Posted

Ok so tonight the subject was raised and little to my understanding and a few others the club does offer pet memberships. A few people expressed interest and if you have a spare $35 the options there for you. Cheers.

Do pet memberships count towards the total membership tally?

I guess they must for some clubs, since almost all 70k+ Collingwood members are animals.

But seriously...does anyone know?

Posted

Good news Demonlanders:

On Dec 14, 2011 the MFC Website updated it's tally that day and had 20,100 members

On Dec 14, 2012 (today) the MFC website updated today the tally of 20,145 members.

* Gone past 20,000 a fraction earlier than last year.

* Seem to have made up lost ground from comparisons from last year a week ago.

Posted

signed up yesterday. 3 x Dedicated demon memberships, now sit back and watch the dees climb the ladder season after season..

Posted
The Neeld factor is starting to work.

There is excitement in our list evenif Denham refuses to see it.

Off season....

It remains to be seen. I prefer to see progress and results after the ball is bounced.

Posted

Yes, it's funny how we can go through the Bailey years and recruit only 2 senior or mature players (Meesen and MacDonald) and yet The Football World (Wallace, Barrett, Denham, et al) thinks we should do what we have always done.

There is a definition of that behaviour...

I think that the average MFC supporter is excited for Rd 1 (Byrnes, Rodan, Dawes, Terlich, and Pedersen) and for the future (Viney, Toumpas, Hogan, Kent, and Barry) after what Neeld and co. have done in the last couple of months.

Now, excitement in-and-of-itself is not a big deal but it is half the battle.

The other half being actually winning a few games...

Posted
Off season....

It remains to be seen. I prefer to see progress and results after the ball is bounced.

Not too many balls bounced in December...

I am out on a limb - they had a successful October and it should translate into improved onfield results.

The proof is in the pudding but we actually went to the store and picked up some proven ingredients for once...

Posted

Denham is a bigger dropkick than Wilson and thats saying something. l absolutely hate that bastard and if l see him at a game next year he's going to cop it, total scumbag.

Posted
Off season....

Of course. But the alternative was to do nothing.

There is no pleasing some people.

Posted

Not too many balls bounced in December...

I am out on a limb - they had a successful October and it should translate into improved onfield results.

The proof is in the pudding but we actually went to the store and picked up some proven ingredients for once...

I'll acknowledge there is some excitement with the changes made. On the "what makes me excited" thread I've mentioned Viney and Toumpas.

I hope the changes will translate to better onfield results. I think it should.

Posted (edited)
See above.

i did. Thats why i wrote it.

In 2013 our forward line may well be capable of kicking more than 8 goals a game now on a reguliar basis.

That is excitement in my view

Posted
Do pet memberships count towards the total membership tally?

I guess they must for some clubs, since almost all 70k+ Collingwood members are animals.

But seriously...does anyone know?

Yes- I am interested in knowing that as well. My current 12 year old dog and very old dog (who passed away in July) had been pet members for some time. My new pooch arrived yesterday and I had the membership ready to send off BUT he arrived with his favorite toy - a Collingwood football. I was nearly ready to send him back but decided that I will sign him up as a Dee member anyway and hope he is not mentally damaged in any shape or form. I will just drape him in my scarf, play the team song over and over and hope for the best.

Posted
Yes- I am interested in knowing that as well. My current 12 year old dog and very old dog (who passed away in July) had been pet members for some time. My new pooch arrived yesterday and I had the membership ready to send off BUT he arrived with his favorite toy - a Collingwood football. I was nearly ready to send him back but decided that I will sign him up as a Dee member anyway and hope he is not mentally damaged in any shape or form. I will just drape him in my scarf, play the team song over and over and hope for the best.

Jane,

Never fear. He will come around because he knows if he continues with the black and white he will be banished back to the slums and back to eating leftover dog roll. He will acknowledge class over mediocrity.

Posted

I don't see why people put any reverence to what Denham says or writes.....I know he upsets dee's supporters...that's why he does it.....I just ignore the barbs and will be pleased when we finally become a good side.and stick it up some "experts"...Until then I will ignore them...

Posted

Me and the "pup" just signed up.......Pets do not count in the membership tally...for those that were interested.....

Posted

4 signups in early November we get ours automatically done every year....got the membership packs this week...i like the card...got my name on it.....plus number 5 from our family will be signed up around Round 1 or 2 time :D

Posted

Mine and the wife's arrived on Wednesday, but as of this afternoon's mail drop I believe the kids' memberships have not yet arrived. Is this just standard, or did the village bandit pinch the kids' merchandise on Wednesday?

Posted

Look at it this way...he just loves devouring something Collingwood.....dont we all :)

Posted
HG I actually believe that there are not many over the 40K mark to buy a membership.

I reckon over the last couple of years we have had "buy in " by 95% of the possible dee members

I think that the MFC members have been very resilent over the last 5 years

I reckon that to get beyond that 40K figure we need new converts and that won't happen until we start having successful seasons.

That is playing finals.

Until then think of 40K as a very good figure

Agree Old Dee.

As well as having a very good conversion rate,a fair proportion of our members are baby boomers who are going to "retire" from going to the footy in the next few years.We'll need some red hot form in the NAB Cup and in the early rounds to jump by the 15% necessary to hit 40,000.

Having said that, 20145 today is a terrific number in the shadow of the tanking fiasco.

Posted

WYL biggest change I have seen in last months is hope in you and old dee and that to me is what's all about we have all (born after 1960) been hoping, but startin to see it buddy we are one big family and mate the big dance is coming may be 5 to 10 years away but i want to se a team of hardnuts more than anything else.

I'm selfish but I have another 40 + years on the planet and all want is Casey experiment to grow Dees to be the absolute team to hate because they are hard bastards and fighting year in year out - my hope and legacy for my kids and grandkids

Posted
Mine and the wife's arrived on Wednesday, but as of this afternoon's mail drop I believe the kids' memberships have not yet arrived. Is this just standard, or did the village bandit pinch the kids' merchandise on Wednesday?

Absolutely bog standard.

Three have arrived at our place, each on different days, and mine still has not turned up, And I'm the one that buys them, of course.

It's a trick the mailing house or Australia Post like to play. Not a lot of laughs otherwise apparently.

Posted
WYL biggest change I have seen in last months is hope in you and old dee and that to me is what's all about we have all (born after 1960) been hoping, but startin to see it buddy we are one big family and mate the big dance is coming may be 5 to 10 years away but i want to se a team of hardnuts more than anything else.

I'm selfish but I have another 40 + years on the planet and all want is Casey experiment to grow Dees to be the absolute team to hate because they are hard bastards and fighting year in year out - my hope and legacy for my kids and grandkids

Me too PSD Unfortunately I don't have 40 left mate but that is my wish If I leave this planet and the MFC have achieved that end result I will be very happy.

I know this may be hard to believe but a GF win is now not my first priority.

Your comment above is.

Posted
A bit of help required from any other member who gets membership renewed automatically...........I saw the heartbeat mag arrive during the week and when I went looking for it today asked the wife where it was.

In the recycling bin was her reply!

Anyway, after a strenuous search in the putrid bin it has been retrieved.....my question is, did the membership cards, stickers etc come with the mag, cos I cant find them...I`m guessing (hoping) they come later.

Thanks guys

The membership cards stickers should have arrived last week (mine did). In fact I received two mailouts from the MFC (the mag and the membership pack), which I thought was a bit strange when they could of either combined them to save money or have sent them out a few weeks apart (and have the full ist in them).