View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

4 hours ago, nextskipclaz said:

Happy to reiterate for those who don’t understand football and energetics

Kade Chandler [censored] blocks our flow, and

Here’s why:

1. He plays with an insecurity that he masks by overgesticulating, applauding other players, pointing and remonstrating, and keeping a ‘hopeful’ look about him.

2. His insecurity shows up in these ways and more: hesitant to move the move on once he marks it (last qtr should have gone to petty on the wing. Hesitated and then petty made the same lead but with less space and the mark was spoiled), overruns footy and/or opponent consistently making himself a desperate scrambly ‘looking’ player but with very meagre effect.

3. He is a limited player. You might think he has upside, but the truth is he will only ever get so far. He will have 4 decent games a year and they will be always a result of having a [censored] one the week before - which is old melbourne standards - rather than being consistently contributory on a level of substantial significance within game.

4. Why be so Kade Chandler positive (like EVERYONE in the demon community). I understand he’s cute and has a nice smile and you think he’s contributing to vibe, but actually he makes our grand purpose less sincere and less potent. He dulls our will to will with his paraded perkiness. He tries to be an energiser bunny because his footy is Carlton b grader standard. We have enough energiser bunnies with our youth.

5. demon fans need to realise what is holding us back so we can move forward, and a better more consistent player in Kade chandler’s position would do wonders for our success

6. It’s no shade on Kade. It’s just : trade out players like that, and bring in non-insecure beasts like Dylan Moore , Shawn mannagh or whatever his name is. Some real solid smart no frills half forwards who actually [censored] impact.

7. I know that dees fans will hate this and that’s because they are largely [censored]

8. Tysm

Everyone please stop arguing!! You’re burying this comment and I think everyone should have to read it so we can find unity in how dumb it is.

3 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Looking at that last play again, you can see gawn trying to tap it to viney which is an interesting choice given vineys kicking has been horrendous. Would have preferred to see kozzie there

Yes absolutely.

He or Rivers over Viney every day of the week.

Viney is a liability in our midfield and whoever is the new coach needs to address the elephant in the room and that is Viney should not be in our best 22 next unless he can reinvent himself into a pressure small forward.

If not, then hes depth at Casey.

I was really happy with a lot of yesterdays game, the quick handball stuff was really fun, just that last kick inside 50 hurt us.

Really excited about some of the kids and seeing what a new coach and coaching team could do.

Windsors run and carry, Langfords mark in the square (!), Disco everywhere...good fun.

4 hours ago, nextskipclaz said:

Here’s why:

1. He plays with an insecurity that he masks by overgesticulating, applauding other players, pointing and remonstrating, and keeping a ‘hopeful’ look about him.

2. His insecurity shows up in these ways and more: hesitant to move the move on once he marks it (last qtr should have gone to petty on the wing. Hesitated and then petty made the same lead but with less space and the mark was spoiled), overruns footy and/or opponent consistently making himself a desperate scrambly ‘looking’ player but with very meagre effect.

3. He is a limited player. You might think he has upside, but the truth is he will only ever get so far. He will have 4 decent games a year and they will be always a result of having a [censored] one the week before - which is old melbourne standards - rather than being consistently contributory on a level of substantial significance within game.

4. Why be so Kade Chandler positive (like EVERYONE in the demon community). I understand he’s cute and has a nice smile and you think he’s contributing to vibe, but actually he makes our grand purpose less sincere and less potent. He dulls our will to will with his paraded perkiness. He tries to be an energiser bunny because his footy is Carlton b grader standard. We have enough energiser bunnies with our youth.

5. demon fans need to realise what is holding us back so we can move forward, and a better more consistent player in Kade chandler’s position would do wonders for our success

6. It’s no shade on Kade. It’s just : trade out players like that, and bring in non-insecure beasts like Dylan Moore , Shawn mannagh or whatever his name is. Some real solid smart no frills half forwards who actually [censored] impact.

7. I know that dees fans will hate this and that’s because they are largely [censored]

8. Tysm

Jeez nsc that was a terrible [censored] canning of one of ours, obviously you aren’t. He and Ed are trying to cover the ANB role, just can’t understand why you would go to such lengths to denigrate Kade Chandler. This is more about you than it is about Kade.

5 hours ago, nextskipclaz said:

Here’s why:

8. Tysm

I’ve read a lot of mind boggling hot takes on this site over the years. This is certainly an opinion. Not a good one. Or a smart one. Or one anchored in facts, common sense or logic, but an opinion nonetheless.

Well Done Yes GIF by Alexander Stewart

10 hours ago, binman said:

Whatever people think about Goody's sacking I really hope that false narratives and myths don't take hold on Demonland.

The post above is an example of such false narratives.

We have been playing fast, transition footy all season and playing with an attacking mindset all season. In fact it's been one of our problems - we don't have the cattle to not cough up huge scores on turnover, as we did again yesterday.

Tactically and method wise, yesterday's game was no different to how we've played all season, particularly since the bye.

In fact, we have been really improving our transition game in the second half of the year, as evidenced by a raft of stats, for example scores from defensive half.

I mean we did some of our best transition and ball movement all season in 7 of our previous 8 quarters before yesterday's game,

Mate I wasn't trying to create any 'narrative.' Don't know why you are spinning it that way. I'm just going by own observations and I feel that the way we played the other day was different to how we have played during many of the matches earlier in the season. If you think my observations are wrong then so be it but there was no 'narrative.'

I'm sure you have plenty of your own biases yourself.

Edited by Hopeful Demon

20 hours ago, DubDee said:

Do you mean the Goodwin who was in charge when we recruited him and then developed him and gave him his debut?

He, like others eg, Kentfield, were raw and needed training and development at Casey.

I see Culley and other young players flourishing and I think it’s down to good player development.

Sure, Goodwin had loyalty to players like Melksham (and Petty) who many wanted delisted.

Who at Casey do you think deserves a go that hasn’t had a chance yet?

We are at 9 debutants for the year

I’d like to have seen Brown Kentfield, Laurie and Adam’s for a start get a run of 3-4 in a row and not come on as a sub for a start. This year and last season have both been write offs and we still keep playing the same old same olds, they could easily have rotated out the bottom few players to give them a run at different stages and yet never did.

Edited by Garbo

2 hours ago, dees189227 said:

I'd love to ask Daniel turner what happened late in the quarter when the ball bounced back and turner was near the fence & naughton just grabbed it & snagged the goal with no pressure

Disco, like almost everyone else, thought the ball would be out of bounds. He’d slammed into the post at the same time so there was never gonna be a chance of him stopping that goal.

He was also cramping on and off in the last. At one point he was cramping badly in both legs at the same time. He was walking like he’d 💩-ed his pants, so you know it must’ve been bad. He was waving for attention for ages, poor bugger was frustrated to be so hampered.

6 hours ago, BoBo said:

What are you referring to when you say energetics? Do you understand energetics?

I come from the point of view of

1: behavioural science ala Chase Hughes 'The Behaviour Ops' and

2: ancient chinese philosophy of Taoism - which describes such events as even 1 or 2 pieces of a whole destabilising the potential of the whole, and USUALLY these 1 or 2 pieces are only subtly perceptible.

and what I think Chandler has brought into our team is subtle but widely detrimental. His raison d'etre on the field (unlike a Mcvee, Windsor, Langford even Rivers) is unstable, uncertain, and pretend (always 'trying' to show' his made of the right stuff, without actually just BEING the right stuff.

And because he has such an enthusiastic energy, his hesitant and insecure playing style (both with ball in hand and when running around 'defending' is MUCH harder to read for the average supporter.

He is not providing the Alex Neal Bullen type honesty and APPROPRIATE enthusiasm. It is all INAPPROPRTIATE enthusiasm and while it looks good while we're up, it only breeds an AVERAGE in-game responses when the heat is on, when we are under true adversity, and when the game is there to be won.

Many will say: Kade Chandler is the least of our problems.

My philosophy of subtle energetics and behavioural imitation in groups (mimetics) makes Kade Chandler A BIG MOLE and a dsignificant problem for our culture that should be head down bum up and less flighty [censored] gesticulating , random celebrating, and then just NOT IMPACTING the [censored] game bar a 'cheeky goal' (which UNFORTUNATELY is the only thing most clueless fans care about)

6 hours ago, JTR said:

Are you the philosopher guy who a few weeks back posted a similar thesis about how Chandler is at the core of our various issues?

Or do we now have a second person who has a particularly 'curious' take on young Kade?

same guy. dying on this hill.

yes i am a philosophy major. and also a musician.

it's a curious take maybe, but it's just the difference between having a really integral grounded and consistent player in that position like a neal bullen, dylan moore, liam baker (head down bum up) , someone with the humble demeanor of a Mcvee but in our forward line rather than a flighty energy, over celebrate-y, low impact, loud in words but quiet in impact player like Kade Chandler. It would make an enormous difference to the synergy of our team. An emotionless workhorse who serves pickett petty and van royen on a platter.

(We already have flighty players up forward like Pickett and Fritsch, and I KNOW that we would benefit from a real work horse player up there rather than another goal sneak). Chandler is redundant.

If you're a player looking in his eyes at the huddle you are lowering the standard to a VFL mindset - and many of our players have gone to a Kade Chandler pretend level and forgotten what it takes to play with impact and intelligence and humility at AFL level.

2 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

I’ve read a lot of mind boggling hot takes on this site over the years. This is certainly an opinion. Not a good one. Or a smart one. Or one anchored in facts, common sense or logic, but an opinion nonetheless.

Well Done Yes GIF by Alexander Stewart

tysm. would love to hear what you have to offer about where the team could get better, which players are advancing us and which ones are more dispensable for something better. i imagine the specificity you would be willing to pursue in that opinion might be retarded by wanting to fit in/be a nice person/get likes on your post for keeping the peace.

certainly, someone needs to take that role, so...great job.

1 minute ago, nextskipclaz said:

tysm. would love to hear what you have to offer about where the team could get better, which players are advancing us and which ones are more dispensable for something better. i imagine the specificity you would be willing to pursue in that opinion might be retarded by wanting to fit in/be a nice person/get likes on your post for keeping the peace.

certainly, someone needs to take that role, so...great job.

Will Ferrell Elf GIF by filmeditor

3 hours ago, DeeZone said:

Jeez nsc that was a terrible [censored] canning of one of ours, obviously you aren’t. He and Ed are trying to cover the ANB role, just can’t understand why you would go to such lengths to denigrate Kade Chandler. This is more about you than it is about Kade.

I've never bought into the idea that Kade Chandler's place in the team is secure. So i'm not denigrating him.

Yes it is about me. I speak things that I think others don't notice. I search for the mole. It is a common trait of mine.

And sometimes i'm wrong about it. But I still believe it should be heard without sugar coating.

6 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Will Ferrell Elf GIF by filmeditor

i'm competitive. and I believe in the dees. I think we could have won multiple premierships.

And I think there's a few things in the road of that that most people don't look at. Including being nice and selecting nice players. So i want to say it.

I am nice too. but there's a time and a place as well :)

I am encouraged by the performance against the Bulldogs.

I enjoyed watching the game as it was an entertaining match with a lot of free flowing footy where the Dees showed a lot of heart in the way they played after a tough week in the office.

We were running with a patchwork defence and a midfield that was down on it's usual levels of performance and yet scored 15 goals.

I think that the big thing that came out of the game for me was the high level of professionalism by the whole team. They were playing against a team fighting for their finals birth and very nearly rolled them. I could see the style of footy they are trying to put in place but at times their execution let them down. I differentiate between skill and execution as I believe that a majority of our list have the skills but need to get stronger in the 6" between the ears to improve their execution.

On this thread I read a few comments regarding Windsor's kicking and that he missed a few targets however, there are not a lot of comments regarding Pickett's missed kicks and resulting turnovers. Two or three of Pickett's first few kicks were no very good (putting it nicely) and yet it is the young bloke that get picked out for his misses.

I am looking for a couple more similar performances over the last two rounds.

A few observations:

• Max is getting it done and is looking good for his 8th AA. He is looking a tired to me and that is understandable given his workload.

• There were some good performances by our younger brigade and I enjoyed seeing Windsor in particular running with the ball and working inside a bit. Langford is looking the goods and while he was second to Baker I liked that the coaches moved him forward to change his role and bring him into the game.

• I liked Chaplin's presser. Answered the questions in a clear straight forward way and did not utter any cliches that I noticed.

• TMac and Melky look to have one more year of run in their legs.

• Adams deserves another game next week and maybe get an easier opponent than the form forward of the comp.

Hawks next.... love to beat them.

2 hours ago, nextskipclaz said:

I come from the point of view of

1: behavioural science ala Chase Hughes 'The Behaviour Ops' and

2: ancient chinese philosophy of Taoism - which describes such events as even 1 or 2 pieces of a whole destabilising the potential of the whole, and USUALLY these 1 or 2 pieces are only subtly perceptible.

and what I think Chandler has brought into our team is subtle but widely detrimental. His raison d'etre on the field (unlike a Mcvee, Windsor, Langford even Rivers) is unstable, uncertain, and pretend (always 'trying' to show' his made of the right stuff, without actually just BEING the right stuff.

And because he has such an enthusiastic energy, his hesitant and insecure playing style (both with ball in hand and when running around 'defending' is MUCH harder to read for the average supporter.

He is not providing the Alex Neal Bullen type honesty and APPROPRIATE enthusiasm. It is all INAPPROPRTIATE enthusiasm and while it looks good while we're up, it only breeds an AVERAGE in-game responses when the heat is on, when we are under true adversity, and when the game is there to be won.

Many will say: Kade Chandler is the least of our problems.

My philosophy of subtle energetics and behavioural imitation in groups (mimetics) makes Kade Chandler A BIG MOLE and a dsignificant problem for our culture that should be head down bum up and less flighty [censored] gesticulating , random celebrating, and then just NOT IMPACTING the [censored] game bar a 'cheeky goal' (which UNFORTUNATELY is the only thing most clueless fans care about)

Are you Dermott Brereton?

It’ll be interesting to see how we pull up next week - Chaplin really looked to push the team to their physical limits this week and I’m not sure they’ll be able to back it up given our fitness levels still don’t seem back to what they were a few years ago. I really hope it doesn’t result in more late season injuries like Windsor’s hamstring.