Neil Craig

Guest bonjohn
Posted

I heard Schwab state on SEN on the weekend that they would be providing the right tools and surrounding diverse expertise to allow the coach to simply coach. CS indicated this is something they've probably recognised that they haven't done well and look to address. ie. They may have been concerned with other aspects that could have been delegated better.

I also heard Dermott ask CS if appointing Neeld was a "safe appointment", of which CS responded, "no, I wouldn't say that, I think it's a considered appointment.."

i am not Shwabs greatest fan though also heard him on SEN. i was impressed as he seemed to imply mistales of the past.One was not giving the senior coach his own cherry picked staff.He said there would be no more trying to fit square pegs in round holes.

i do hope to see the club follow this through.Neelds decision now,as we saw with R.Lyons departure from St Kilda an appointment of a football manger must be rubber stamped by the coach.

Neeld has to ask the club about resources.Maybe he would be far happier for the department to spend more on assistants than a name football manager. i am sure he would know a few candidates.

Guest Deefence
Posted

Clint Stanaway (channel 9) has tweeted tonight that Craig is coming to dees.

He would know, his dad is one of the trainers, as well as being a life long Melbourne supporter.

Posted

I sincerely hope this is true-that Craig is heading to Demonland.I wonder what is happening to Chris Connolly.?

Guest Deefence
Posted

I sincerely hope this is true-that Craig is heading to Demonland.I wonder what is happening to Chris Connolly.?

Different roles by all reports. One would be a senior assistant coach, sitting in the box, advise and training etc. CC's role is more a spruiker, organising events, giving tours, morale, and lots more stuff I'm sure we have no idea about.

Posted

Different roles by all reports. One would be a senior assistant coach, sitting in the box, advise and training etc. CC's role is more a spruiker, organising events, giving tours, morale, and lots more stuff I'm sure we have no idea about.

Maybe CC should be in a marketing role if that's the case.

Posted

You make the Footy Operations head sound like a party planner...

There is a certain overlap and JCB's insinuation is correct - it doesn't bode well for CC.

Posted

i am not Shwabs greatest fan though also heard him on SEN. i was impressed as he seemed to imply mistales of the past.One was not giving the senior coach his own cherry picked staff.He said there would be no more trying to fit square pegs in round holes.

i do hope to see the club follow this through.Neelds decision now,as we saw with R.Lyons departure from St Kilda an appointment of a football manger must be rubber stamped by the coach.

Neeld has to ask the club about resources.Maybe he would be far happier for the department to spend more on assistants than a name football manager. i am sure he would know a few candidates.

Wondering who the square pegs are...and if the round holes are the Backline, Midfield, Forward portfolio's.

Posted

From: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/st-kilda-legend-eyes-coach-spot-20110919-1ki0m.html

Melbourne appears in the box seat to win Craig's services, but the Adelaide coaching veteran has not yet reached a final decision although he has indicated to his former club that his preference is to move to Melbourne - the city. The Demons' offer is a senior director of coaching role that would see Craig act as a mentor to Mark Neeld and his team as well as play a role in the physical conditioning department.

Posted

Thanks Neil ,

We'll call you .

Posted

That's what i reckon...Craig's September record is very ordinary We can do better than him IMO.

Me too I never thought he did anything wonderful.

Not sure why we need him.

Don't we think our coach is good enough to fly solo.

If that is the case why did we pick him.

He is good enough and to hell with this senior advisor thing

Posted

How could you ever tire of those nice big balls in the Rundle Mall ,The Pie Floaters ,The drinking water.......

Posted

How could you ever tire of those nice big balls in the Rundle Mall ,The Pie Floaters ,The drinking water.......

Southwalk Beer is the pits so i can understand anyone leaving Adelaide!!

Posted

Glenelg beach ,The Wineries ,The Adelaide oval ,Olympic Uranium mine and err.....

Posted

Glenelg beach ,The Wineries ,The Adelaide oval ,Olympic Uranium mine and err.....

Glenelg Beach was great last time i saw it in 1990, But my car was also spat on...so i vowed never to return to that shite hole city...and thus far have not.!!!

Posted

Actually don't mind Southwark WYL.

Got to like it during the 70's Christmas brewery strikes when there was nothing else.

Posted

Glenelg Beach was great last time i saw it in 1990, But my car was also spat on...so i vowed never to return to that shite hole city...and thus far have not.!!!

As with the Beaumont children .

Posted

Based in what I saw over there in round 24 they only drink Farmers Union Iced Coffee. They are a bit different over there. Maybe Craigy needs to know you can get it here to get him across the line?

Posted

Bradman liked it for some reason.

Posted

Actually you can develop a taste for SouthWark....truly

I know.... its not normal.

Posted

Neither is a pie in pea soup or dissolving bodies in barrels for their centrelink money but hey .

Posted

The pie floater is kinda nice on a cold night.

They are different in SA though...lol

spent 15 months in the 'gutter'...I know

Posted

Melbourne appears in the box seat to win Craig's services, but the Adelaide coaching veteran has not yet reached a final decision although he has indicated to his former club that his preference is to move to Melbourne - the city. The Demons' offer is a senior director of coaching role that would see Craig act as a mentor to Mark Neeld and his team as well as play a role in the physical conditioning department.

Only problem is that Caro has got everything wrong lately. I think however that Craig will join us soon.