Round 1 Hawks Injury Problems Roughead latest

What does that mean i only know english

To take pleasure in others misfortune.

It was a reference to another post, but i cant be bothered finding it now.....

I think the moment passed.

No offence 45 but you were born in '87, so i do not need you to tell me to get over what happened in both 87 & 88. For 20 Years i watched Hawthorn Kick the living suitcase out of almost everyone. Don't get me wrong, i have respect for them but i still hate their Guts.

I don't think age has anything to do with it WYL. I'm sure 45 would have experienced something similar in 2000, even at 13. I was there in '87-'88, about the same age as what 45 would have been in 2000.

Hawthorn were the superpower of the 80's. As much as it hurt at the time, we can acknowledge how good the Hawks were, even through clenched teeth.

Sometimes you've just got to look forward and plan ahead and not look at the past ie. get over it.

To take pleasure in others misfortune.

It was a reference to another post, but i cant be bothered finding it now.....

I think the moment passed.

Boston Legal did an episode on it.

Cyril Rioli (OP) and Shaun Burgoyne (hammy) both in severe doubt for round 1. Infact Rioli may be rested for a number of weeks.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/90733/default.aspx

So the Hawks will most likely be missing all of:

Buddy

Bateman

Sewell

Taylor

Rioli

Burgoyne

Skipper

Young

AND

Mark Williams (I know he's left the club but that's 3 or 4 goals we don't need to worry about!)

Hawks supporters are thanking their lucky stars they're not playing a good team in round 1.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

Cyril Rioli (OP) and Shaun Burgoyne (hammy) both in severe doubt for round 1. Infact Rioli may be rested for a number of weeks.

Buddy

Bateman

Sewell

Taylor

Rioli

Burgoyne

Skipper

Young

AND

Mark Williams (I know he's left the club but that's 3 or 4 goals we don't need to worry about!)

Hawks supporters are thanking their lucky stars they're not playing a good team in round 1.

What about Lewis, i heard he was injured too? If your going to have Williams in there, might as well put Croad in there as well... Either way they have a lot of of outs we cant use injuries as an excuse in a loss vs Hawthorn

Edited by red&blue&true

What does that mean i only know english

As mentioned. Only the Germans could have a word like that.

But to the conversation on Roughy. I don't care. I want us to beat whoever is out there. I want each player to beat his man and if he can't to come off the ground knowing he gave 100% and he just was beaten by an better man on the day. Then I expect them to work their guts out so it becomes the exception rather than the rule.

Buddy

Bateman

Sewell

Taylor

Rioli

Burgoyne

Skipper

Young

AND

You left out Dermot Brereton and Peter Hudson.

It would be foolish to concentrate our attention on who's out. When the siren goes it's a battle between our 22 and theirs and you can rest assured that whatever happens they will field more premiership players and a far more experienced team than ours. We need to plan our game around who they put on the track.

Edited by Pinball Wizard

It will be interesting to see who they ruck when renouf needs a rest , Mitchell was talking up luke Hodge as relief ruckman :) in the age.I would love to see Jamar smash him at at centre bounce

They might have to use Roughhead?

Yeah nah I hear ya... just I think somewhere deep down, I have a "troll" (is that what you call them) living deep down inside me. It usually never rears its head, but I definately feel I have some kind of sadistic side. Perhaps someone with information pertinant to psychological matters can help me out with a word here...

I highly enjoy Yze majics material. Derive from that what you will...

Nostra, Did you actually type YEAH NAH ??

and WHAT is wrong with THAT??! :P

Tough start to the year with a lot of injuries

The 22 the picked will be a long way from the coaches preferred list

It will be an opportunity for young and fringe players to establish themselves

Given that both sides are using the same media spin there can be no excuses.... at the very least we should be able to get a sense for how our depth lines up against a definite final eight contender.

Unfortunately I expect we'll get flogged... I'm just hoping I don't have to sit through another debacle like March 23rd 2008 as we opened the season with a 104 point bath from the Hawks....23.16.154 Dees 6.14.50

I don't think age has anything to do with it WYL. I'm sure 45 would have experienced something similar in 2000, even at 13. I was there in '87-'88, about the same age as what 45 would have been in 2000.

Hawthorn were the superpower of the 80's. As much as it hurt at the time, we can acknowledge how good the Hawks were, even through clenched teeth.

Sometimes you've just got to look forward and plan ahead and not look at the past ie. get over it.

Maybe you should watch this all the way through to remind yourself how dirty hawthorn were in the 80's

Even the coach was denying any wrong doing....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jp5tl9g_1ho

Alright, let's just hope Roughead isn't playing Round 1. It'll make a bigger victory for us :D

Jack the Ripper at FF worries me. He was prone to 'going missing', in fact he was never even sighted as far a I know. We need someone with more 'presence' at the pointy end (no pun intended).

Being there in '87 & '88 are very different to reading about it now. It's like saying do i feel the euphoria from the '64 GF or what happened in the '50's. Sure its cool to read about it, and i am proud of what the players did but it sure aint the same as being there and riding that emotive wave.

the emotion particularly at VFL Park at that Prelim Final was seriously like a death in the family-we had got so close to be beaten after the siren by the team that made the GF yearly, So yes i am Proud to hate the Hawks as well as look ahead.

Don't ever ask me to forgive or forget those memories- i remember them as an honour to our great club.

Maybe after seeing a winning G.F. it won't hurt so much, but i will never forget that day, and if you were not at the ground you will never quite understand it :)

Haha! no i am actually pretty easy going my friend, but Footy is different when you have supported it all your life.

That's why i am not such a huge fan of the expansion of the game, i will put up with it but i still think it dilutes the game just a tad.

Were you at Waverly back in '87 Two Words?

Haha! no i am actually pretty easy going my friend, but Footy is different when you have supported it all your life.

That's why i am not such a huge fan of the expansion of the game, i will put up with it but i still think it dilutes the game just a tad.

Were you at Waverly back in '87 Two Words?

Hell no. I wasn't anywhere back in '87. And I guess that's your point; that nobody can know what it was like if they weren't there.

I was at Waverley back in '87. I cried all the way home and still believe we would have beaten Carlton in that Grand Final had we made it. I LOATHE HAWTHORN and will feel that way FOREVER!!!! 22 years or 122 years, there's no "too long to hold a grudge" in football. That's what great about this game.

You know the emptiness Pringle...right on Bro!!!! :)

I was there and will never forget it, i went home to watch the reply just in case i got it wrong and it was only a nightmare and yes we would have won the following week

That Northey side, is still the bench mark for me of a very focused never say die 100% committed melboune football team since the great days of the 50/60'S

I was there and will never forget it, i went home to watch the reply just in case i got it wrong and it was only a nightmare and yes we would have won the following week

That Northey side, is still the bench mark for me of a very focused never say die 100% committed melboune football team since the great days of the 50/60'S

You went home & watched the Replay!!! you are a stronger man than i FP-i have never seen it, could never do it.

I just remember being numbed out, and friends and family kept the whiskeys coming my way. It was like a death in the family truly!!

Speaking of John Northey i would love it if Jimma or Cam Schwab got john down to the club at some stage, he deserves to be remembered as a demon legend, sure he didn't get the Grail but he sure gave his all. I met him at the '88 B & F top bloke. He loved the demons i am sure.

Still can't believe you watched the replay!!!