20 minutes ago, Dodos Demons said:

I was at the game and watched him very closely after the match and there was next to no interaction with teammates. They all huddled on the ground near the race waiting for Langford to come back from seeing fans on the other side of the ground. Fritta was just standing out the back of the players while the rest were joking and celebrating. Didn’t see any players go up to him. Very small sample size but did not seem to be a lot of love towards him from teammates.

probs cause he burnt spargo at the end, i think we look better without him, keep turner down back where he is better plus may and lever will miss heaps more this season so adams can cover that aswell, stick with jvr, aj and petty up fwd start thinking for the future

There once was a man from the Dee’s

Who was still 6 foot tall on his knees

Put the tiges to to the sword,

while there fans all left bored,

And let us crack out the wine and the cheese

37 minutes ago, Pottsydee said:

I worry about Fritta, I really do. I was ground level tonight and watched him closely. He lacks hunger and the desperation that makes forwards dangerous. He really looks like he isn't invested. We know he has the ability and his forward craft is first class, just looks sluggish and disinterested.

Oh god so did I. I wasn't happy we brought him back so quickly, the sights were set on him.

0 tackles and 4 pressure acts. It was the first time where no amount of impressive goals could paper over those cracks, it doesn't work.

On reflection the 5 day break doesn't do us any favours searching for the perfect 4 quarter performance.

Happy just to sleep walk away from this game with 4 points.

Gawn must have been roooted after the game.

10 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Kade Chandler is fast becoming my 2025 favourite. The smother-follow up-hard ball get-dish off combo that lead to the Petracca goal was just outstanding team play and hopefully gets highlighted during the week. He very nearly got on the end of the chain and could have received the pass from Trac, but Trac went for the goal.

Really enjoying the next evolution of Chin. He’s having a great season.

He’s becoming the new Nibbler in terms of setting base standards of effort in game for mine. Maybe not in terms of running, but he’s gives 100% of himself at every contest. Awesome to watch.

52 minutes ago, John Demonic said:

I suspect Jack grew up kicking a chewed up deflated footy around the backyard with the family pitbull

Ah you realised you’d made it sound like Jack was the pet dog and edited your post accordingly 🤣

Edited by Ghostwriter

1 hour ago, layzie said:

15 tackles for Viney is incredible! Anyone know what the record in a game is?

Libba (Tom) held the record for a while with iirc 20. That was several years ago, not sure if it’s been broken since.

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

Plus Turner and Adams, IMO. I reckon May is just about done.

It took us a bit of time to get used to moving the ball from the back when May was involved. He often slowed the play down. He was much better after rolling his ankle and coming back on the ground, but in 1v1s Lynch killed him all night.

Sparrow's pressure was incredible. He and Viney led the way in that department.

And I agree on Clarry, but his 13 touches in the third quarter was like A++ Clarry of old. He needs to do it for longer now...

I thought May was underwhelming early on as well. Lynch was rinsing him in contests and he could never get the right position on him.

Just now, Oxdee said:

Fullerton is a liability. Not sure if jvr wants to play ruck. Can anyone else fill this role?

Campbell or AJ?

Even Turner might be an option once he's recovered.

1 hour ago, Dodos Demons said:

I was at the game and watched him very closely after the match and there was next to no interaction with teammates. They all huddled on the ground near the race waiting for Langford to come back from seeing fans on the other side of the ground. Fritta was just standing out the back of the players while the rest were joking and celebrating. Didn’t see any players go up to him. Very small sample size but did not seem to be a lot of love towards him from teammates.

Absolutely....i get the feeling he is also being ignored on the lead at times.

Take a look at the Lingers mad angled kick to Kolt in the third. Fritta was leading straight up at him, with oodles of space on his opponent.

Hitting Fritta directly in front with a 15 meter kick or so was by far the easiest of the two options.

There's no way Lingers could have missed him but instead chose to deliberately hack the ball at right angles, about 25 meters across traffic for a tricky mark to Kolt.

That's just one example. There was another from last week as well.

Fritta then burns Spargo in the last AND misses the goal also.

Strange days indeed. Most peculiar mama

Edited by Demon Dynasty

1 hour ago, layzie said:

Should have elaborated a bit more.

My relationship is like a pop song with very eery and haunting vocals.

A brilliant song at that.

Most certainly a brilliant song but tonight it was all about “Sweet CHIN Music” 🎶

4 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Most certainly a brilliant song but tonight it was all about “Sweet CHIN Music” 🎶

HBK?

5 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

shawn michaels wrestling GIF by WWE

2 minutes ago, layzie said:

HBK?

NFI

What is HBK?

4 minutes ago, layzie said:

HBK?

3 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

shawn michaels wrestling GIF by WWE

Just Googled it. I didn’t know it came from the wrestling world

2 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Just Googled it. I didn’t know it came from the wrestling world

The Heartbreak Kid...

The Show-Stopper...

Mr Wrestlemania...Shawn Michaels!!

jive-soul-bros-shawn-michaels.jpg

HBK, large and in charge!

Edited by layzie

3 hours ago, BoBo said:

He’s becoming the new Nibbler in terms of setting base standards of effort in game for mine. Maybe not in terms of running, but he’s gives 100% of himself at every contest. Awesome to watch.

Yes, it was he or Bedford at the time. I thought Bedford's pace should have given him the edge but now I'm happy. He's really developed over the last two years. That double effort for Trac's goal should be venerated.

Found our DNA again in the 3rd. Oliver 13 possessions and there was high tackling pressure everywhere. Best we’ve looked since 21 I think.

The second half of the last was disappointing, I think we have to remember 2 of our superstars are still finding their way. Trac is still re discovering his power and confidence post injury. Oliver played so injured last year and had off season surgeries, he’s coming from a long way back fitness wise. Both of them will be better in the second half of the season as we will be as a team.

6 hours ago, Stiff Arm said:

Really pleased with the form of Sparrow, Salem and Bowey. Three guys whom I thought their best was behind them. Loving their improvement this year. A lot of 1%ers and hard running to create pressure.

I saw SALEM put a few short steps and not go once last night

7 hours ago, Adam The God said:

Dazzle shoots from the hip and when he does, he unfortunately misses more often than not.

Sorry to disagree, but Dazzle is the one poster who is correct 99.9 % of the time and has a deep understanding of the game!

7 hours ago, MrFreeze said:

This was a nice safe win. We tackled really well for the whole game and fought hard to break dead even in the midfield after being about -11 at clearance.

The 4th quarter was very bad. I doubt we have won one for the year.

Overall, a succesful return for McVee and May. Happy to bank the 4 points and escape injury free.

4th quarter stats

7 games, lost all quarters. Tied with West Coast.

Dees total 7.21 (63 points) for an average 1.5 per 4Q

Opp. total 33.14 (212 points) for an average 5.0 per 4Q

Edited by TheWiz

2 hours ago, DeeBlood said:

Yes, it was he or Bedford at the time. I thought Bedford's pace should have given him the edge but now I'm happy. He's really developed over the last two years. That double effort for Trac's goal should be venerated.

I loved that effort and it could have easily have been a triple - he was on the outside free but Gawn went Petracca inside. Awesome

6 hours ago, layzie said:

Oh god so did I. I wasn't happy we brought him back so quickly, the sights were set on him.

0 tackles and 4 pressure acts. It was the first time where no amount of impressive goals could paper over those cracks, it doesn't work.

I dont believe Fritsch will be at Dees next year, ya all can bookmark it!

I am of an age where I have a hell of a lot more long and winding road behind me than open road in front of me and I will take the enjoyment of a win by the MFC anywhere, at any time no matter how they come.

I always rant at the mistakes, yell at the vision and the umps as if they should be able to hear me and take heed of my observations about their parentage. And after that, I do what I did today, grin quietly to myself and look forward to the next game.

I also had lunch and a glass or two of a very good red.

I would have given my left nut to have been one of the 71,000 at the G last night. Mind you, at my age that is not giving up much.

Sit back and enjoy the win for a few minutes. Love this team of mine.

Edited by CHF
Typo

6 hours ago, deegirl said:

Sadly my relationship with the club is more like this - quote Cathy in Wuthering Heights

‘My love for Heathcliff (Melbourne FC) resembles the eternal rocks beneath: a source of little visible delight, but necessary…He's (Melbourne) always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself, but as my own being

😂😂😂

6 hours ago, BoBo said:

‘Whatever our souls are made of, his (Dees) and mine are the same.’

Too accurate Emily Brontë.

Too. Accurate.

Raskolnikov in Dostoyevsky's Crime and Punishment sums up my relationship with the Dees over 50 years . . .

“We always imagine eternity (a premiership dynasty) as something beyond our conception, something vast, vast! But why must it be vast? Instead of all that, what if it's one little room, like a bath house in the country, black and grimy and spiders in every corner, and that's all eternity is? I sometimes fancy it like that.”

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

9 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

My god never again Fullarton... 🤮🤮

He has no physical presence. Can't take a mark and should make way for Roo. He'll be delisted at year's end.