Posted

Hi fellas,

Lance Whitnall is considering entering the pre- season draft after just being sacked by the blues. He is 192 cm, 100kg (give or take 20!), a former all Australian and turned 28 years of age in August this year.

In outlining the following pros and cons,could we use him?

1) We now have an under 23 policy

2) He has leadership potential

3) We need big bodies down the spine (back and forward)

4) He could provide an on field mentoring role for the likes of Newton if Neitzy finishes soon.

What pick do we have in the pres season draft?

Given that I doubt there will be a rush of clubs for him, would he be a handy pickup for say two years on a fairly moderate package?

Didn't we pursue him last year?

I would be interested in peoples thoughts and some constructive debate.

Posted
Hi fellas,

Lance Whitnall is considering entering the pre- season draft after just being sacked by the blues. He is 192 cm, 100kg (give or take 20!), a former all Australian and turned 28 years of age in August this year.

In outlining the following pros and cons,could we use him?

1) We now have an under 23 policy

2) He has leadership potential

3) We need big bodies down the spine (back and forward)

4) He could provide an on field mentoring role for the likes of Newton if Neitzy finishes soon.

What pick do we have in the pres season draft?

Given that I doubt there will be a rush of clubs for him, would he be a handy pickup for say two years on a fairly moderate package?

Didn't we pursue him last year?

Would be a massive risk, I'm sure this must of been discussed by several clubs during trade week.

Maybe this is the foot up the arse he needs to get his body right & play some productive footy.

However we need to have a good look at whats aviliable in PSD before we make any decisions.

You never know maybe another Aaron Davey could be lurking.

Posted

We could get Whitnall, or I can just pull on the boots and play for Melbourne.

For one, I'd do it for free. I'm about as fit as he is, and I don't have any brothers I can take to court.

The man is finished as an AFL footballer, so unless we've somehow turned into a retirement village for NQR players, I suggest we leave him alone.

Posted
Hi fellas,

Just recruit him to find out the truth on whether he deliberately missed those shots on goal in the last game and if he was under instructions to do so. Then they thank him by giving him the boot!

Posted
You could do worse, but I imagine we can do better.

Anybody see the round 22 game this year? He is shot his knees are f#$@ed he doesn't have the discipline to control his weight, he does have a great brain for football however his body was old before it's time and you can't fix things like that. Defeats everything Bailey is trying to implement. (right or wrong)

Posted

Anyway why would you want to draft a player who has just been cast out by the most crap club in the competition? It makes no sense at all except that they had to dump their skipper to give them room in the salary cap for Judd whose groin might be cactus. I hope Judd gives them the same service Lance gave them in 2007 -- he would be the perfect replacement.

Posted

in the PSD we should not touch Whitnall...we are building a team around our under23.

recruiting whitnall goes against our current philosophy, and if we're going to break our stance on over 23s, only do it for a genuinly great player!

the only uncontracted players we should be looking at in the psd are under23s who we see as having some potential to move into our starting 22!

DO NOT PICK UP AN UNCONTRACTED PLAYER FOR DEPTH!

best option:

Richmond pick up Fraser/guy Richards

Carlton pick up a youngster because they can't afford to give Brennan 1million over 3 years bc paying Judd 1.2 million a year.

Melbourne pick up Jarred Brennan!

If Brennan isn't available then options include

1) Fergus Watts- 21 yr old 196 key forward. was pick 15 in 2004, before being traded to the saints in 2005 for a pick17, so obviously has ability. was injured almost all of this season, but came back in the last 4 matches to kick 7 goals in one vfl match playing at FF. would be a good pick-up. only query for me is why StKilda would let him go, especially considering the retirement of Gherig and Hamill... are there other issues, or do they have Kochitszke and Reiwold pinned in the forward posts?

2) Kane Tenace- people bag him alot, and not without reason. however was pick7 in the Mclean draft (many people rated him top5 pre-draft) so again must be highly talented. he has pace to burn which would help our midfield. has average disposal though. unless he improves, he would not make our starting 22. but, maybe he just didnt get a look-in at geelong. if he clicks, could be exactly what we're looking for.

3) Pfeiifer from Adelaide...don't know much about him, except that he was extremely highly rated when he was drafted only a couple of years ago. a first round pick around pick15...i remember hoping we'd pick him up as his write-ups were impressive...could be good pickup, but im just guessing.

Posted

not knowing who's actually going to nominate ( makes it a tad hard ) ...but if a genuine decent defender lobs up... i wouldnt care if they are 25, 26, or egads....ancient and 27...if they can offer 3 good solid years at FB then Id snag them

Posted

Whitnall could be a long-term replacement for Sauntner.

That's all I can find for him on our list, sadly.

Carlton should have renegotiated his contract, there was still life in him, but it'd be hard to justify making a new start with a guy who is chronically limited by injury. The poor bugger could've been great; he's Carlton's Ox.

Posted

Have a look a Brennan if he gets that far, but Watts looks like a good option.

I really have no idea who is uncontracted at the moment at other clubs.

Whitnall might be an option for the Saints, or the Bulldogs. But even then they would overstating thier chances of a flag in the next couple of years.

Melbourne wouldn't think twice about Whitnall (Funny how we almost picked him up 2 years ago or so, phew!).

Posted

Yes I would take a punt on Whitnall.

The reason is that we would not have to give up anything ie he would be free & would play for match payments.

He showed in a couple of games last year that he could still be useful. If he could hold down CHB for a year while Frawley got more experience it would be terrific.

There is no gamble here because he is costing us nothing so it is worth a punt.

Posted
If he could hold down CHB for a year while Frawley got more experience it would be terrific.

There is no gamble here because he is costing us nothing so it is worth a punt.

Hold CHB on one knee and cant kick properly because of his bad one.

FWIW, I'll Rivers with two good knees (even one) at CHB than Whitnall.

BTW, I reckon Frawley is designed for FB rather than CHB.