Posted

Why not go for all three. Isn't that what roos tries to do use one pick to get two players.. so why not 2 picks for three.

Ried, Mitchell & Malceski for picks 3+4.

That would be worthwhile (funny thing is i see the biggest/best impact coming from Malceski).

Because as I stated you don't need to use that pick to get Malceski, he is a free agent and there are other options available

Posted

Why not go for all three. Isn't that what roos tries to do use one pick to get two players.. so why not 2 picks for three.

Ried, Mitchell & Malceski for picks 3+4.

That would be worthwhile (funny thing is i see the biggest/best impact coming from Malceski).

I would think that picks 3&4 can attract better value than a 3rd tall, a mid playing 2nds (albeit in the best side in the comp) and a 30year old with a history of serious injuries.

Looking at past trades as a way of comparing values:

Reid - Dawes (pick 20 and a swap of late picks in MFC's favour) - at the same age Dawes had less games and more goals in a team just as successful. Reid may be worth a touch more

Malceski - Heath Shaw (taylor adams), Andrew Lovett (p16) - hard to find a comparable for Malceski, Shaw and Lovett are the closest I could find in the last 5 years, both were younger a few years younger than Malceski when traded, Malceski is probably worth a bit less due to his age.

Mitchell - Josh Caddy (first round compo (after 1st pick) and 3rd rounder) - it's hard to find a comparable for Mitchell, Caddy is probably the closest, however he had asked to be traded to Geelong, as such he may have been worth more on the open market... probably around pick 8-15 or so.

Based on the comparables and my thoughts - Reid = pick 15-20ish, Malceski = pick 25-30ish and Mitchel = pick 8-15. Frawley compo + our 2nd round is probably about the mark for those 3.

Posted

'I come to talk footy in obscure code'

I'm assuming that your implying I don't express myself clearly? Yet you just said 'talk footy in obscure code'? Alright mate...whatever floats your boat.

Dw, I'll supply you with a handful of dictionary links next time I make a post x

Posted

Reid and Mitchell for #3 or #4 and whatever is not used (#3 or #4) for Shiel.

Do that and I would be bloody happy!

Do you really think Shiel is worth that much more than either Mitchell or Reid?

Posted

Do you really think Shiel is worth that much more than either Mitchell or Reid?

If you said choose between Mitchell and Reid or Shiel it would be Mitchell + Reid, if you said choose one of the 3 it would be Shiel by a mile. He's capable of the same numbers as Mitchell while being a lot more damaging (plays inside and out, better disposal, faster etc etc.).

Posted

We have no chance of getting Petracca now in my opinion because Saints or GWS will take him. So I expect us to have a real go at Shiel

Still think the Saints will go tall. The problem is GWS.

Posted

If you said choose between Mitchell and Reid or Shiel it would be Mitchell + Reid, if you said choose one of the 3 it would be Shiel by a mile. He's capable of the same numbers as Mitchell while being a lot more damaging (plays inside and out, better disposal, faster etc etc.).

That may be, but I hardly think he's worth a top 5 pick alone, whilst the other 2 combined have the same worth.

Yes, it comes down to whatever you can get away with, but it just doesn't add up for me.

Posted

The trouble with relying on trying to get Petracca from GWS is that we may get more value out of Brayshaw or another midfielder. We have no idea how these players might fit into our line-up. We will probably have Picks 3 & 4 which will net us an elite forward and a tall from the draft or possibly an established player and a draft gun. We pay Taylor, Roos, O'Donnell and Viney to get these decisions right and we have to trust them.

Posted (edited)

That's 2 already quality midfielders...a foward with a bright future and pick 36. [censored] I would be soo happy with that. And it's very realistic as well.

Edited by Moneider96
Posted

That's 2 already quality midfielders...a foward with a bright future and pick 36. [censored] I would be soo happy with that

Then we trade Watts for Armitage, draft Stretch and we are set for a finals push

Posted

Would laugh if we lose this weekend, secure pick 2, then trade it away and forgo Petracca anyway.

Although apparently Colonwood are quite keen on him too. Would they give up Beams in exchange for pick 2? Petracca is a Pies supporter too...

you will know if they are keen, because all the hype will die down and go in reverse... Lol... If Collingwood want him, they will get him at what ever pick they have... Just like how they got Grundy...

Posted (edited)

Howcome there hasn't been much speculation on Stephen Conigilio...I mean he's in the same boat as Patton, Shiel, Treloar etc in terms of his contract. Maybe we might pull off a suprise and get him...who knows...oh btw according to the GWS website, they're about to announce some key re-signings.

Edited by Moneider96
Posted

Howcome there hasn't been much speculation on Stephen Conigilio...I mean he's in the same boat as Patton, Shiel, Treloar etc in terms of his contract. Maybe we might pull off a suprise and get him...who knows...oh btw according to the GWS website, they're about to announce some key re-signings.

Because of the pact

Posted

The way GWS are hoarding young players does my head in. Do they really need Petracca when they already have Shiel? They just seem to be soaking up every top-end talent in the draft year after year, but they're not actually making any progress as a team.

Really gotta wonder what their strategy is up in the Wastelands. I'm assuming they'll just hold players hostage until other teams pay overs in trades to poach their talent.

I think they'd realise they'll lose around one in three players they draft. & I reckon they would know who they can't really keep, & who they can rely on. Also IMO they need hard tough inunders.

be interesting to see if Shiel is on the way out or not? if not, I hope we can at least get Jaksch & O'Rourke, if no others are on the way out.

Mon I think "dw" actually stands for "dee-luded [censored]"

Some people really need to chill the [censored] out and not stress the small stuff.

Makes them come across as real dw's.

err, I just got back to this thread & I see another [censored] faced poster tries hard to be Fo. so et, now your abbreviating your low intellect, I can gather from your tone that can only be dyck whitt your trying to allude to. you sorry tale for a male. I assume you are male?

some people just need to speak or write the english language, instead of some sort of martian self made newfound 'IT' speak. there Ya go SC

Posted

3/4 for Shiel and Boyd who is believed to be extremely unhappy at the Giants

I'd go further, I'd be prepared to offer P-3, 4, & 23, for Shiel, Boyd & Jaksch. thats a pretty sound package for GWS, & good value for us as well.