View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 minute ago, Little Goffy said:

the Collingwood crowd would have booed him

Absolute certainty.

4 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

slice of these people who take football as an opportunity to embrace a completely anti-moral tribalism

Such a good description.

The tribalism of footy can be great fun. But it can also be very dark.

3 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

We all know the game would be better and even richer if Collingwood were removed.

now you are talking

post of the day {potd}

33 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

Hope Maynard gets rubbed out but of course he won't, he is more protected than N.Daicos.

If only Nibbler decked Maynard that would have been awesome, doing it for Gus!

In some cases I do believe two wrongs make a right.

has anyone seen any vision of the tackle he put on Nibbler? I saw it live and then the aftermath, but not one word about the tackle itself.

Adelaide fans are bogans (generally speaking) and they hate Victorians almost universally, so no surprise they'd boo a player from an opposition club for any reason.

But the hypocrisy of the Collingwood club whinging about it is breathtaking since they boo players who joke about them (Ed Langdon) or who consider them beatable (Steve May) or who is kicking for goal (any Collingwood opponent of any club at any time).

1 minute ago, Trident22 said:

has anyone seen any vision of the tackle he put on Nibbler? I saw it live and then the aftermath, but not one word about the tackle itself.

It was a speak tackle similar to what cost Kozzy three weeks a couple of years back but Kozzie ran passed the ball to lay his hit so that may be the difference.

3 minutes ago, pitmaster said:

It was a speak tackle similar to what cost Kozzy three weeks a couple of years back but Kozzie ran passed the ball to lay his hit so that may be the difference.

I understand that. I guess the point I was making was, there has been zero commentary on what led to the push and shove after the siren. They focused on that, but never delved into what it was all about. Proof that the media controls the narrative.

As Pitmaster mentioned, Collingwood supporters still boo May every time he gets the ball. Why? Because he ( quite justifiably), at a private function, said we should have “smoked ‘em “ in that final where Maynard nearly killed Angus.

The hypocrisy is staggering. We would be justified in booing Moore and Maynard for nearly killing two of our players, but I’m glad to say that most Demon supporters are above that sort of behaviour.

I have absolutely no doubt that the pathetic filth supporters would have done exactly the same had the situation happened in reverse.

It’s all good for them but when the shoes on the other foot omg they are a bunch of delicate flowers and the biggest bunch of hippocrates I have ever seen.

Such a disgusting club to follow.

Edited by DemonOX

5 hours ago, biggestred said:

no mate. booing a player for being the victim of a homophobic slur is pretty cooked and needs to be called out and called out strongly.

pretty sure they were booing him because he roughed up rankine, not because he was the victim of a homophobic slur

2 hours ago, Previously known as LITD. said:

Who would have ever thought that pies fans could be out grubbed?

I thought Adelaide were the better of the two between Port as well. Scary.

21 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

When Collingwood supporters visit my house (friends of wife), I put plastic sheets on the couches.

I wouldn’t let them in to begin with.

I booed RDB in his first game for Carlton against us in 1965

As did many others in the Melbourne Member Area — none as loudly as this 10 yr old tho

I got to speak to the great man about it once he just laughed and asked did I now understand why he had to leave

I must be out of touch. My thinking is the bloke should have been applauded.

Apparently Homophobia is alive and well in the city of Bigots.

Edited by Previously known as LITD.

8 hours ago, dees189227 said:

But the thing is quanor didn't report it. Officials heard the players talking about it after the game. Maybe adelaide supporters should be more angry with the way their team crumbled.

I cannot believe I'm defending Collingwood. On this issue I am but yes, the irony of McCrae & their fans complaining about booing when there fans are feral. I mean they have history. Horne-francis, goodes and even Dom sheed

I thought the booing was a disgrace. Ended up supporting the Pies! So pleased Quaynor played brilliantly

18 minutes ago, Previously known as LITD. said:

I must be out of touch. My thinking is the bloke should have been applauded.

Apparently Homophobia is alive and well in the city of Bigots.

Funny that in the Seventies when Don Dunstan was Premier of SA it was considered the most progressive state in Australia

And Homophobia was was often targeted towards SA from Victorians

57 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

When Collingwood supporters visit my house (friends of wife), I put plastic sheets on the couches.

next time try locking the door and 'losing' the keys

1 hour ago, Tracca said:

pretty sure they were booing him because he roughed up rankine, not because he was the victim of a homophobic slur

Houston reportedly said to Rankine “the last time I saw you, you were horizontal” referring to their previous clash during which Houston knocked Rankine out. Rankine lashed out at this comment and Quaynor backed up Houston at which time Rankine made the offending comment.

If Adelaide fans were to boo anyone for a reason other than the homophobic slur issue, wouldn’t it be Houston? Or wouldn’t they split the booing between Houston and Quaynor?

Yeah, they were definitely booing Quaynor for being (in their eyes) the reason Rankine was suspended.

• Author

The point of me beginning this thread was to highlight the inappropriateness of Collingwood supporters ( AND commentators) taking umbrage at anyone vilifying one of their own with booing, yet rapturously cheering on Maynard after Dees’ supporters have ‘the audacity’ to boo him for nearly killing Angus.

2 hours ago, DemonOX said:

I have absolutely no doubt that the pathetic filth supporters would have done exactly the same had the situation happened in reverse.

It’s all good for them but when the shoes on the other foot omg they are a bunch of delicate flowers and the biggest bunch of hippocrates I have ever seen.

Such a disgusting club to follow.

They are precious. You are absolutely right. Another example is their outrage whenever N Daicos is closely tagged.

They seem to think, and some of the media go along for the ride, that Nicky should be allowed to play the game entirely on his own terms, that is, scouting about off the contest and with a licence to receive the ball at will and distribute as he wishes.

He is very effective when left to run free, but what other player is entitled to play without an opponent? None of course. And when a close watch is kept on him, as in both Kings Birthday and Round 24 against us, he is quelled.

I suspect Matthew Nicks is regretting little him run free last night.

Shocked Dog GIF by Scooby-Doo

Booing is the human equivalent of thunder for dogs. ....Some just can't stand it, and some get scared , but its only noise.

There is hypocrisy everywhere in most things. Especially in the AFL world . McRae is becoming annoying as hell. He is a sore loser, and a poor winner imo.

Oh, and, F@#k Collingwood!