characters that have almost killed this club over the last 10 years. For example, we should have traded Frawley last year (I know things are easy with hindsight, and in the end we probably got more for him than we would have anyway) because he is a sook and massive white flag raiser and not the kind of senior player we need amongst our group. Trengove is the kind we need around and that alone is enough for mine for the club to show him some commitment and belief that he can become a very good player. We are now sending a message that we don't even appreciate the ones who do seem to give a $hite.

I can't answer that as I don't know the reasoning for the trade - at the moment it's an assumption we're trading a bloke who wishes to stay (we dont' know that for sure)

All I am asking is how willing are you to make the hard moves to win games and win consistently?

Take the emotion out of the equation - We all love Trenners but, there are no gaurentee that Trengove will ever be 100% again - are you willing to make a move for a bloke who can?

It's a tough question isn't it?

Edited by Unleash Hell

Posted

Im still waiting to see what other names get thrown up...as per Anderson's tweet.

Theres a lot more to all of this than meets the eye.

I have a hunch tat what many are considering here as possibilities is really "littel league" compared to what the Club is working on.

How well has this club kept info in house of late. Been like Fort knox....Suddenly we get this little tid bits and a player on the trade rack ?

c'mon... the game's afoot !!

Posted

AlrIght I'll ask it... What could we get for Garland?

Posted

I can't answer that as I don't know the reasoning for the trade - at the moment it's an assumption we're trading a bloke who wishes to stay (we dont' know that for sure)

All I am asking is how willing are you to make the hard moves to win games and win consistently?

Take the emotion out of the equation - We all love Trenners but, there are no gaurentee that Trengove will ever be 100% again - are you willing to make a move for a bloke who can?

It's a tough question isn't it?

I guess my answer is that I would not make the hard call on a bloke who has shown exactly the kind of attitude our club desperately needs.

I would be prepared to make the call on others who have probably performed better overall on the field than Trengove recently because it is pretty clear with some on our list that the team and club are not the first priority. Happy for them to be sent wherever the club likes.

Posted (edited)

Gee the guy is a slow average player.

Not sure what all the Agro is about

Schwab was on to something when he made him and Grimes co-captains. He knows the value of handsome clean cut pin up boys. It's that intangible X factor with no substance that send teenagers into hysterics for no logical reason. Callow football supporters are just as susceptable. The net total of their productivity does not add up to the adulation. They reconcile themselves that next season will be the breakout year. Edited by america de cali

Posted

Heckled?

Haha nah I wouldn't have thought much. You need someone else to be interested to get anything for him in the first place.

don't get me wrong I like Garland he's a decent player and maybe a project forward for 2015? But he's no world beater. Would love to see him and some of the other boys have some success

Posted

I guess my answer is that I would not make the hard call on a bloke who has shown exactly the kind of attitude our club desperately needs.

I would be prepared to make the call on others who have probably performed better overall on the field than Trengove recently because it is pretty clear with some on our list that the team and club are not the first priority. Happy for them to be sent wherever the club likes.

I guess those blokes (I am sure it won't be hard to guess who you're refering to) don't have any value and moving them on isn't really a big deal

It's the Trengove or Toump or Nev Jet kind of trades (not saying we should trade any of them) that get the results.

Its a tough game and Wins aren't getting any easier - All i can really think of to justify the Trengove trade is he is not 100% and may never be again and that's why they're willing to move him on for the right price. He actually has value

Posted

http://www.aflplayerratings.com.au/Ratings/Player/113555/Jack-TRENGOVE

Look at this analytically.

Forget that he was a pick 2 and a former captain. We really don't have time for those sentimental decisions. They are at least best made now when morale and belief in Roos is high not in a couple of years time when it goes full McCartney.

Trengove can certainly play. But he doesn't have a natural position. Too slow to play outside. Not dynamic enough to play inside. Doesn't have the skills for half back or the x factor forward.

Our inside mids are Cross, Jones, Vince, Tyson Viney. Our outside mids should be Lumumba, Watts, Toumpas etc. It's not a strong group. But if Trengove isn't better than Michie, Riley or Toumpas what's the difference?

My biggest problem with the deal is it's 12 for 23 and is a 2 for 1 deal. If the Tigers throw in pick 49 as well as we can on trade that for Frost then I'm more interested (presuming we need that for Frost and/or can get someone else in the PSD.

Trenners at full fitness is a natural ball hunter has an a knack of impacting the contest and was useful as a forward when resting. I rate the man from what we saw pre Neeld and dont underestimate the the negative effect said career wrecker had.

Trenners is slow but not as slow as his injury seasons suggest. He can cut it like many slowish pro's have. I agree with many on this thread it would want to be more than 12 ( used in a big deal ) and 12 and 23 for him is a disgrace.

The club could have kept things quiet or requested Richmond do so until a deal was done. I think he deserves better and if he stays will be great for the club.

Posted

I guess those blokes (I am sure it won't be hard to guess who you're refering to) don't have any value and moving them on isn't really a big deal

It's the Trengove or Toump or Nev Jet kind of trades (not saying we should trade any of them) that get the results.

Its a tough game and Wins aren't getting any easier - All i can really think of to justify the Trengove trade is he is not 100% and may never be again and that's why they're willing to move him on for the right price. He actually has value

I don't disagree that sometimes you have to make a big call if you want to win big.

My view on the MFC is that our poor performances, especially over the last 2 or 3 years, are far more related to the attitudes of the players (and the lack of expectations that are put on them and the never ending excuses that are provided and accepted by supporters) than the talent of the players. Trengove has the right attitude so we need him badly.

Posted

Not much at all.

Posted

Jack Trengove is a Loyal club orientated player

That I admire

But I have never relay rated him overly high as a player .

Hes injuries have compounded his problems unfortunately

I understand how some would like to repay that Loyalty .

I would too, if I could be guaranteed he would produce next season .

However once again this is another unknown factor

So its possible we could be in another case of we are damned if we do and damned if we don't.

The difference for me this time is I have faith in Roosy and that he will do what is best for the club .

Yep interesting times and another roller coaster ride for all of us

But we as supporters have been there before on that roller coaster and have filled those sick bags substantially.

This time however I hope to complete the ride with my Stomach intact and enjoy the outcomes what ever they may be :)

Posted (edited)

When has Jack dominated a game since the sling tackle??

Do you go out of your way to embarrass yourself so his foot is fine put the sling tackle he laid on Dangerfield has stalled his career. You my friend as you prove time and time again have selective memory, I give you a list of things Trenners does but you fire back with has Jack dominated a game since that tackle, is that the best you have got.

What did Trengove get for that tackle 3 weeks from memory and in either his first or second game back he dominated against Essendon, he was also good in several other games in the second half of that season and this is the big key for me in a player and you should know this because FMD we hear about it every other week from you. How old was Trenners in 186, about 19 years of age, he was almost the only player for us that day who stood up and refused to be a statue. He chased and tackled and stood up as a leader.

His importance to the playing group can not be underestimated and as I have said many times every player has a price, Pick 12 for Trenners as part of a big deal to get an A-Grader to improve the team I may not like but I can deal with it. Pick 12 in return for Trenners and pick 23 no way.

If this is Richmond offering a deal and Trenners goes to check out their club before we sit down with them and say listen you can have him for Pick 12 but forget about Pick 23, we will give you player x instead then again whilst not being happy I can deal with it.

So lets just cut the carp about Trenners being slow and not a good player, I can name you numerous players who had injury riddled seasons and looked less than they had previously shown. Only to show their true worth once back to full fitness

Edited by Pennant St Dee
Posted

They are all quicker than Trengove and apart from Suckling and Malceski all can play inside.

Your opinion is not fact and you do understand the difference between speed and having the ability to run all day and create space, because those I have named are mostly those sort of players.

I watched Daniel Rich through juniors right up to his current level, please don't insult my intelligence he is not quicker than Trenners he is in fact slower he is not great inside and his main weapon is his booming left foot kick

Simpson, McVeigh & Beams are not in any shape or form quick players they have great fitness bases and run all day you can throw Swan into that category also

Goddard and Bartel are slower than Trengove IMO but they are A graders and very good marks for their size

Posted

Do you go out of your way to embarrass yourself so his foot is fine put the sling tackle he laid on Dangerfield has stalled his career. You my friend as you prove time and time again have selective memory, I give you a list of things Trenners does but you fire back with has Jack dominated a game since that tackle, is that the best you have got.

What did Trengove get for that tackle 3 weeks from memory and in either his first or second game back he dominated against Essendon, he was also good in several other games in the second half of that season in other games and this is the big key for me in a player and you should know this because FMD we hear about it every other week from you. How old was Trenners in 186, about 19 years of age, he was almost the only player for us that day who stood up and refused to be a statue. He chased and tackled and stood up as a leader.

His importance to the playing group can not be underestimated and as I have said many times every player has a price, Pick 12 for Trenners as part of a big deal to get an A-Grader to improve the team I may not like but I can deal with it. Pick 12 in return for Trenners and pick 23 no way.

If this is Richmond offering a deal and Trenners goes to check out their club before we sit down with them and say listen you can have him for Pick 12 but forget about Pick 23, we will give you player x instead then again whilst not being happy I can deal with it.

So lets just cut the carp about Trenners being slow and not a good player, I can name you numerous players who had injury riddled seasons and looked less than they had previously shown. Only to show their true worth once back to full fitness

but when has he dominated a game?

And sadly he is slow....

Posted

but when has he dominated a game?

And sadly he is slow....

read it again, as I said above he dominated in the game against Essendon when he came back from his suspension, it was either his first or second week back. You have a computer you check it, but trust me he dominated. In fact get yourself stupefyinly drunk and sit through a replay of 186 turn the sound down and just watch Trengove.

and WYL you do realise there is more to Trengove than being a dominant player don't you. Nick Maxwell when did he ever dominate a game, Darren Glass, Richie Vanden Burg, Gary O'Donnell do you understand the roles each player plays in a side and kicking goals, breaking out of packs is not the only form of leadership

Posted

I can name you numerous players who had injury riddled seasons and looked less than they had previously shown. Only to show their true worth once back to full fitness

Of course. But there are a lot more players who go the other way.

Also, it's not as if he'd had 5 or 6 great years, and then a year off with an ACL, Trengove has never had one breakout year, yet alone a succession of standout seasons -he's just not had a chance to get going or established.

I can certainly understand Richmond fans being wary of this deal (if it's true). If you judge Trengove by what he's actually done rather than what he did as an 18 year old, it's hard to see much that he's put on the field that would justify a particularly high pick.

Posted

Who said we are treating him like crap? Could be done like this:

"Look, trenners, we have a massive deal in the works to improve the clubs list but the only player they are interested in is you to get us what we need to do the deal. They are offering you big bucks & security of a 3 year contract which at this stage given your injury concerns & given what we've already invested in you, we are not willing to match at this time. Are you interested in having a look?" The rest is up to trenners, he can't & won't go unless he wants to & if he, having been witness to all the crap this club is coming out from can't see why we'd entertain such a trade then he is not as bright as I believe him to be. He may be disappointed, but he still has his own destiny in his hands.

That would be known as 'management spin': glossing out certain parts of the record as part of the official pitch despite them being an elephant in the room.

If I were Trenners, and I was thinking clearly and being honest with myself, I would wonder why:

1) Opposition clubs ONLY wanted me despite the fact I only played 2 games the previous year and haven't had a good year form wise since 2011. The likelihood of a club ONLY wanting a player who has had a patchy three years doesn't make a great deal of sense.

2) I was captain up until 2013 (the youngest in history as a matter of fact). That would say that the club saw that I was an investment worth making. I would wonder what exactly changed me from 10 year captain to trade bait. It surely couldn't just be that Richmond/Adelaide are making a good offer.

3) Getting caught up in ASADA, staying while everyone else left, being made captain and getting majorly hosed after the appointment, every other complaint made in this thread...

Posted

read it again, as I said above he dominated in the game against Essendon when he came back from his suspension, it was either his first or second week back. You have a computer you check it, but trust me he dominated. In fact get yourself stupefyinly drunk and sit through a replay of 186 turn the sound down and just watch Trengove.

and WYL you do realise there is more to Trengove than being a dominant player don't you. Nick Maxwell when did he ever dominate a game, Darren Glass, Richie Vanden Burg, Gary O'Donnell do you understand the roles each player plays in a side and kicking goals, breaking out of packs is not the only form of leadership

watching 186 will not change my stance.

You are clutching at straws mate.

I wanted Trengove to be a matchwinner but very sadly it just hasn't happened

And i doubt it will going forward.

I am not at all suprised his name has come up this week

Posted (edited)

watching 186 will not change my stance.

You are clutching at straws mate.

I wanted Trengove to be a matchwinner but very sadly it just hasn't happened

And i doubt it will going forward.

I am not at all suprised his name has come up this week

Right we'll agree to disagree but I aint clutching at straws, I'll back my footy knowledge and understanding of what components/players it takes to make up a side against yours any day of the week

Edited by Pennant St Dee