Posted

we will get shafted here, no doubt. This sounds pretty bad, but the only justice we will get out of this is if his comeback at a more successful club never materialises due to his body failing him. We're over a barrel here, the guy will have very little trade value, too big a risk to give up anything decent.

Posted

If he nominates an interstate team, then I'm a little more willing to cop it on the chin. But if he nominates a Victorian club then that is a massive slap in the face to us. We have been very understanding of his needs and his difficult situation, we have agreed to pay him out a massive contract, and after everything we've done for him I would expect the courtesy of us having first right of refusal.

That said I understand this is a difficult situation and his health should be the main focus. If it does eventuate that another club nabs him, there is no doubt in my mind we should get compensation from the AFL. We have handled this with great respect and dignity, and should recognised as such.

Posted

if this turns out to be true and doesn't give us more ammo for a PP, what more do they want?

Posted

if this turns out to be true and doesn't give us more ammo for a PP, what more do they want?

Blood, first born and more!!!

Posted (edited)

This is serious talk now. Mitch has deleted his tweet after retirement, not sure when, that said:

Thank you for everything demon family and @melbournefc I love you all! http://twitter.com/MitchClark11/status/477351079068188672/photo/1pic.twitter.com/rssnc9CaxO

Only place you'll find it on his feed is from RTs, the picture was him holding the jumper after beating Essendon

Edited by Pirlo

Posted

This is serious talk now. Mitch has deleted his tweet after retirement, not sure when, that said:

Thank you for everything demon family and @melbournefc I love you all! http://twitter.com/MitchClark11/status/477351079068188672/photo/1pic.twitter.com/rssnc9CaxO

Only place you'll find it on his feed is from RTs, the picture was him holding the jumper after beating Essendon

Is that really relevant though? Thousands of people already know he said it and he never appeared to be the kind of guy who'd lie about loyalty and feelings like that.

Posted

Showing yourself to be a waste of Demonland space yet again.

I'll wait for the facts on this one as he may not even make it back, but I expect that if he decides to play elsewhere that we play hard ball. Thankfully he is still on our list so it gives us some room to move.

If he does want to play elsewhere I'll be pretty disappointed in a bloke we showed faith in and supported during a dark period of his life.

I dont particularly like the word but its 'classic" meaning from middle ages is ....a nasty name for a nasty thing"

If what is now suspected of Clark is true........I reckon it would be fitting !!!

Posted

Only place you'll find it on his feed is from RTs

I don't get why he deletes the MFC support tweets. Even if he goes to another Vic Club it doesn't make sense.

Only makes sense if a) his brain is scrambled or 2) he had an EOS meeting with PR and it didn't go well and now he is spitting the dummy.

Posted

Being a medico over the years I have had many patients whom I have treated and considered close to.

There have been some instances when a family member has had a traumatic event or lost a loved one and they just move to another practice.

The concept of a fresh start with a totally different environment sometimes is seen in real life.

Posted

Mitch isn't devious, he's just not that bright.

maybe he is....or close to in a working fashion !!

Posted

It should also be said that this was exactly why he chose to retire, that this sort of talk would be damaging to his health. I hope he's feeling strong enough to withstand the s-storm coming his way if he is looking elsewhere.

Footy fans are fickle lot and I wouldn't be surprised if he copped plenty if he returned in different colours.

Posted

Is that really relevant though? Thousands of people already know he said it and he never appeared to be the kind of guy who'd lie about loyalty and feelings like that.

so it begs the question surely....why do it ?

Posted

so it begs the question surely....why do it ?

It's a reasonable point but if he were planning on trying to get to another club the entire time, wouldn't it be better for speculation in his case to keep that and other MFC tweets?

Posted

Being a medico over the years I have had many patients whom I have treated and considered close to.

There have been some instances when a family member has had a traumatic event or lost a loved one and they just move to another practice.

The concept of a fresh start with a totally different environment sometimes is seen in real life.

where would a pathological lair sit amongst all that....just asking...out of curiosity.

Seems to me that current actions dont altogether marry with past portrayal.

In short....Not a lot is lining up anymore. Some smell a rat.

Posted

It's a reasonable point but if he were planning on trying to get to another club the entire time, wouldn't it be better for speculation in his case to keep that and other MFC tweets?

exactly.... not much is making much sense. Maybe because it cant

Posted

I think the he said/she said, he did/he didn't is now irrelevant. The issue which is very relevant is the compensation we receive via trade for picks or player if he comes back. May be the reason Roos met with the magpies player!!!

Posted (edited)

In all this I stand by the MFC motto " Quando unis proxiimus alius mos propingus in vestro visio"!

Edited by Earl Hood
Posted

having had depression for a number of years & knowing a fair bit about it

i was a sceptic about mc 's depression & was thinking this looks & smells like he wants out of a lowly club

& wanting to get back to WA with his family; & will make a startling comeback :-).. with freo;.

he did NOT tick any box for depression..

it comes from an anxiety that has a catalyst !!

either EXTREME emotional loss through a family member or friend'

heavy financial loss or burden

or EXTREME physical injury or disease ( ie; cancer - loss of limb).

he had a million $ plus contract

a healthy happy family -lucky to have a beautiful wife & child who is a big support.

his extended family inj WA was the only missing link..

to a picture perfect life...

this smelled from the get go that after a plan with manager how do i get to freo without losing too much of the green..

as soon as he signed final OUT with MFC his whole body language changed & u couldn't wipe his smile away..

it seems extremely low grade behavior ; but hey i could be totally wrong..

where an apology would be due..

Posted

OK

What I struggle with:

If Mitch was as he suggests really crook and nearly beyond the blue and was given EVERYTHING possible by our club to help him and he comes to a point where he feels he CAN play footy again, why would you not say , something like:

I would like to thank and commend the Melbourne Football Club for its compassion and understanding of my illness. I have had time away and quality counselling and now find myself in a space much more conducive to the continuing of my career.

In thanks and in respect to the efforts of the Melbourne Football Club I would like to resume my career if possible in the red and blue and contribute to them as they have to my own well-being. If the club were not to see fit to facilitate this then hopefully I might be able to further my playing at another club via an appropriate deal....thankyou

I dont think he went this way :rolleyes:

Posted

Essentially I agree. Caveat Emptor to his next home.. I want a an arm , a leg and a pint of blood for it all though.

%$@! Melbourne being the pushovers.

I feel dirty for ever considering him a class act.

I totally agree with you. I guess we shouldn't expect any less from a bloke who used the go home factor to leave his last club and went as Far East from home as possible for a sheet loud of money.

That Cameron Swob dirt will take a while to wash though to MFC before we are finally clean from his filthy decision.