Game night thread: Melbourne v Hawthorn

Petterd the rare honour of a full first half set of donuts in all stat categories

Yes - perhaps those constantly calling for him to be included should watch that first half. Has done some great things in the past, but well off the pace this year.

Sylvia not much better.

Mate how many possibilities have there been for Sylvia and Petterd to influence the contest?

When you lose every friggin stoppage and hardly touch the ball through the middle and the backline it's pretty hard for forwards to "do much"...

I cannot imagine a team in which it would be at all acceptable to have 0 disposals in a half.

Big Fitz is ok but needs to kick up his 2nd efforts, he goes ball watching. This is not a knock, I just think he has a lot to give if he takes the game on. Take the game on Fitz...

Theres no doubt that even GWS and Gold coast have a more talented midfield than ours at the moment.

Damn we're slow!

Wow. A promising first quarter followed by a terrible second.

One forward only, ( Howe and Trengove misses?) Jamar must have figured he did enough in the first quarter, Garland brain fade and bingo we are 5 goals behind. Total lack of concentration and ticker to keep the foot on the gas. Mental strength and pressure decision making decisions just not there.

When will this end what are the positives in this anyone give me something.

Magner is doing well. Clark is doing well. Just gotta get the ball down to him more and get a few other forwards to follow his lead... Figuratively, not literally.

Maybe neeld is waiting till we play GWS till he lets our injured players like trengove n barty recover. Would make the tank look more realistic with all the players out injured

alistair clarkson owes woosha and west coast an appology for sooking about there players ducking when there tackled looks like hawks have taken same approach with puopolo being the worst, 1st on jones then again he was tackled cant remember who from but as soon as he felt contack he dropped it was just lucky the melbourne player was switched on and it was a good tackle

I said it last week and I'll say it again. Mitch Clark is our only leader. I've never seen a side go missing on mass like we have for quarters this year. Without the big fella we would have no one that puts their hand up.

Whatever we are paying him he's worth it because he's carrying half the side.

So Morton is of more value than watts what is Stevie wonder on our selection committee couple of the kids will be phoning their parents to tell them not to make any plans for next week

I feel sorry for Clark...he has given everything all year...not much support

I am so sick of journalists, commentators, special comments people and every other football opinionater in the country talking about Melbourne's 1-percenters, intentsity, structures, defensive efforts. It is gut wrenching to watch the game at the moment because 1) we just can't get the ball. 2) If and when we do get it we cannot kick.

I will force myself to watch the remainder of the game, and who knows what could happen, but it is sheer agony.

It's amazing what a large percentage of the half time top seven moments of the previous round are taken up by the demons. If you only watched them you might be forgiven for thinking that we are in the top eight! The team needs to start trusting each other and playing as a team.

After all, players names aren't on the back of their guernsey's for a reason. Its a team game, not a group of individuals.

Will neeld be the one to tell jack viney that due to us finishing last father son not happening

Too much emphasis on chasing and tackling the man and not enough on getting the frigging footy. We are always chasing tail and our disposal is still shocking. At least the desire is there but desire alone don't win games consistently. There needs to be some skill. By the way, Mitch Clark will be a superstar, he's better than I thought.

Will neeld be the one to tell jack viney that due to us finishing last father son not happening

if we finish last he comes with our second rounder

We just don't get enough ball. Garland top possessions with 11. Hawks have 10 players with more than 11, that's half the bloody side.

Ricky has been struggling forward all year, his best is as a mid at Casey so maybe give him a run. Can't hurt.

To mad for punctuation nasher wife took iPad off me before in went into the 75inch tele