Stynes Steps In

http://www.theage.co...0504-1e8hm.html

This reminds of the old RDB saying "If it has to be, It's up to me".

curious...anyone esle notice the one name missing from all that ??

Good onya Jim...shame its got to take this... keep well mate

You talking about CC Bub? I reckon he's been told to pipe up by CS, but yes he has been unusually quiet of late.

Edited by Demon Disciple

mmm... not one gong in all that...strange really.

WYL might have even called it...something did very much shift form the last board meeting

mmm... not one gong in all that...strange really.

WYL might have even called it...something did very much shift form the last board meeting

It was D-L mate, i felt the shift on thursday night. But this news of Jimmy is great. He wants to do it, it is his passion.

You are a great man Jimma...truly inspirational.

This very much the Stynes crew now stamping their brand over the dept.. Heres a bloke who never laid down..didnt even know what giving in meant/means esp on the footy field. Going to rather interesting from here on in.

Cant help but get the feeling this is only the begining of change

This very much the Stynes crew now stamping their brand over the dept.. Heres a bloke who never laid down..didnt even know what giving in meant/means esp on the footy field. Going to rather interesting from here on in.

Cant help but get the feeling this is only the begining of change

This club needs change, so bring it on...This move could really help Bailey as well. I like it.

It's not as if Stynesy is being forced to do this...he wants to do it, to be active. Awesome.

This club needs change, so bring it on...This move could really help Bailey as well. I like it.

It's not as if Stynesy is being forced to do this...he wants to do it, to be active. Awesome.

'S funny but if it was anyone else I'd see it as a power tussle but with Jim I see it as a firm hand being applied to the tiller.

I hope I'm right.

if one was at all skeptical you might wonder as to exactly the nature of Stynes firm hand !!

I for one wil be intrigued to see if not only the fervour of our players increases but if the nature and style of game might not shift...maybe just a tad :unsure:

'S funny but if it was anyone else I'd see it as a power tussle but with Jim I see it as a firm hand being applied to the tiller.

I hope I'm right.

We have a very special man at the Helm of this club....remember he played 244 in a row.....in a F@#$in' row. I cannot even begin to imagine that!!

Asan aside and probably nothing but its odd you cant see this article easily when you surf Realfooty. .....probably just me... time for shuteye...lol

Jim Stynes is and will forever be one of the best things that ever happened to our great club!

Much love Jimma! We all have faith in you!

Jim Stynes is and will forever be one of the best things that ever happened to our great club!

Much love Jimma! We all have faith in you!

Agreed.

I would be interested in how everyone reads this, but this to me is a very worrying sign about where we think we are at.

A president's role is non-operational, and that's for very good reasons. Don't get me wrong, because it's Jimmy, I have every faith that he will succeed in whatever he is trying to do, but it is a massive slap in the face of the footy department, and maybe even the MFC management generally. I think CC would have to be on his way out.

There must be some punches in the consultant's report about the structure and personnel of our FD.

I really think the past 6 months there have been some really worrying off-field signs.

A president's role is non-operational, and that's for very good reasons. Don't get me wrong, because it's Jimmy, I have every faith that he will succeed in whatever he is trying to do, but it is a massive slap in the face of the footy department, and maybe even the MFC management generally. I think CC would have to be on his way out.

I agree with this. I haven't had any time to let this sink in but at first glance it isn't a good look. It looks like a big vote of no confidence.

stynes will know about attitude and intensity and what sort of culture has been created and needed

there our biggest problems and he will know by spending 20hrs at the club, not 50

well done jim

I agree with this. I haven't had any time to let this sink in but at first glance it isn't a good look. It looks like a big vote of no confidence.

Presumptuous and conspiratorial waffle.

From a board perspective, I could imagine that the recent consultant's review may have suggested that we need a director of the football department (even just a board-responsible person) that has not been there since AL stepped down. Jim takes it on in an 'acting' capacity - his experience and passion on one hand, but also the external perception on the other (Big Jim is like Lassie, everyone loves him!). Can see the appointment of a separate director of the football department at some stage. Jim's job is not to coach, but perhaps to start moving the resources about to support fitness and medical (as outlined in the article).

Sorry Mulder and Scully, no aliens or conspiracies in this one. I imagine this would have happened if we beat the Eagles by 50 points.

Well one thing we know is that the players respond to Jim Stynes on an emotional level. Seeing as there is a view we play without passion this could be a nice change up.

Given MFC have:

1. A coach in his final year of contract with question marks about his future and the Board not having a Board director reporting on football operations.

2. A CEO that would seem to have some questions about aspects of the FD.

3. A comprehensive external study of the Club and its football needs that highlights the need for a Football Director.

Why has the Board been so slow to have replaced Andrew Leoncelli who had resigned from this critical role presumably prior to his announcement at the AGM? This announcment while welcome is a knee jerk reaction by Board that has seemingly been asleep at the wheel.

Well one thing we know is that the players respond to Jim Stynes on an emotional level. Seeing as there is a view we play without passion this could be a nice change up.

The last six weeks makes a fallacy of that belief. Stynes has been highly visible around the Club for some time and if the players have not been inspired to date by Stynes battles and charisma well....

Hmm there's probably merit in that.

The essence of the story is:

: We have been without a Footy director since Leoncelli stepped down from the Board at last year's AGM

: Stynes is fill that role on the board

: The Board is to establish a sub-committee to look at the coaching position as the Senior Coach is out of contract at the end of the year

Sounds like business as usual to me.

I think this is terrific, in the past we would have just accepted the mediocrity, but Jimmy saying. We have come a long way in the last 3 years and we're not going back.

He is the most amazing passionate man i can think of.

if one was at all skeptical you might wonder as to exactly the nature of Stynes firm hand !!

I for one wil be intrigued to see if not only the fervour of our players increases but if the nature and style of game might not shift...maybe just a tad :unsure:

Intriguing indeed.

Im still rather interested to know how Cuddles fits into ( or doesnt ) to all this/

Its all rather " oh [censored]..Dad's home...we better start behaving ourselves" lol