Posted

Title pretty much says it all. NAB cup doesn't really interest me so not concerned about results there too much. Have seen quite a few peoples thought's on round one and i'd say based on other peoples opinions it's about 70-30 Brisbanes way?! Anyway I think we will play an average game but turn it on in the 3rd quarter and win by about 5 goals. Jonathan Brown I think will come out firing but hopefully our back 6 will keep him well contained. I also hope our new number 11 will be equally as fired up and not take a backwards step and the whole team follows suit. Thoughts on match ups and scores?

Posted

I think we will come out and smash the lions and hopefully build some winning culture early.The demons should win by 40 points with our talent.But you never know it is a new gameplan but we should account for them easy at home. cant wait go dees

Posted

I think we will come out and smash the lions and hopefully build some winning culture early.The demons should win by 40 points with our talent.But you never know it is a new gameplan but we should account for them easy at home. cant wait go dees

I remember thinking the same thing last year in Round 4 and was looking grim early on in that match! Too far early to make predictions for mind though. Need to see some NAB cup first to get a sense of where we are at with the new gameplan

Posted (edited)

Would have thought that we'd be well backed to win against Brisbane in what should be a reasonably close game. Considering we have a whole new coaching outfit and a (presumably) new game plan, anything could happen I guess.

Being at the G', I think we'll win by about 28 points. I will certainly be there anyway!

Edited by Samsara
Posted

Nobody smashed Brisbane last year, this is a danger game lets not lose sight of that. They have talented youngsters and will welcome back a fit, Merrett to their defence and a fit Jonathon BROWN who we know on his day can be anything. Browny usually starts the season well only for his older body to catch up with him. Having said that we should win this game and it will show us a lot about our lists change in attitude or not, but to think turning up and collecting the points is a gimme would be a big mistake

Posted

Nobody smashed Brisbane last year, this is a danger game lets not lose sight of that. They have talented youngsters and will welcome back a fit, Merrett to their defence and a fit Jonathon BROWN who we know on his day can be anything. Browny usually starts the season well only for his older body to catch up with him. Having said that we should win this game and it will show us a lot about our lists change in attitude or not, but to think turning up and collecting the points is a gimme would be a big mistake

Mark my words we will smash them by smash i mean 30 to 60 points not really a smashing but a good win all the same.i have great trust in our coach and list to beat the lions with comfort at the m.c.g just heard nathan jones on MFC website and he talks about making sure the gameplan/machine runs well as part of his new midfeiald role and also says this pre season really has been almost double what they had done in the past i cant wait for the footy to start i might sound a bit cocky but neeld has me thinking we finally have some good structure around the club and our rise to the top is coming GO DEES

Posted

Mark my words we will smash them by smash i mean 30 to 60 points not really a smashing but a good win all the same.i have great trust in our coach and list to beat the lions with comfort at the m.c.g just heard nathan jones on MFC website and he talks about making sure the gameplan/machine runs well as part of his new midfeiald role and also says this pre season really has been almost double what they had done in the past i cant wait for the footy to start i might sound a bit cocky but neeld has me thinking we finally have some good structure around the club and our rise to the top is coming GO DEES

I hope your right and 2011 made us realise having better talent on papero than other sides doesn't mean you will automatically progress. A lot of careers & reputations on the line this season so lets hope we see a backs to the wall/then against us mentality for the whole season

Posted

Melbourne by 30 points at the MCG. No real inj concerns atm except for Jurrah, touchwood in NAB CUP we don't have any (However likely to pickup a couple).

Posted (edited)

Yep we'll win this.

Predictions:

Frawley will shut down Brown.

Mitch Clark will kick 5.

Bennell will have between 7 and 12 possessions (are there really that many S's in that word?).

and...Howe will be B.O.G.

Last year the only reason we kept them in it is because we were incredibly soft that day. Everyone was grumbling at the 'G.

I'd like to think that won't creep back into our season with Neeld at the helm.

Demons by 30-40 points.

Edited by Buzzy
Posted

I hope your right and 2011 made us realise having better talent on papero than other sides doesn't mean you will automatically progress. A lot of careers & reputations on the line this season so lets hope we see a backs to the wall/then against us mentality for the whole season

I agree mate there is alot of players on notice this year under neeld and does not matter what you have done in the past. I think this is why we should see big improvments this year or they will be on the trade table come the end of the year. Who is your smokey for a big year i think watts will be our best player come the end of the year i have a feeling he will just hit his straps this year.

Posted

NAB cup doesn't really interest me so not concerned about results there too much.

NAB cup doesn't interest me much either in so far as wining it goes but I reckon this is like trying to call a race result before you know who's running! Perhaps let's see some NAB cup form, a new game plan, new recruits and revisit then?

Posted

Title pretty much says it all. NAB cup doesn't really interest me so not concerned about results there too much. Have seen quite a few peoples thought's on round one and i'd say based on other peoples opinions it's about 70-30 Brisbanes way?! Anyway I think we will play an average game but turn it on in the 3rd quarter and win by about 5 goals. Jonathan Brown I think will come out firing but hopefully our back 6 will keep him well contained. I also hope our new number 11 will be equally as fired up and not take a backwards step and the whole team follows suit. Thoughts on match ups and scores?

The Lions are in a List build phase, they'll be playing as many young men as they can competitively get away with, & play well.

I think Big Red will taske Clarke, so I hope Wattsy can get off to a flier.

I think an invigorated Frawley minus the injury of last year will be too in Peak for an aging JBrown.

The Mids matchups & how they go against one another, will be Very interesting. I'm Really hoping to see Grimes get more Midfield time this year, if Morton is to run through HB Flank. Maybe Garland on the Centreline occasionally could be an interesting exercise for more height & size about the Mids.

Seeing Sellar as a Back will be interesting to watch.

Posted (edited)

I'll take a 1 point win right now . With West Coast at Subi to follow we just have to win this one .

Hoping for a big win of course .

Posted

some people in this thread need a head examination

we are the MFC, we don't win in round 1 no matter what

r1 2006 def by Carlton 21 points

r1 2007 def by Saints 31 points

r1 2008 def by Hawthorn 104 points

r1 2009 def by North 41 points

r1 2010 def by Hawthorn 56 points

r1 2011 drew with Sydney

Posted

I agree mate there is alot of players on notice this year under neeld and does not matter what you have done in the past. I think this is why we should see big improvments this year or they will be on the trade table come the end of the year. Who is your smokey for a big year i think watts will be our best player come the end of the year i have a feeling he will just hit his straps this year.

I expect a big year from Watts so that would not be a smokey he came on in leaps and bounds last season and I expect him to continue that way. Going out on a bit of a limb here and saying Sylvia & Bartram.

Sylvia - because Neeld has given him a kick in the backside that was needed and hopefully we'll see something similar to Stevie Johnson 2007 return from exile

Bartram - as someone who hasn''t got much natural talent but will run all day and do whatver it takes to play and be the best I can, I sympathise with Barty saw really good signs last year as a run with player and I think Neeld will use his strengths and be well aware of his kicking efficiency as a major weakness. Change in game plan playing around the boundary where turnovers wont kill you as much so you can regroup will help him

Sam Blease to go very close in Rising Star as well

Posted

Always a toss up rd1.

Both teams with full fit lists.

Having said that , if we're where we want to be we gotta take 'em .

Posted (edited)

r1 2011 drew with Sydney

We must right a truck load of wrongs from the last fews years. The first monkey to get off our back is to win round 1!

Edited by simma02
Posted

We must right a truck load of wrongs from the last fews years. The first monkey to get off our back is to win round 1!

in 2010 we smashed Sydney by 80-something at the G, about r17.. we then had the same matchup 5 AFL games later and could only manage a draw

Posted

r1 2011 drew with Sydney

So are we destined to lose in round 1 forever?

Records are there to be broken. Previous results are just statistics.

Posted

So are we destined to lose in round 1 forever?

Records are there to be broken. Previous results are just statistics.

stastitics? or indicators of a trend? why are we underprepared for the beginning of the season every single year?

we have drawn the side that finished 15th with 4 wins in 2011. No excuses this time.