View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

This is not specific to Tracc, but one of the impressions I got over the Goodwin tenure (especially the 2021-2023 period) is that he had such trust in the game plan and the ability of our 'team defence' to ratchet up the pressure - that I got the feeling that we essentially went into games saying "We'll see how our standard play goes and increase effort if we are forced to" which really invites the risk of a slow start and I can't help but wonder if subconsciously this has also been taken on by the players with their individual games.

There’s so much speculation in this topic as to why Petracca is slow to get started but no one has actually asked whether it is true. I’ve looked through the quarter by quarter ratings back to about round 10 and there’s no obviously correlation showing Petracca’s ratings starting low and improving as the game wears on. 2 games he had absolute stinkers in the first half, but another game he had the same in the second half after dominating in the first. Other games are mostly close between first and second halves or random variance between quarters. Without actually having calculated it, I’d say his average ratings in first and second halves would be very similar over that stretch.

1 hour ago, 0livers Army said:

There’s so much speculation in this topic as to why Petracca is slow to get started but no one has actually asked whether it is true. I’ve looked through the quarter by quarter ratings back to about round 10 and there’s no obviously correlation showing Petracca’s ratings starting low and improving as the game wears on. 2 games he had absolute stinkers in the first half, but another game he had the same in the second half after dominating in the first. Other games are mostly close between first and second halves or random variance between quarters. Without actually having calculated it, I’d say his average ratings in first and second halves would be very similar over that stretch.

Bringing facts to a vibe fight. I like it.

• Author
1 hour ago, 0livers Army said:

Thanks OA.

Great username btw.

I think if you widen your parameters past round ten of this year, you will find that there merit in the assumption.

I'm not saying it's every game because it's simply not.

But past ten weeks ago and a few during its true. Also it started some time ago.

Why did you you pick round ten? Does it support your narrative or did you feel that was a big enough sample.

Also there are obviously different stats to measure performance.

In terms of simply getting controlled possession of the pill..a reasonably significant sine qua non for the thread, then it may pay to revisit your information.

Maybe it's me that's off but many a game I am an avid checker of number of disposals by players and Tracc often has quite a few more in the second halves.

Now this is clearly not the only test of impacting games so maybe I should have been more specific in my statement.

But I haven't checked every single game and there is some generalisation involved. But I'd wager reasonable money on my claim.

• Author
On 11/08/2025 at 13:08, Little Goffy said:

Pre-spleening he was explicitly kept to lower minutes and less midfield time in the first half and early in quarters, and then thrown into the clearances muchmore as other mids tired. The idea, which worked so well so often, was that any given opponent trying to match up on Petracca's strength would be completely overwhelmed if Trac also had significantly fresher legs.

The result was of course our trademark strings of high quality clearances and even repeat centre clearance goals which seized momentum in games kept tight by our brutal defence.

Bang bang bang was not an accident.

Obviously with the big hit to fitness caused by good guy Moore's 'reckless severe impact' effort Petracca hasn't been able to replicate that this season. It is still reasonable to hope he'll be back to being a genuine weapon after a proper pre-season.

Well this explains a lot.

Thanks heaps. L G.

And also are frequent last ditch comebacks

• Author
On 11/08/2025 at 15:15, Adina88 said:

Someone sitting behind me in the Members' yesterday said something that put the finger on the elusive mystery for me: "Trac's too heavy". That's it - IMHO, Trac put in a big preseason that involved that trip to the US, with a focus on (re)building strength. Maybe he's gone too far now - he's clearly the bulkiest player we have, and maybe too much muscle at the expense of agility and speed. Easily fixable...but where he is in 2026, who knows.

Probably a decent amount of truth in this. It does help him as a.mid break tackles but perhaps slows him down.

It would be a bonus if he was more successful at swinging forward but given his goal kicking it's not.

• Author
On 11/08/2025 at 15:50, picket fence said:

Bloke is mentally scared for life and can't blame him at all. Friggen bloody Moore should be totally embarrased by his crude knees first option that he does OFTEN! TRACC will never get over it, and as result plays like it as well. Very unfortunate but totally understandable

I was dumped on for suggesting Moore was out of line with his knee plant

My theory was at a 90 degree angle it doesn't add any elevation to to one's marking.

Look at the way Jeremy Howe uses his knees for gaining height..... it's not like Moore's action.

Perhaps it was simply muscle memory, but clearly a dangerous act. The bloke was hospitalized and it threw him off his game big time. Not long after Maynard had wiped out his mate Gus.

It's nothing compared to Toby Gs kung fu efforts that were outlawed but nonetheless should probably be looked at.

It's a fine line but given the culture at cfc, I'm not too inclined to give them all the benefit of the doubt.

Just saying.

• Author
7 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

His form, both in game and from week to week, has been very patchy to say the least.

He simply is not playing the hard / tough committed to the contest footy that we saw pre-injury.

Understandable sure but much of what we are seeing in terms of topsy turvy form now is mostly above the ears.

Not an easy fix but IF not fixed we are going into 2026 on very shakey ground with Tracc.

His body language and frustrations in terms of clearly not bringing his best are also coming out as highlighted on last weeks Sunday footy show.

Not a great 'team first' outcome at times.

Needs to re-set and assess where he's at over the off season (above the shoulders) if we're ever to see the best of Tracc again from here.

I fear that if he does change clubs we will see a totally reinvigorated Tracc of old and it will be a bigger case of ruing Jesse Hogan and then some.

Hopefully he stays,..fixes his goal kicking...slims down a tad and finds his mojo again.

I know it's a cliche but he is a a a he shadow of the 2021 player he was as is his partner in crime CO.

How many games those two alone have won by themselves has dropped off substantially.

They also seem to have lost their symbiotic sychronicity.

Ideally I would love to see Cp drastically fix his goal kicking and reinvent himself as a much needed CHF.

I'm not sure how accurate it is to consider him slow to start matches, but I also don't care too much. Generational player whose best is sublime. Does he have weaknesses - yes, but I would take him with his weaknesses above 1000 other players.

He has been below his best this season, but even the best players have poorer seasons. I can't wait to see what he produces in 2026.

I want him in red and blue for the rest of his career.

Not sure he is a slow starter. It is noticeable though he fumbles like crazy and his kicking/hanballing is way off. Better than average player but I would say he has turned from elite to average since that incident. The vision of his antics last week were not great, he needs to find selfless footy again, not this selfish bs that has crept in to his game.

Love him to pieces though, just hope he is able to find somewhere near his best....a new coach has work to do with him, and others!

1 hour ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

Not sure he is a slow starter. It is noticeable though he fumbles like crazy and his kicking/hanballing is way off. Better than average player but I would say he has turned from elite to average since that incident. The vision of his antics last week were not great, he needs to find selfless footy again, not this selfish bs that has crept in to his game.

Love him to pieces though, just hope he is able to find somewhere near his best....a new coach has work to do with him, and others!

He is clearly down this year. But he is still ranked #6 in the afl for score involvements per game (down from #1 for most of the previous 5 years). And involved in 30% of our scores this year (down from around 35% most of the last 5years). He is still elite in creating score involvements. By comparison, a few similar style players are Isaac Heeney (ranked #25 for score involvements) and Cam Rayner (ranked #86).

9 hours ago, Watson11 said:

He is clearly down this year. But he is still ranked #6 in the afl for score involvements per game (down from #1 for most of the previous 5 years). And involved in 30% of our scores this year (down from around 35% most of the last 5years). He is still elite in creating score involvements. By comparison, a few similar style players are Isaac Heeney (ranked #25 for score involvements) and Cam Rayner (ranked #86).

Statistically that is not too bad, a slight drop off.

The fumbles and his inability to hit targets is real though, the retention after he disposes of the ball is one of worst in the league. And the selfishness or frustration that has been starting to occur, needs to simmer down. Hopefully it all comes back together for him, we need him close to his best!