View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

19 hours ago, lorn said:

I don't care that much about pick twenty-four. It won't that useful in this draft.

I will be if someone decides to draft Kalani, and we have to bid for him.

20 hours ago, Demon Jack said:

Everyone is kicking us while we're down at the moment. With this deal, we have the chance to really dig our heels in and say 'enough'.

They've been kicking us down since Maynard ploughed through Gus.

If we lose Tracc and Oliver surely that will certainly weaken out midfield. With draft picks from the SUNS and GWS who are we going to get that will make an immediate impact to our side.

Hopefully we are not in a rebuild phase ! With Tassie coming in and them getting you beaut draft picks, bottom club will remain in lingo for sometime.

Just now, Coolx2 said:

If we lose Tracc and Oliver surely that will certainly weaken out midfield. With draft picks from the SUNS and GWS who are we going to get that will make an immediate impact to our side.

Hopefully we are not in a rebuild phase ! With Tassie coming in and them getting you beaut draft picks, bottom club will remain in lingo for sometime.

To be fair what has weakened our midfield was when we lost Gus. I think it'll take a year or two but I think the young ones coming through, particularly Harvey, will be strong.

7 minutes ago, Greg Schneider said:

Kalani’s not going anywhere near pick 24

I think we would save this selection for Latrelle.

This trade period has been pretty bleak so far.

Having another Pickett would excite all us.

Presume White will go later than that too.

11 hours ago, mo64 said:

You could say that the club were tired of Trac asking for a trade 2 years running, but you can't conclude that his teammates don't want him around. As a footballer, he's been a total pro.

Not from what I've heard. Was talking to a staffer who pretty much confirmed his alienated himself from the rest of the playing group. None of them clapped for him at the best and fairest. And more than a few rolled their eyes at his interview on the stage. No one was impressed with him that night.

55 minutes ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

Collingwood apparently searching around to swap De Goey for a first rounder...would we bite with Petracca heading out???

Not sure but if he has only two years on his contract I'd think about it. Recent form has not been outstanding. If he has a "lifetime" contract... no thanks

23 minutes ago, Katrina Dee Fan said:

I will be if someone decides to draft Kalani, and we have to bid for him.

The club will find a way to get the picks to match the bid

4 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Not sure but if he has only two years on his contract I'd think about it. Recent form has not been outstanding. If he has a "lifetime" contract... no thanks

2 years left on contract.

Not sold either way....but easily makes our best 22 when fit. Nice disposal skills, high impact player. Would have to consider imo.

10 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Sadly, mo64, it’s much more likely than not that he’s lost the support of his teammates. Yes, he’s nothing if not ultra professional and no matter what guernsey he wears next year you’re guaranteed he’ll give his all, because that’s the kind of person he is. But even just one player being on the outer in the locker rooms (so to speak) isn’t conducive to a successful team.

Always love your player insights Ghosty.

There's a saying that a man marries a woman thinking she will never change, and she does. A woman marries a man thinking he will change, and he doesn't 😂.

We were all incredibly excited when Trac was drafted, followed by his many accolades. We hoped he would never change.

But as can happen with some millennials, he put his personal brand above the organisation that employed him. This was strongly encouraged by people he brought into his life who themselves were inexperienced in life.

My understanding is this situation became eye-rolling for the playing group. It is the antithesis of the selfless attitude that brought success in 2021. It became a high maintenance distraction off field and sometimes on.

It sounds like King is intent on building a champion team in which a champion player putting himself above the team does not fit. Having said that, it seems King has the self-belief to build a champion team even if a Trac trade does not work out. Ghosty is right. In this scenario, Trac is a pro and will give his all.

From here, we just need to trust King, Guerra, Lamb, JT and the football department to make the call on what is best for the Melbourne footy club.

Personally, I'd hate a pick swap for Trac. It feels unders. But if King and all believe it can deliver us a champion team and remove eye-rolling distractions, then so be it.

1 minute ago, Dee in a Kilt said:

From here, we just need to trust King, Guerra, Lamb, JT and the football department to make the call on what is best for the Melbourne footy club.

And as supporters this is pretty much all we can do

1 hour ago, Coolx2 said:

If you keep Clarry and Trac then in 2 years they both won’t be the same players, Max will be gone so we would be in even more trouble. This will be the 3rd year we will have top picks, which sets us up nicely

Edited by Demons11

What would be the point in getting DeGoey? We are rebuilding and trying to move on people who cause issues off-field. Would be the dumbest move ever to move on Petracca just to replace him with a version of him that is just as old, perenially underperforms, and is perenially injured.

Who cares, it’s not like we are winning games with them, no loss.

2 hours ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

Collingwood apparently searching around to swap De Goey for a first rounder...would we bite with Petracca heading out???

De Goey only played 13 games in 2024 and 11 this year. And the games he played this year were a bit scattered. His longest stretch was 6 games from round 22 through to the GLORIOUS DEFEAT in the PF.

2 seasons in a row of missing half the season for a player heading into their 12th year is a bit of a red flag for mine.

3 hours ago, DubDee said:

Are the people saying picks 7 and 8 are not great in a compromised draft, the same people that don't want to let go of pick 24 (probably pushed out to 35)?

Yeah because it might get you are Future 1st like it did for NM. Tigers gave them ND3 for it…

Bryan Cranston Mic Drop GIF

Time for one more repeat, maybe?...

On 09/10/2025 at 14:32, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Time to repeat this?

Lamb on Trade Radio 2 days ago: We have "told Christian that the likely outcome is he comes back to us".

Leaves room, of course, for an unlikely outcome.

In which case, I'm going for a final 'give' by GCFC: keep 24, 2 lower picks to match 24's points.

Edited by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew

8 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Time for one more repeat, maybe?...

Leaves room, of course, for an unlikely outcome.

In which case, I'm going for a final 'give' by GCFC: keep 24, 2 lower picks to match 24's points.

I’ve read way too many differing points of view/explanations that all seem plausible on Demonland to have any clue about who has the upper hand in this trade 😂 as soon as I think ‘ok yes, we are desperate to get rid of Tracc’ I see a post like this and I’m like ‘pffffft that’s dumb, of course GCS are more desperate for Tracc’

Someone is going to comment soon saying ‘Lamb is saying this as a posture of strength to GCS and he doesn’t mean it’, then someone else will say ‘King has been explicit that he sees Tracc as pivotal to his plans next year’

What even is reality

1 hour ago, bluey said:

Who cares, it’s not like we are winning games with them, no loss.

Pretty much agree with this.

With Trac and Clarry with us next year we probably win 8 or 9 games instead of 5, 6 or 7 without them. Hardly needle moving.

It will hurt seeing them in different colours in the first 4 rounds of next year, and potentially finals, but we’ll move on like we have with Luke Jackson.

8 minutes ago, BoBo said:

I’ve read way too many differing points of view/explanations that all seem plausible on Demonland to have any clue about who has the upper hand in this trade 😂 as soon as I think ‘ok yes, we are desperate to get rid of Tracc’ I see a post like this and I’m like ‘pffffft that’s dumb, of course GCS are more desperate for Tracc’

Someone is going to comment soon saying ‘Lamb is saying this as a posture of strength to GCS and he doesn’t mean it’, then someone else will say ‘King has been explicit that he sees Tracc as pivotal to his plans next year’

What even is reality

Thanks, BoBo. I think it's my post you're finding dumb. So be it.

I wasn't trying to express any special knowledge.

With the Lamb re-post I was just reminding us 'punters' of a statement (albeit now old) about a 'third way' somewhat lost in the 'first' and 'second' ways of 'Humphrey' and 'picks'.

My unlikely outcome (I meant to call it 'likely unlikely') was just me joining the fun and having a punt. Again, no knowledge, not even an informed position.

2 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Thanks, BoBo. I think it's my post you're finding dumb. So be it.

I wasn't trying to express any special knowledge.

With the Lamb re-post I was just reminding us 'punters' of a statement (albeit now old) about a 'third way' somewhat lost in the 'first' and 'second' ways of 'Humphrey' and 'picks'.

My unlikely outcome (I meant to call it 'likely unlikely') was just me joining the fun and having a punt. Again, no knowledge, not even an informed position.

Oh noooooo, please accept my apology if it came across I was saying your post was dumb, I didn’t mean it like that at all. I meant that I was going in between thinking:

Dees want Tracc gone more than GCS want Tracc (advantage GCS)

vs

GCS want Tracc more than the Dees want Tracc gone (advantage Dees)

The ‘pffft, that’s dumb’ was me referring to me changing from one position to the other based on posts like yours. Like I have done about 97 times over the last 5 days, haha

I was only trying to convey that my brain is absolutely fried by so many convincing arguments/evidence.

To which I clearly conveyed it very poorly. Apologies again.

7 minutes ago, BoBo said:

Oh noooooo, please accept my apology if it came across I was saying your post was dumb, I didn’t mean it like that at all. I meant that I was going in between thinking:

Dees want Tracc gone more than GCS want Tracc (advantage GCS)

vs

GCS want Tracc more than the Dees want Tracc gone (advantage Dees)

The ‘pffft, that’s dumb’ was me referring to me changing from one position to the other based on posts like yours. Like I have done about 97 times over the last 5 days, haha

I was only trying to convey that my brain is absolutely fried by so many convincing arguments/evidence.

To which I clearly conveyed it very poorly. Apologies again.

No worries at all, BoBo!

Care to join me, though, to settle on position number 98 and commit to a punt? 😉

(p.s. I think I might have your 97 personally covered! And don't even ask on the Clarry front!)