Posted

scully's last possession cost gws a potential draw. high up and under that went nowhere.

shocking.

gimme shiel, kelly, tomlinson, etc., etc. any day of the week.

interesting to see patton also being deployed in the ruck at stages. looked about as happy being thrust into the role as dawes did when figgy used him in the same forward / ruck role at the pies

Posted

Gibbs Kruezer and swallow are stars. Not b graders.

Gibbs has been good this season, but he's cusp b grader. Meanwhile, Kruezer would be lucky to be a b grader on output thus far. Why the spotlight hasn't fallen on him, I'll never know. Oh yeah. He plays at Carlton. What a joke.

Posted (edited)

GWS have a few real quality young mids who are already impacting games. If we could poach one of Shiel, Treloar, Hoskin-Elliott, Coniglio and get a later first round pick back like we did with the Dom Tyson trade last year we'll be laughing.

Agree we would be laughing (giggling maybe!), but I can't see it happening. Realistically, I reckon the best we could hope for is a direct swap, our early first rounder for one of the four you mention. None of them have had the injury issues like those that clouded Tyson's last year at GWS.

I'd like a package deal that included (preferably) Sheil plus Cam McCarthy. McCarthy is a tall, high marking forward from WA who was drafted in 2013. He was touted as a top 10 pick, but he missed the u.18 Champs because of a broken leg and slid a bit. He hasn't set the world on fire for GWS ressies, but that's understandable coming off a broken leg. There is a long queue of tall forwards ahead of him at GWS so he might be interested in a move, but I reckon the WA clubs will be watching him closely. Maybe he's a mate of Hogans.

Edit: typo

Edited by Deeoldfart
Posted

Gibbs has been good this season, but he's cusp b grader. Meanwhile, Kruezer would be lucky to be a b grader on output thus far. Why the spotlight hasn't fallen on him, I'll never know. Oh yeah. He plays at Carlton. What a joke.

Gibbs is definitely an A grader, not even a question.

Kruezer is C grader based on the last 2 years, even when he has played, he's been average.

It'd be very harsh to not give Gibbs the title of A grader, he will rack up brownlow votes, you'll see.

Posted

Don't agree with you on Gibbs, he is definitely an A grader and despite what some Carlton & football supporters have believed he has been for a fair while. Would love him at Melbourne.

Posted

I agree, Gibbs isn't an A-grader. He certainly has the tools to be an A-grader, but Gibbs rarely impacts games.

Posted

I agree, Gibbs isn't an A-grader. He certainly has the tools to be an A-grader, but Gibbs rarely impacts games.

I reckon Gibbs will be in the All Australian 40 this year, I probably rate him as an A grader, where I wouldn't have last year.

Posted

Wow. We seriously need a midfielder.

Lets assess our forward line when Hogan actually plays. Could make an astronomical difference.

I'd prefer three midfielders, just personally.

A forward line with Hogan, Dawes and an on song Gawn would be a handful for any defence.

Posted

A big bodied ready to go mid and another forward option plus a running half back that can kick.

Andrew moore, Dylan Shiel, Tom Mitchell, Nick Malceski and Jesse Hogan back and firing after a full pre season sounds like a great and I think realistic result

Posted

Andrew moore, Dylan Shiel, Tom Mitchell, Nick Malceski and Jesse Hogan back and firing after a full pre season sounds like a great and I think realistic result

That would be a big result if attainable.

Posted

Agree we would be laughing (giggling maybe!), but I can't see it happening. Realistically, I reckon the best we could hope for is a direct swap, our early first rounder for one of the four you mention. None of them have had the injury issues like those that clouded Tyson's last year at GWS.

I'd like a package deal that included (preferably) Sheil plus Cam McCarthy. McCarthy is a tall, high marking forward from WA who was drafted in 2013. He was touted as a top 10 pick, but he missed the u.18 Champs because of a broken leg and slid a bit. He hasn't set the world on fire for GWS ressies, but that's understandable coming off a broken leg. There is a long queue of tall forwards ahead of him at GWS so he might be interested in a move, but I reckon the WA clubs will be watching him closely. Maybe he's a mate of Hogans.

Edit: typo

McCarthy has just re-signed

Posted

Deeluded, sheil is contracted and cats, pies and hawks won't be ble to match pick 3 or 4 or the money we could offer

Posted

If we could trade down with our compo pick (should Chip go), we could bring in Shiel plus GWS's end of first round pick they have activated (potentially Harrison Wigg).

Posted (edited)

The flogs on here that keep talking about getting Moore from Port Adelaide have no idea about AFL football. Give it a rest he can't play...

Edited by Grimes is Great

Posted

Deeluded, sheil is contracted and cats, pies and hawks won't be ble to match pick 3 or 4 or the money we could offer

ah, he's still contracted. didn't know that.

the Sainters have first pick atmo, & this is why they've just come out to possibly auction their pick. they could sell the pick to the Hawks for a player/s & a pick? pelcho knows the lists.

Posted

I don't believe the saints they won't pass up mccartin

Posted

Make of this what you will but apparently a $500,000 offer on the table for paul Stewart of PA from us & the Gold Coast ....

Is this the same Stewart who is 27 and played 80 odd games?

I know what I'm making of it, especially with the quoted price tag.

Posted

Make of this what you will but apparently a $500,000 offer on the table for paul Stewart of PA from us & the Gold Coast ....

I'd pay him 500,000 for 3 years. But I wouldn't sign him for 3 years! I'd only sign him for 1 year at a third of that price.

He was ok today. But should be suspended for bumping Jones. And that pretty much sums up his career, he's a depth guy. And if he takes the last spot on our list because there's no one better then so be it. But no way is he a 500,000 contract player no matter how many years that is over.