View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

On The Couch - 13 May

Have a look at the ladder. The top 5 teams are all coached by "untried assistants" - and one of those wasn't even an assistant, untried or not.

To this I say what stuie said below...

And how many of those 5 were as bad as us when the "untried assistant" took over? Geelong? Sydney? Hawthorn?

But I guess what you're saying is that ALL untried assistants must be good. Great logic.

So by using the same logic does that mean all experienced coaches will succeed?

Of course not, personally don't care if they are experienced or not, what I do care about is getting the selection process correct, as opposed to the last two.Get that right and we should get the right man, stuff it up and we get the last 6 years continuing.

I'm not against untried coaches per se.

Obviously we want the right person for the job above all and this cannot be guaranteed. However, a proven, experienced, successful coach who remains relevant to the game is, IMHO, far less of a gamble.

You may be right about boring. but I'd be right into some incredibly boring wins.

An incredibly boring premiership?

I think Roos will coach us next year. The AFL will stump up some of the cash, they know he might fail to coach us to success but the mere presence of Roos will improve the club for the guy who he picks to take over in 4 years time

what crap, Schwarz is the new Neil Harvey of football mr dial a quote, starting to believe in his own bath water. What happened to Fitzroy is totally different and anyone with half a brain can see that.

Yeah the AFL didn't do anything to help Fitzroy but pack their bags for them.

what crap, Schwarz is the new Neil Harvey of football mr dial a quote, starting to believe in his own bath water. What happened to Fitzroy is totally different and anyone with half a brain can see that.

Yeah what would the Ox know!

We are in a very similar position to Fitzroy and the advantage we have is that the AFL want us in the comp cause if the tv rights, others wise who knows where we would be.

Roos would probably be a good choice for coach if he really wants to do the job, but whoever the new coach is, they must have a healthy respect for the Geelong style of football - it's natural, it's successful, it's being copied in various forms by several clubs and it's attractive to watch - what more could you want!

And it suits our forward structure perfectly, fast direct movement into Dawes, Clark and Hogan would be a nightmare for defenders

Gameplans in footy are quite amusing sometimes. Clarko's Cluster,The press and now the Geelong Highway is the in thing. All other teams follow the leader then draft the players for a required gameplan and then prepare for that gameplan. Then teams figure out a way to outplay the old premiership gameplan. Bailey wanted a run and gun style of play through the guts of the ground. The press came in and blew away this plan. Now with some tinkering teams are shying away from the boundary plan of Malthouse and our Neeld and are looking through the corridor once again. It seems part of Bailey's plan is back and trending well. I'm not trying to pot Neeld and pump up Bailey I just laugh at the merry go round of trending gameplans.

Yeah what would the Ox know!

We are in a very similar position to Fitzroy and the advantage we have is that the AFL want us in the comp cause if the tv rights, others wise who knows where we would be.

we are know where Fitzroy was for starters we are debt free and have assets the roys had nothing, what we have is a club that has not had a board that knows how a football club should be run, (that has been over 20 years) Jackson has pointed that out already, bet the part of his job will teach people how a board should run and how it should act.

There are other clubs that still owe millions, the Tigers and the dogs, Port is still what 4 mill down so lets not get this out of sink, while it has shown what the downfall is now it can be fixed.

Gameplans in footy are quite amusing sometimes. Clarko's Cluster,The press and now the Geelong Highway is the in thing. All other teams follow the leader then draft the players for a required gameplan and then prepare for that gameplan. Then teams figure out a way to outplay the old premiership gameplan. Bailey wanted a run and gun style of play through the guts of the ground. The press came in and blew away this plan. Now with some tinkering teams are shying away from the boundary plan of Malthouse and our Neeld and are looking through the corridor once again. It seems part of Bailey's plan is back and trending well. I'm not trying to pot Neeld and pump up Bailey I just laugh at the merry go round of trending gameplans.

Don't misunderstand my comments on the 'Geelong' game plan 'cowboy'. The way they play is what could be called 'traditional' footy. A few clubs have tried (and sometimes succeeded) over the years to produce a dull, boring, negative style of play, usually because they lack genuine footballers. It's not natural, mostly not successful, and definitely not desirable.

I think Roos will coach us next year. The AFL will stump up some of the cash, they know he might fail to coach us to success but the mere presence of Roos will improve the club for the guy who he picks to take over in 4 years time

Another fantasy?

4. None of the panel could believe that Neeld stated that we were 'out muscled' by the Suns in the post match press conference - if true, 'an indictment on the whole club'.

Strangely, Dawes mentioned this in his column today, that the result was an "indictment" on the playing group.

What I find most interesting since 186 is that the players have consistently come out in defence of the coach, and in essence the club, to blame it on themselves. I don't quite understand it. I don't think I've seen players so empathically take the burden of an ENTIRE club's misfortunes. We saw Richmond players spin their crap performances for decades, but with Melbourne it's as if the players are acknowledging the situation the club is in at the moment, everything that is wrong, and putting it down to their own performances.

Realistically this is probably the only way to address adversity, but boy is it getting ugly.

For two years it's been "us, the players". They say it as if to take pity on the club.

Makes me sad.

And they'll get rolled by the Hawks when it counts

Obviously we want the right person for the job above all and this cannot be guaranteed. However, a proven, experienced, successful coach who remains relevant to the game is, IMHO, far less of a gamble.

Like Dennis Pagan or Terry Wallace? How did they go at their second clubs? Pagan came off a premiership at North, but Carlton bumped along the bottom for years with him at the helm.

I'm with Chris Dawes. There's no magic bullet. We just need good people in the club, doing their jobs properly, no matter where they come from.

Dawses selection not poor but in terms of financial outlay it probably was, agree with point 4 and roos may coach dees if price is right I think

Dawes lack of speed at a club without an Abundane of elite mids will find him wanting. Dawes selection was panic time cos we mist Gumbleton.

Like Dennis Pagan or Terry Wallace? How did they go at their second clubs? Pagan came off a premiership at North, but Carlton bumped along the bottom for years with him at the helm.

I'm with Chris Dawes. There's no magic bullet. We just need good people in the club, doing their jobs properly, no matter where they come from.

There IS a magic bullet. It has the name "Mark" on it and it will be delivered Monday arvo about 2pm.

No magic bullet. Correct. We do need someone to guide our kids from 2014 and beyond. Roos would attract good players. Neeld won't.

There IS a magic bullet. It has the name "Mark" on it and it will be delivered Monday arvo about 2pm.

Stuie? What do you know that we don't?

The way that Roos answered the question pretty much leaves the door open to the possibility of him being at the MFC in 2014. He answered in a way that was respectful to Mark Neelds position, but also in a way that left me convinced theres already discussions in place, likely with the help of the AFL, to get Roos to Melbourne.

Stuie? What do you know that we don't?

Chiiiiiilllllll winsttaaahhhhhnnn, he is inferring that we will lose to Richmond by a big margin, failing to "have all 22 players to have a crack etc." going against what we have said in the media the past week, and this will ultimately lead to Neeld's downfall.

Edited by The Song Formerly Known As

Watched the Roos interview. Was pretty categoric? Where did that come from RB?

Chiiiiiilllllll winsttaaahhhhhnnn, he is inferring that we will lose to Richmond by a big margin, failing to "have all 22 players to have a crack etc." going against what we have said in the media the past week, and this will ultimately lead to Neeld's downfall.

NAHHH. I reckon he knows something we don,t.

Mate, the man, woman, beast or whatever the heck he is posts gifs (which i must admit i shamefully enjoy) and stirs the pot on Demonland for a living, which many people stupidly get sucked into, and retort back. (Which i also must admit i do find kinda funny).

He knows as much as us, which is sweet effffffff alllllllllll, so don't over think it.

For those commenting on Roo's and boring football.

I dream of going to the football and seeing our club playing and being "bored". Sure beats the hell out of the current alternative.

The Essendon defeat was boring, perhaps because I'm generally so numb toward our ineptness these days. But yes, I'd prefer to restrict teams to 60 or 70 points, I couldn't care less if it was twenty points each, as long as we're winning games of footy. I can't get past the fact that there are some MFC supporters that would prefer this mess continues, as apposed to playing "boring", but defensively minded football. Ironically, this was the reason Neeld was brought in. He has failed. Roos is a no brainer.