View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Give 31 to Scully

Posted

Comrades.

Never underestimate the power of symbolism.

While he had a respectable career, Wheatley did not impart any additional lustre to the most famous jumper at Melbourne.

This needs to change. 31 should go to Scully next season. Being the Richmond supporter as he is, it will also deepen his allegiance to the Demons.

Thoughts please?

Biffinator.

Comrades.

While he had a respectable career, Wheatley did not impart any additional lustre to the most famous jumper at Melbourne.

This needs to change. 31 should go to Scully next season. Being the Richmond supporter as he is, it will also deepen his allegiance to the Demons.

Thoughts please?

Biffinator.

Can't agree.

With all due respect to Paul Wheatley, the number 31 hasn't been associated with champions at Melbourne since Barassi went to Carlton. Most of its wearers have been disappointing and, although Wheaters has been a real workhorse, he's never reached the heights of RDB.

I'd give 31 to someone like Jordie McKenzie who is starting his career on the ground floor and looks like the type who might work his way up in time. The legend goes that this is what Barass did at the club - he wasn't the most skillful early in his career, he just worked hard on everything and ultimatley not only perfected his game but became the most inspirational character in the competition.

Can't agree.

With all due respect to Paul Wheatley, the number 31 hasn't been associated with champions at Melbourne since Barassi went to Carlton. Most of its wearers have been disappointing and, although Wheaters has been a real workhorse, he's never reached the heights of RDB.

I'd give 31 to someone like Jordie McKenzie who is starting his career on the ground floor and looks like the type who might work his way up in time. The legend goes that this is what Barass did at the club - he wasn't the most skillful early in his career, he just worked hard on everything and ultimatley not only perfected his game but became the most inspirational character in the competition.

Exactly

The 31 jumper might even inspire someone like Valenti as he symbolises determination worthy of its heritage

Ray Groom wore it with some distinction though

Give it to who want's it, I'd say tot he kids, these numbers are available if you want one ask for it.

Don't put the pressure ont hem by accepting even if they did not really want it (in they say yes as to not offend)

Comrades.

Thoughts please?

Biffinator.

I don't give a [censored] what number Tom Scully has, let him groove out his own legend.

31 has been a bogey number since Barassi left (Tom Kavanaugh) Don't heap pressure on him.

Just let him be Tom Scully.

I don't think it matters. If he is good enough then we will make any number his own. I could care less if he has #157 as long as he can find and use the ball. The kid has enough to live up too as #1 draft pick without putting more pressure on him - JW anyone?

Bring back Rod Keogh! (didnt Kavanagh, son of Croswell, wear 13 WYL?)

The proud wearers of the No 31 guernsey........

1913 F. Ellis (also wore No. 30, 1913)

1914 Jack Woolley

1915 A.M. ‘Max’ Hislop

1919 Leo Little (No. 3, 1920)

1920 Reginald Ellis

1921 – 1922 Fred Long

1923 – 1924 Marcus Glasscock

1925 – 1930 Colin Deane

1931 Lew Gough (No. 39, 1930)

1932 – 1934 Jack Power (No. 12, 1930 – 1931)

1936 – 1940 Ronald James Barassi

1941 – 1942 Leslie Gibbs (No. 28, 1939)

1943 Ken Levey (No. 29, 1944)

1944 Leslie Gibbs (See 1941 – 1942 above)

1944 Harry New (No. 20, 1945)

1945 Frank ‘Checker’ Hughes Jnr

1946 – 1950 Stanley Rule

1953 – 1964 Ronald Dale Barassi

1965 – 1968 Ray Groom (No. 15, 1963 – 1964)

1974 – 1975 Bill Barham

1976 Paul Goss

1978 Peter Garratt

1979 Phil Carman

1983 – 1985 Kelvin Templeton

1990 – 1992 Rod Keogh

1996 – 1998 Donald Cockatoo-Collins

2000 - Paul Wheatley

Tom Kavanagh wore 13 in 1989.

There is too pretence and bollocks over handing over guernseys. Get on with it. RDB has been gone for 45 years FCS.

I note Essendon and Collingwood just handed on the No 5 when each had an all time great retire. They just handed it on and let another young player make their mark.

I could not be fussed what number Scully wears just so long as he dominates the AFL!

i would give and reckon Tom Scully will get the number 31. The club wants to recreate what we achieved in the 50's, and by doing so, i reckon past numbers will be apart of this new creation. Just look what happen with Jack Watts receiving Norm Smith's number 4. Although scully and barassi may have started differently, something they both share is the willingness to WORK HARD to get the most out of themselves and the team to achieve the ultimate.

I would love to see Scully in the 31.

If I was him I would take it gladly! Huge honour especially with the great man Barassi to present it. Watts 4, Scully 31. These are legendary numbers of the footy club and is great for two No 1 picks to be able to wear them. Is very significant in the clubs rise I truley believe!

To be honest I would be disappointed if it wasnt offered to him. But it is his choice! Just hope it is an option.

I would love to see Scully in the 31.

If I was him I would take it gladly! Huge honour especially with the great man Barassi to present it. Watts 4, Scully 31. These are legendary numbers of the footy club and is great for two No 1 picks to be able to wear them. Is very significant in the clubs rise I truley believe!

To be honest I would be disappointed if it wasnt offered to him. But it is his choice! Just hope it is an option.

If Bartram isn't there next year, I'm warming to No. 3, Gary Lyon's old number, which is a number and person Scully could perhaps more readily relate to. Give him the number next to Jack Watts and watch as No. 3 continually rams the ball down the throat of No. 4! It was also Chris Judd's number at the Eagles where he made his name.

The proud wearers of the No 31 guernsey........

1913 F. Ellis (also wore No. 30, 1913)

1914 Jack Woolley

1915 A.M. ‘Max’ Hislop

1919 Leo Little (No. 3, 1920)

1920 Reginald Ellis

1921 – 1922 Fred Long

1923 – 1924 Marcus Glasscock

1925 – 1930 Colin Deane

1931 Lew Gough (No. 39, 1930)

1932 – 1934 Jack Power (No. 12, 1930 – 1931)

1936 – 1940 Ronald James Barassi

1941 – 1942 Leslie Gibbs (No. 28, 1939)

1943 Ken Levey (No. 29, 1944)

1944 Leslie Gibbs (See 1941 – 1942 above)

1944 Harry New (No. 20, 1945)

1945 Frank ‘Checker’ Hughes Jnr

1946 – 1950 Stanley Rule

1953 – 1964 Ronald Dale Barassi

1965 – 1968 Ray Groom (No. 15, 1963 – 1964)

1974 – 1975 Bill Barham

1976 Paul Goss

1978 Peter Garratt

1979 Phil Carman

1983 – 1985 Kelvin Templeton

1990 – 1992 Rod Keogh

1996 – 1998 Donald Cockatoo-Collins

2000 - Paul Wheatley

Tom Kavanagh wore 13 in 1989.

There is too pretence and bollocks over handing over guernseys. Get on with it. RDB has been gone for 45 years FCS.

I note Essendon and Collingwood just handed on the No 5 when each had an all time great retire. They just handed it on and let another young player make their mark.

I could not be fussed what number Scully wears just so long as he dominates the AFL!

Wow! I could have sworn Tom Kavanagh had worn 31, at least i got the numbers right!! I remember he took an Absolute specky at waverly one day & that was about it..

Good to see Liam Jurrah is wearing the Famous Darren Cuthbertson 48!!!! who i think kicked 8-9 in the same game!

Even though it's still a few years away, i wouldn't mind seeing young Jack Viney wearing his old mans number when he gets to the club.

A mate at work has been pushing for this for the last month or so. I don't think it's a bad thing, the kid appears to have his head screwed on right from all reports, I don't think it would faze him taking the number 31 on.

We havent tasted success since we had a gun in 31

In my opinion, let Scully do what David Neitz did and add his own number to the list of legendary and traditional Melbourne Numbers

Yes. Let Scully Forge his own Legend.

Although, if Buckley gets moved on (hope not!) it'd be nice to see Tom with the #1!!!!